s/multimedia/banner.swf">
Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Files Print Friendly
How does the Centre for Food Safety Monitor and Control Vegetables on Sale in Hong Kong?

How does the Centre for Food Safety Monitor and Control Vegetables on Sale in Hong Kong?

Proper use of pesticide on vegetables can improve crop quality and reduce harmful effects of the pests. Consumers’ health and living quality are thereby enhanced. However, if pesticide is used improperly, consumers may ingest excessive amount of pesticide which affects their health and may lead to acute food poisoning with symptoms such as vomiting, diarrhoea, abdominal pain, dizziness and numbness. In severe cases, the victim may even have difficulties in breathing, blurred vision and convulsion. Prolonged consumption of vegetables with excessive pesticides may also damage the nervous system or other organs such as the liver and kidneys. Some pesticides may be transferred via the placenta or breast feeding, thereby affecting development of the baby.

The use of pesticide will inevitably leave some residues on the crops. However, if pesticide is used properly, the residual level would be small and consumption of these vegetables will not affect health. Excessive pesticide residue can arise from several causes, including excessive use of pesticide, insufficient time for pesticide to decompose before harvesting as well as environmental contamination. Pesticide residual problems are more commonly seen in leafy vegetables such as Chinese flowering cabbage, Chinese white cabbage, spinach, water spinach, garland chrysanthemum, matrimony vine and Chinese kale.

The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) of Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) operates a Food Surveillance Programme and regularly takes samples of vegetables at import, wholesale and retail levels for testing. Most of the vegetables on sale in Hong Kong come from the Mainland. CFS has a Food Control Office at Man Kam To and samples vegetables imported from the Mainland. All vegetables imported from the Mainland must come from registered farms or purchasing stations under the supervision of the Mainland monitoring authorities. When the vegetables reach Man Kam To, CFS would inspect relevant documents including Pesticide Declaration Certificate, Monitoring Card etc. Random samples of vegetable will also be collected for testing of pesticide residues at the Man Kam To Food Laboratory whenever necessary. In addition, CFS would also collect vegetable samples at the wholesale and retail levels for testing of pesticide residues in Government Laboratory. Furthermore, vegetable samples will also be collected and tested for heavy metals. So far, the existing surveillance and control system on vegetables in Hong Kong is effective in safeguarding public health.

In April 2012, the Government has made the Pesticide Residues in Food Regulation . (Cap. 132CM, “the Regulation”). The Legislative Council completed scrutiny of the Regulation in June 2012 and the Regulation comes into operation on 1 August 2014. The Regulation specifies in Schedule 1 a list of maximum residue limits (MRLs) and extraneous maximum residue limits (EMRLs) for certain pesticide-food pairs, i.e. the maximum concentration of specified pesticide residues permitted in specific food commodities. Schedule 2 to the Regulation specifies a list of exempted pesticides with no MRLs/EMRLs. These are pesticides that are natural and the residues of which are identical to or indistinguishable from natural food components. The general principle of the Regulation is that except for exempted pesticides, import or sale of food containing pesticide residues with no specified MRLs/EMRLs in Schedule 1 is only allowed if the consumption of the food concerned is not dangerous or prejudicial to health. Based on risk assessment, CFS will decide whether the consumption of the food concerned is dangerous or prejudicial to health.

In 2013 , about 18800 vegetable samples were collected at the import, wholesale and retail levels for testing of pesticide residues. Only 2 samples were found to be unsatisfactory.

Advice to the Public

Members of the public can wash vegetables thoroughly under clean running water. When appropriate, scrub produces with hard surfaces with a clean produce brush to remove dirt and substances including pesticides and contaminants from the surface and the fissures. Use of soaps, special detergents or produce washes is not recommended. Soaking in water and blanching are effective in terms of removing dirt and reducing pesticide residues, but they are no longer considered necessary in the face of nutrient loss in the processes.

Vegetables are an essential component of a healthy diet. Members of the public should take a balanced diet and eat a variety of fruits and vegetables to avoid excessive exposure to contaminants from a small range of food items. If consumption of "poisonous" vegetables is suspected, one should seek medical advice immediately from hospitals or clinics.

Advice to the Trade

1. For importers and traders engaged in the import and sale of vegetable supplied from the Mainland, they should import vegetables from farms and processing establishments registered with the State General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine of the People’s Republic of China Mainland authority.
2. The trade should ensure that the foods they sell or import are fit for human consumption and comply with legal standards.
3. During the use of pesticide for crop protection, the farmers should follow Good Agricultural Practice (GAP) which include but not limited to the following recommendations -
(a) Use only permitted pesticides;
(b) Apply minimum quantities necessary to achieve adequate control;
(c) Leave residues that are the smallest amounts practical and that are toxicologically acceptable;
(d) Strictly adhere to the withholding period or pre-harve s t interval specified on the label of the pesticide to avoid causing harvested crops to contain excessive pesticide residues.
4 . For more information regarding the list of permitted pesticides in Hong Kong as well as the safe use of agricultural pesticides, please visit the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conversation Department's Website at http://www.afcd.gov.hk/english/quarantine/qua_pesticide/qua_pesticide.html

Back  Back to Top
 
2007 copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 15-03-2017

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全小档案 友善列印
食环署如何监管本港售卖的蔬菜

食环署如何监管本港售卖的蔬菜

在蔬菜上适当使用除害剂(俗称“农药”),可以提高蔬菜的质量和减低有害生物所造成的不利影响,消费者的健康和生活质素亦可以得以改善。然而若除害剂使用不当,令消费者摄取了过量除害剂,则可能会影响健康,引发急性食物中毒,其病征包括呕吐、腹泻、肚痛、晕眩和身体麻木等症状。严重者更会呼吸困难、视力模糊和抽筋等。长期食用含过量除害剂蔬菜可能损害神经系统或其他器官,例如肝和肾等。有些除害剂可能会经胎盘或哺乳传给胎儿,影响胎儿发育。

除害剂的使用不免会存在残余除害剂的问题,但只要除害剂的使用恰当,残余除害剂的分量低,食用蔬菜并不会因此而影响健康。残余除害剂过量有几种可能,包括在农作物上使用过量除害剂、没有给予足够的时间让除害剂分解便进行收割、及来自环境的污染等。残余除害剂问题较常见于叶菜类蔬菜,例如:菜心、白菜、菠菜、瓮菜、塘蒿、枸杞和芥兰等。

食物环境卫生署辖下的食物安全中心(中心)透过恒常的食物监察计划,在进口、批发及零售层面抽查蔬菜。在本港市面售卖的蔬菜大部分是由内地进口。食环署在文锦渡设立了食品管制中心,抽查内地入口的蔬菜。所有由内地输入本港的蔬菜,必须由内地注册菜场或收购站供应,受内地有关监管机构监管,而蔬菜在运抵文锦渡后,中心会检查有关文件,包括除害剂使用报告单、监管卡等,如有需要,亦会随机抽取样本及送往文锦渡食物化验所检测残余除害剂。此外,中心亦会从批发及零售层面抽取蔬菜样本送往政府化验所作除害剂残余测试。除了检测残余除害剂,中心亦会抽取蔬菜样本作重金属测试。现时对在港售卖的蔬菜的监管及抽查制度行之有效,足够保障市民健康。

在二零一二年四月,政府订立了《食物内除害剂残余规例》(第132CM章,“《规例》”)。立法会于二零一二年六月完成审议《规例》,《规例》已于二零一四年八月一日起生效。《规例》的附表1列明某些“除害剂-食物”组合的最高残余限量和最高再残余限量(即指明食品中允许的指明除害剂残余的最高浓度)。《规例》的附表2列明没有订明最高残余限量∕最高再残余限量的获豁免除害剂名单。这些除害剂是天然,及其残余物是与天然食物成分一样或两者难以区别的。《规例》的原则是,除获豁免除害剂外,如食物含有除害剂残余但附表1并没有订明相关的最高残余限量∕最高再残余限量,只有在食用有关食物不会危害或损害健康的情况下,才可进口或售卖有关食物。中心会根据风险评估确定食用有关食物会否危害或损害健康。

在二零一三年,食环署从上述三个层面共抽取约一万八千八百个蔬菜样本作残余除害剂测试,当中只有两个样本不合格。

给市民的建议

市民可以用流动的清水彻底冲洗蔬菜。如适合,用清洁的刷子刷洗表层坚硬的农产品,以去除表面及缝隙中的污垢和其他物质(包括除害剂和污染物)。不建议使用肥皂、配方洗涤剂或农产品清洁剂等清洗蔬菜。用清水浸泡及焯菜可有效去除污垢和减少除害剂残余,但由于在处理过程中会导致营养素流失,故不再认为是必要采用的措施。

蔬菜是健康饮食不可或缺的组成部份。市民应注意均衡饮食及进食多种蔬果,避免因偏食而摄取过多的污染物。如果怀疑进食了有毒蔬菜,应立即向各医院或诊所求医。

给业界的建议

1.从内地进口和销售蔬菜的业界,应从经国家质量监督检验检疫总局(质检总局)的注册供港蔬菜种植基地和收购加工企业进口蔬菜。
2.业界应确保所出售或进口的食物适宜供人食用,并符合法定标准。
3.施用除害剂保护农作物时,耕种者应遵从(包括但不限于)下列的优良务农规范建议:
(a)只使用当局准许的除害剂;
(b)按照基本法则,施用除害剂以防治虫害所需的最低剂量为限;
(c)尽可能把除害剂残余分量降至最低,令残余的毒性不超过可接受水平;
(d)严格遵守除害剂标签所指明的停药期或安全采收期,以免采收的作物受除害剂残余所污染。
4.如欲查询更多有关在香港准许使用的除害剂一览表,以及如何安全使用农业用除害剂,可登入渔农自然护理署网页:

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 15-03-2015