Joint Consumer Council Study: Sugar Content in Local Sweet Soups

Abstract

1. Sugar is one type of carbohydrates. It can be naturally occurred or added to food and beverages. Sugar added to sweet soups can enhance the sweetness. However, consuming too much sugar can lead to much energy intake and in turn increase the risk of obesity. Frequent consumption of too much sugar can also lead to dental decay. The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) and the Consumer Council (CC) thus has conducted a joint study, and tested the sugar content in some popular sweet soups in Hong Kong, as well as checked the nutrition labelling information of some of these prepackaged sweet soups. This study aims to provide an update on the levels of sugar in these sweet soups; inform the public on the sugar content and energy value in these sweet soups to enable informed choices; and to urge the food trade to take action to reduce the sugar content of sweet soups in the market.

2. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), free sugars mean all mono- and di-saccharides added to foods by the manufacturer, cook or consumer, plus sugars naturally present in honey, syrup and fruit juices in diets. WHO strongly recommended that both adults and children should reduce the intake of free sugars to less than ten per cent of total energy intake (less than 50g of free sugars per day for someone having a 2,000-kcal diet).

The Study

3. The study covered 100 samples (10 types) of non-prepackaged sweet soups collected from sweet soup shops, dessert shops, Chinese restaurants and soybean product shops during April to May 2016. These samples were tested for the sugar content by the Food Research Laboratory. Moreover, energy values of the composite sample of the same type of sweet soups were also tested. In addition, 11 samples (5 types) of prepackaged sweet soups were obtained from supermarkets and retail outlets, and their sugar content and energy value as declared on nutrition labelling were examined.

4. The mean sugar content and the energy value of the composite sample of the 10 types of non-prepackaged sweet soups are summarised in the table below. Sugar content of mango sago dessert with pomelo is ranked the highest whereas soybean curd dessert is ranked the lowest. Sugar content varied quite widely within certain sweet soup types (e.g. bean curd sheet sweet soup with egg, sago sweet soup with coconut milk and mung bean sweet soup). This reflects the possibility of the trade to reduce the sugar content in these sweet soups. In addition, energy value of walnut sweet soup and sesame sweet soup were higher than that of other sweet soup types.

Sweet soup types no. of non-prepackaged samples Total sugar
Mean [range]
(g/100 g)
Energy value of composite sample [range] (kcal/100g)
Mango sago dessert with pomelo
( 楊枝甘露 )
10 11 [8.9-12] 66
Sweet potato sweet soup
( 番薯糖水 )
10 10 [8.8-12] 66
Mung bean sweet soup
( 綠豆沙 )
10 9.5 [5.9-13] 71
Sesame sweet soup
( 芝麻糊 )
10 8.8 [7.1-11] 98
Mixed bean sweet soup
( 喳咋 )
10 8.4 [6.5-11] 82
Walnut sweet soup
( 合桃露 )
10 8.1 [6.4-9.2] 130
Red bean sweet soup
( 紅豆沙 )
10 7.9 [5.7-10] 66
Sago sweet soup with coconut milk
( 椰汁西米露 )
10 7.3 [4.3-11] 86
Bean curd sheet sweet soup with egg
( 腐竹雞蛋糖水 )
10 6.0 [4.3-10] 83
Soybean curd dessert
( 豆腐花 )
6 5.4 [2.5-7.6] 59
4 (no added sugar)* 0.40 [0.17-0.53]
Overall 100 8.0 [0.17-13] 81 [59-130]

*From the study on "Sugar content in Chinese-style Beverages" in 2015, sugar content of ‘no added sugar' soybean drinks samples was not more than 1.0g/100g.

5 . The mean sugar content and mean energy value of the five types of prepackaged sweet soups are summarised in the table below. Two types of prepackaged sweet soups (soybean curd dessert and mixed bean sweet soup) were found to have mean sugar content higher than that of their non-prepackaged counterparts. There was not much difference in the mean sugar content of prepackaged and non-prepackaged sesame sweet soup. On the other hand, prepackaged red bean sweet soup and mung bean sweet soup were found to have mean sugar content lower than that of their non-prepackaged counterparts. The findings suggested that both prepackaged and non-prepackaged products might have rooms for reformulation for lowering the sugar content.

Sweet soup types no. of prepackaged samples Total sugar Mean [range] (g/100 g) Energy value Mean [range] (kcal/100g)
Soybean curd dessert
( 豆腐花 )
2 9.9 [8.9-10.8] 69 [66-72]
Mixed bean sweet soup
( 喳咋 )
2 9.0 [8.9-9.0] 85 [82-87]
Sesame sweet soup
( 芝麻糊 )
2 8.7 [8.6-8.8] 83 [79-87]
Mung bean sweet soup
( 綠豆沙 )
2 8.0 [7.8-8.1] 68 [65-70]
Red bean sweet soup
( 紅豆沙 )
3 7.0 [4.8-8.8] 72 [65-81]
Overall 11 8.4 [4.8-10.8] 75 [65-87]

Advice to the Public

Advice to the Trade

More Information

6 . The related article is published in the CHOICE MAGAZINE (Issue 480, released on 17 October 2016) (Chinese only).

October 2016
Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
Food and Environmental Hygiene Department

消费者委员会联合研究:本地糖水的糖含量

摘要

1. 糖是碳水化合物的一种,可天然存在或添加于食物和饮品中。糖添加到糖水中能增加其甜味,但进食过多糖可能会令人摄入的能量过剩,增加超重和患上肥胖症的风险,也会增加蛀牙的机会。食物安全中心 ( 中心 ) 与消费者委员会合作,测试了部分本地食肆中较常见的糖水的糖含量,并检视了这些糖水中多个预先包装糖水的营养标籤资料,以监察这些糖水的糖含量及促进消费者对这些糖水糖含量及能量值的认识,从而帮助他们作出适合个人情况的选择。同时,亦希望藉此推动食物业界采取行动减低糖水的糖含量。

2. 根据世界卫生组织(世卫)的资料,游离糖指所有由制造商、厨师和消费者在食物添加的单糖和双糖,以及蜜糖、糖浆、果汁及浓缩果汁中天然含有的糖。世卫强烈建议将成人和儿童的游离糖摄入量降至每日能量总摄入量的 10% 以下 ( 以每日从膳食摄入 2000 千卡能量计算,游离糖的每日摄入量应少于 50 克 ) 。

研究

3. 中心在 2016 年 4 月至 5 月从糖水店、甜品店、酒楼及豆制品店搜集了 100 个(共 10 种)较常见的非预先包装糖水,并由中心的食物研究化验所对所有样本进行糖含量测试,及对各种糖水的混合样本进行能量值测试。同时,亦在超市及零售店搜集了 11 个(共 5 种)较常见的预先包装糖水,检视了这些样本的营养标籤上所标示的糖含量及能量值资料。

4. 10 种非预先包装糖水样本所检出的每 100 克平均糖含量及每 100 克混合糖水能量值如下。糖含量最高的糖水种类为杨枝甘露,而糖含量最低的糖水种类为豆腐花。个别糖水种类 ( 如腐竹鸡蛋糖水、椰汁西米露及绿豆沙 ) 的糖含量差异颇大,这表示由业界降低这些糖水的糖含量是切实可行的。另外,合桃露和芝麻糊的能量值较其他糖水为高。

糖水种类 样本数目 每 100克糖水平均糖含量
[ 范围 ](克 )
每 100克混合糖水
能量值 [范围 ] (千卡 )
杨枝甘露 10 11 [8.9-12] 66
番薯糖水 10 10 [8.8-12] 66
绿豆沙 10 9.5 [5.9-13] 71
芝麻糊 10 8.8 [7.1-11] 98
喳咋 10 8.4 [6.5-11] 82
合桃露 10 8.1 [6.4-9.2] 130
红豆沙 10 7.9 [5.7-10] 66
椰汁西米露 10 7.3 [4.3-11] 86
腐竹鸡蛋糖水 10 6.0 [4.3-10] 83
豆腐花 6 5.4 [2.5-7.6] 59
4 ( 无添加糖 )* 0.40 [0.17-0.53]
整体 100 8.0 [0.17-13] 81 [59-130]

* 参考 2015 年中式饮品糖含量的研究,每 100 克「无添加糖」豆浆的糖含量不超过 1.0 克。

5. 5 种预先包装糖水样本每 100 克平均糖含量及能量值如下。这 5 种样本中,有 2 种预先包装糖水样本 ( 包括豆腐花及喳咋 ) 的平均糖含量高于同种类非预先包装糖水样本的平均糖含量。而预先包装芝麻糊样本与同种类非预先包装样本的平均糖含量则相若。至于红豆沙及绿豆沙,预先包装样本的平均糖含量则较同种类非预先包装样本的平均糖含量为低。结果反映,预先包装及非预先包装产品均有空间去改变配方,以降低产品的糖含量。

糖水种类 样本数目 每 100克糖水平均糖含量
[ 范围 ](克 )
每 100克糖水平均能量值
[ 范围 ](千卡 )
豆腐花 2 9.9 [8.9-10.8] 69 [66-72]
喳咋 2 9.0 [8.9-9.0] 85 [82-87]
芝麻糊 2 8.7 [8.6-8.8] 83 [79-87]
绿豆沙 2 8.0 [7.8-8.1] 68 [65-70]
红豆沙 3 7.0 [4.8-8.8] 72 [65-81]
整体 11 8.4 [4.8-10.8] 75 [65-87]

给消费者的建议

给业界的建议

其他资料

6. 2016年10月17日出版的选择月刊(第 480 期)载有相关文章

食物环境卫生署
食物安全中心
风险评估组
2016年10月