Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Safety Topics Print Friendly

Eggs and salmonella infection

Eggs are nutritious foods and formed an important part of our diet.  However, eggs that are improperly handled can be a source of foodborne diseases, such as salmonellosis.  During the 3 years from 2010 to 2012, a total of 291 food poisoning cases related to food premises were suspected to be caused by salmonella infection.  Among these 291 cases, 83 cases (about 30%) were related to the consumption of eggs or egg products.  Undercooking of eggs or egg products and using raw eggs in preparation of the incriminated food items were two common contributory factors to these food poisoning cases.  Some food items, such as mango pudding, Tiramisu, and mayonnaise may contain raw eggs as an ingredient and be contaminated with salmonella bacteria.

Both the outside and the inside of eggs can be contaminated with pathogens.  Egg shells can be contaminated with faecal matter and the pathogens may enter through pores or cracks on shell of eggs.  Moreover, pathogens can be introduced to the egg from infected reproductive tissues of poultry prior to shell formation. Eggs contaminated with pathogens may look normal.  Members of the public and trade are advised to take note of the following food safety tips:

Advice to the trade

  • Purchase eggs from reliable sources.
  • Observe the expiry date on the package/label of eggs and store eggs under refrigeration.
  • As a general rule, shell eggs need not be washed.  However, if eggs are soiled with faecal matter, they can be washed and should be used immediately.
  • Choose pasteurised eggs or egg products or dried egg powder to prepare dishes not requiring further heat treatment, in particular ready-to-eat desserts.
  • Avoid using cracked eggs as they are more likely to be contaminated and thus present a higher health risk.

Advice to the consumers

  • Purchase eggs from reliable sources.
  • Observe the expiry date on the package/label of eggs and store eggs under refrigeration.
  • As a general rule, shell eggs need not be washed.  However, if eggs are soiled with faecal matter, they can be washed and should be used immediately.
  • Avoid eating raw or undercooked eggs and their products, particularly for the vulnerable groups such as the elderly, infants and young children, pregnant women and immuno-compromised people. Check with food premises whether the dishes contain raw eggs, if necessary.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 02-09-2013

风险传达>>主题项目>>食物安全专页 友善列印

蛋类与沙门氏菌感染

蛋类营养丰富,是人类膳食的重要部分;但如处理不当,可能会导致食源性疾病,例如沙门氏菌感染。在2010至2012年这三年间,共有291宗与食肆有关的食物中毒个案怀疑是因沙门氏菌感染引致的,其中83宗(约30%)是因食用蛋或蛋制品引致。这些食物中毒个案的常见成因有二:蛋或蛋制品未经彻底煮熟;以及肇事食物用了生蛋配制。一些以生蛋为制作材料的食物,例如芒果布甸、意大利芝士蛋糕及蛋黄酱等可能会受沙门氏菌污染。

蛋的内外都有可能被病原体污染。蛋壳如被粪便污染,细菌可能会透过蛋壳上的小孔或裂纹进入蛋内。此外,病原体亦可在蛋壳尚未形成时,经家禽受感染的生殖组织入侵蛋内。受病原体污染的蛋外表看来可能与正常无异。市民和业界应注意下列食物安全重点:

给业界的建议

  • 向可靠的供应商购买蛋类。
  • 留意蛋类包装/标签上的食用日期,并把蛋存放在雪柜内。
  • 在一般情况下,蛋是不用清洗的;但蛋壳上若黏有禽鸟的粪便,可用水清洗,并随即把蛋烹煮。
  • 选用经巴士德消毒的蛋或蛋制品或已干制的鸡蛋粉制作不需要进一步的热处理的食物,尤其是即食甜品。
  • 避免使用有裂纹的蛋,因为这些蛋较容易受污染,存在较高的健康风险。

给消费者的建议

  • 向可靠的供应商购买蛋类。
  • 留意蛋类包装/标签上的食用日期,并把蛋存放在雪柜内。
  • 在一般情况下,蛋是不用清洗的,但蛋壳上若黏有禽鸟的粪便,可用水清洗,并随即把蛋烹煮。
  • 避免进食生或未经彻底煮熟的蛋和蛋制品,尤其是高危群组,例如长者、婴幼儿、孕妇及免疫功能较弱的人士。如有需要,可向食肆查问清楚食物是否含有生蛋的成分。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期:02-09-2013