Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Botulism and Honey

Enterohaemorrhagic Escherichia coli in Food

Introduction

In May 2011, an unusually high number of cases of haemolytic uraemic syndrome (HUS) (A serious complication usually occurs in patients with abnormal breakdown of red blood cell and reduction in platelets for blood clotting. It is associated with severe acute renal failure) and bloody diarrhoea caused by Shiga toxin-producing E. coli (STEC) (also called verocytotoxin-producing E. coli (VTEC)) was observed in Germany , particularly the northern part. Some patients succumbed to the infection. E. coli strains causing these severe illnesses are also called Enterohaemorrhagic E. coli (EHEC). Laboratory investigations showed that the strains causing the outbreak are of serotype O104, but not the predominant serotype of EHEC, i.e. O157. Subsequently, the German authorities identified the same strain from raw sprouts from a household of patients with an EHEC infection. Follow-up investigation by European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) and the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA), showed that the outbreak of EHEC in Germany and France could have come from fenugreek seeds sourced from Egypt .

Shiga toxin-producing E. coli and Enterohaemorrhagic E. coli

  1. E. coli is part of the common flora found in intestines of animals and humans. Most of which are non-pathogenic, but some E. coli strains are able to cause gastrointestinal illness in humans. These include some strains of VTEC/STEC called EHEC.
  2. E. coli strains of VTEC are able to produce one or more verocytotoxins (VT) . These toxins are also similar to Shiga toxins of Shigella dysenteriae, a bacterium that causes bloody diarrhoea, and hence, this group of bacteria is also called STEC. Ruminants, especially cattle, are the natural reservoir for STEC. The STEC strains carried by animals are not necessarily pathogenic for humans, but some strains can cause severe infections.
  3. EHEC is a pathogenic subset of STEC that is able to cause attaching and effacing lesions in the intestinal mucosa and has the capacity to cause haemorrhagic colitis (bloody diarrhoea) and HUS in humans. HUS is a severe complication of EHEC infection and can be fatal after causing kidney damage.
  4. E. coli O157:H7 is the predominant and most virulent serotype among EHEC. Symptoms of infections caused by E. coli O157:H7 includes severe abdominal pain and watery or bloody diarrhoea. Some patients may also vomit or experience low-grade fever. The illness is usually self-limited and lasts for an average of eight days. Most people recover within seven to ten days, but up to 15% develop HUS. All people are susceptible to infections, but pregnant women, people with compromised immune systems, young children and the elderly are most at risk for developing serious complications.
  5. There are other non-O157 serogroups that have been associated with occasional outbreaks of human cases or sporadic cases. These include O26, O91, O103, O104, O111, O113, O117, O118, O121, O128 and O145.1
  6. Comparing to E. coli O157:H7, the non-O157 serogroups are less likely to cause severe illness. Yet, some non-O157 STEC can cause the most severe manifestations of STEC illness, e.g. E. coli O104:H4 outbreak in Germany . On the other hand, the infective dose for E. coli O157:H7 has been reported to be low and may be as few as 10 organisms, while the infective doses for non-O157 STEC are not well described.
  7. The serotype causing the outbreak in Germany is rarely associated with outbreak. In addition, the age and sex distribution of cases in this outbreak is highly unusual, in which most cases are adults (20 years or older) and mainly women are affected. The reason for these is unclear. However, further investigations of the strain revealed that it lacks some characteristic genes of EHEC, while contains genes of another pathogenic E. coli namely enteroaggregrative E. coli (EAEC). Hence, it is suggested that the strain is actually EAEC acquired the ability to produce Shiga toxins.2 This may explain or provide clues on the unusual epidemiological features and unexpectedly high level of virulence, but more studies on this are needed.

Sources of and Exposure to STEC

  1. EHEC and other STEC are transmitted through the faecal/oral route and eating contaminated food is a common vehicle of infection, often through contaminated raw or undercooked meat products and fresh produce. Undercooked or raw hamburger (ground beef) has been implicated in many of the documented outbreaks of E. coli O157:H7. Other implicated food in past E. coli O157:H7 outbreaks included alfalfa sprouts, unpasteurised fruit juices, dry-cured salami, lettuce, game meat, and cheese curds. On the other hand, the non-O157 serogroups have also been detected in beef, pork and lamb mince, and unpasteurised milk.
  2. According to EFSA, there is an increase in recognition of outbreaks of STEC associated with vegetables, in particular contaminated sprouting seeds and green leafy salad, as noted in the scientific literature.3 In some outbreaks, irrigation water and access of farm animals to the immediate environment of fresh-produce are the suspected origin of contamination. Yet, the origin was not identified in most outbreaks. In addition, the contamination can occur in different steps along the food chain.
  3. Apart from these food or food animals related sources, contact with lakes, ponds, paddling and swimming pools and direct contact with goats, sheep or other ruminants in petting zoos have also been reported as the sources of past E. coli outbreaks.
  4. Secondary transmission is possible where a person who has the infection can pass it on to someone else through poor hygiene, such as not washing hands after using the toilet and/or before handling food. Person-to-person spread has also been seen in previous outbreaks, for example in institutions.

Prevention of infections

  1. Measures to prevent EHEC infections are generally similar to those recommended for other food borne disease, including basic food-hygiene practice, as described in five keys to safer food. The main advice is to wash one’s hands after using the toilet and before consuming food; to wash food thoroughly with clean water, especially if it is consumed raw; and to avoid cross-contamination when preparing food.
  2. To minimise the risk of E. coli O157:H7, ground beef and hamburgers should be cooked thoroughly to the internal core reaching a temperature of 70°C or above for at least 2 minutes.
  3. Sprouts of any kind are kept in warm and humid conditions to sprout and grow. These conditions are also favourable for the growth of microorganisms, including pathogenic bacteria. Rinsing will not remove bacteria on raw sprouts and hence, it is recommended to cook them thoroughly before consumption.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Wash hands with soap and water before handling food and after using the toilet.
  2. Ground beef and hamburgers should be cooked thoroughly to the internal core reaching a temperature of 70°C or above for at least 2 minutes.
  3. Keep ready-to-eat fresh fruits and vegetables, especially those pre-cut fruits and fresh leafy vegetables for salads, at temperature at 4 ° C or below.
  4. Suspend from engaging in any food handling work when suffering or suspected to be suffering from an infectious disease or symptoms of illness such as diarrhoea, vomiting, and fever, etc.

Advice to the Consumers

  1. Wash fruits and vegetables thoroughly before they are used as salad ingredients. However, fresh leafy vegetable products labelled washed and ready-to-eat should not be rewashed.
  2. Scrub surface of firm produce, such as melons and cucumbers, with a clean produce brush.
  3. Do not eat undercooked hamburgers, ground beef and other meat products.
  4. At-risk populations such as children, the elderly, pregnant women, and persons with weakened immune systems, should avoid raw sprouts and unwashed fresh fruits and vegetables, including lettuce/salads.

     

    Risk Assessment Section
    Centre for Food Safety
    July 2011


    1. World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE), 2010. Chapter 2.9.11. Verocytotoxigenic Escherichia coli. In Manual of Diagnostic Tests and Vaccines for Terrestrial Animals 2010. Available online:
      http://www.oie.int/fileadmin/Home/eng/Health_standards/tahm/2.09.11_VERO_E_COLI.pdf
    2. Scheutz F, Moller Nielsen E, Frimodt-Moller J, Boisen N, Morabito S, Tozzoli R, Nataro JP, Caprioli A. Characteristics of the enteroaggregative Shiga toxin/verotoxin-producing Escherichia coli O104:H4 strain causing the outbreak of haemolytic uraemic syndrome in Germany, May to June 2011. Euro Surveill. 2011;16(24):pii=19889. Available online: http://www.eurosurveillance.org/ViewArticle.aspx?ArticleId=19889
    3. European Food Safety Authority; Urgent advice on the public health risk of Shiga-toxin producing Escherichia coli in fresh vegetables. EFSA Journal 2011; 9(6):2274. [50 pp.] doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2011.2274. Available online: www.efsa.europa.eu/efsajournal

     

    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date : 08-07-2011

工作项目 >> 食物安全之风险评估 友善列印

肉毒中毒与蜜糖

食 物 中 的 肠 道 出 血 性 大 肠 杆 菌

引言

2011年5月,德国(特别是德国北部)出现异常多宗由产志贺毒素大肠杆菌(Shiga toxin-producing E.coli,又称产Vero毒素大肠杆菌 (Verocytotoxin-producing E.coli))引致的溶血尿毒症(因红血球异常分解和血小板减少而影响血液凝固的一种严重并发症,常与严重急性肾衰竭并存)和出血性腹泻个案,一些患者更死于这种感染。导致上述严重疾病的大肠杆菌菌株又名肠道出血性大肠杆菌。实验研究结果显示,这次疫症爆发是由O104血清型的大肠杆菌引起的,而非最常见的肠道出血性大肠杆菌的血清型(即O157血清型大肠杆菌)。其后,德国当局从受感染的患者的家中所取得的生芽菜检验到同一种菌株。而欧洲疾病预防及控制中心和欧洲食品安全局的跟进调查显示,来自埃及的葫芦巴种子可能是德国以及法国肠道出血性大肠杆菌疫症爆发的源头。

产志贺样毒素大肠杆菌和肠道出血性大肠杆菌

  1. 大肠杆菌是动物和人类肠道中常有的菌丛。大部分大肠杆菌都是非致病性的,但某些大肠杆菌菌株可引致肠胃疾病,包括名为肠道出血性大肠杆菌的一些产Vero毒素大肠杆菌∕产志贺毒素大肠杆菌的菌株。
  2. 产Vero毒素大肠杆菌的大肠杆菌菌株可产生一种或多种Vero毒素。这些毒素类似痢疾志贺氏菌(也是引致出血性腹泻的细菌)的志贺毒素,因此产Vero毒素大肠杆菌又称产志贺毒素大肠杆菌。反刍动物,特别是牛只,是产志贺毒素大肠杆菌的自然宿主。虽然动物身上带有的产志贺毒素大肠杆菌病菌株不一定是致病性,但某些病菌株可以使人受严重感染。
  3. 肠道出血性大肠杆菌是产志贺毒素大肠杆菌其中一部份的致病性菌株,可在人体内导致附着性和消去性的肠道黏膜损伤(attaching and effacing lesions),使人患出血性结肠炎(出血性腹泻)和溶血尿毒症。溶血尿毒症是受肠道出血性大肠杆菌感染后的严重并发症,损害肾脏后可致命。
  4. 肠道出血性大肠杆菌中最常见和毒性最强的是O157:H7血清型大肠杆菌。受O157:H7型大肠杆菌感染的征状是剧烈腹痛、严重腹泻或出血性腹泻。有些患者可能会呕吐和轻微发烧。患者一般会自行痊愈,情况通常平均持续8天。大部分患者在7天至10天内康复,但有达15%的患者出现 溶血尿毒症。任何人都有机会受到感染,而孕妇、免疫力弱的人、幼童和长者受感染后最容易出现严重的并发症。
  5. 另外还有其他非O157血清型大肠杆菌曾与偶然爆发的人类个案或散发个案有关,这些大肠杆菌包括O26、O91、O103、O104、O111、O113、O117、O118、O121、O128和O145型。1
  6. 与O157:H7型大肠杆菌比较,非O157血清型大肠杆菌引致严重疾病的可能性较低。不过,某些非O157型产志贺毒素大肠杆菌可引致产志贺毒素大肠杆菌疾病的最严重病征,例如在德国爆发的 O104:H4 型大肠杆菌疫症。另一方面,O157:H7型大肠杆菌的感染剂量据报可低至10个细菌,而非O157:H7型产志贺毒素大肠杆菌的感染剂量则没有详细记载。
  7. 在德国引致疫症爆发的该种血清型,很少会引致爆发。此外,在这次爆发的个案中,年龄和性别分布十分罕见,大部分个案都是成年人(20岁或以上),而受影响的主要是女性。造成这情况的原因未明。不过,经进一步调查后,发现有关的菌株没有肠道出血性大肠杆菌的一些特有基因,反而有另一致 病大肠杆菌(即肠道集聚性大肠杆菌)的基因。因此,有意见认为该病菌株可能实际是能够产生志贺毒素的肠道凝聚性大肠杆菌。2 这或可为有关 大肠杆菌爆发的异常流行病特征,和大肠杆菌的毒性出乎意料地高,提供了 解释或线索,但仍须就此进行更多研究。

产志贺毒素大肠杆菌的来源和暴露情况

  1. 肠道出血性大肠杆菌及其他产志贺毒素大肠杆菌是经由口粪途径传播,而进食受污染食物(通常是生或未熟透的肉类和新鲜农产品)亦是常见的感染途径。记录显示,未经彻底煮熟或生的汉堡肉(碎牛肉)曾多次导致爆发O157:H7型大肠杆菌疫症。其他导致过往爆发 O157:H7 型大肠杆菌疫症的食物包括苜蓿芽菜、未经高温消毒的果汁、干腌制莎乐美肠、生菜、野味肉和凝乳乳酪。此外,牛肉、猪肉、碎羊肉和未经高温消毒的奶亦曾被验出含有非O157血清型大肠杆菌。
  2. 欧洲食物安全局表示,科学文献中记载与蔬菜有关的产志贺毒素大肠杆菌爆发有所增加,尤其是受污染的发芽种子和绿叶蔬菜沙律。3 在一些爆发的个案中,灌溉用的水和进入种植新鲜农产品的地方的家畜,都怀疑是污染源头。然而,在大部分的个案中,源头都是无法确定的。此外,污染亦可能在食物链的不同环节中发生。
  3. 除了上述与食物或食用动物有关的源头外,接触湖泊、池塘、戏水池和泳池的水,以及直接接触动物园内的山羊、绵羊或其他反刍动物,据报都是导致以往大肠杆菌疫症爆发的源头。
  4. 如果受感染的人不注意卫生,例如在如厕后及∕或处理食物前没有洗手,便可能把病菌传给其他人,造成第二重传播。以往爆发的疫症中,曾有在院舍内爆发的个案是以人传人的方式传播。

预防感染

  1. 预防肠道出血性大肠杆菌感染的措施,与预防其他由食物传播的疾病的措施大同小异,包括食物安全五要点所述的基本食物卫生守则。主要的建议是 如厕后和进食前应洗净双手,用清水把食物(特别是供生吃的食物)彻底清洗干净,以及在配制食物时避免交叉污染。
  2. 为尽量减低感染O157:H7型大肠杆菌的风险,应把碎牛肉和汉堡肉彻底烹煮至中心部分的温度达到摄氏70度或以上至少2分钟。
  3. 任何种类的芽菜都是放在温暖潮湿的环境中发芽生长。不过,这些温暖潮湿的环境亦有利于微生物(包括致病细菌)的生长。冲洗是不能清除生芽菜上的细菌,因此建议在食用前彻底煮熟。

给业界的建议

  1. 处理食物前和如厕后用肥皂和水洗手。
  2. 应把碎牛肉和汉堡肉彻底烹煮至中心部分的温度达到摄氏70度或以上至少2分钟。
  3. 即食的新鲜水果和蔬菜,特别是预先切开的水果和做沙律的新鲜叶菜,应在摄氏4度或以下的温度存放。
  4. 如患有或怀疑感染传染病或出现病征,例如腹泻、呕吐和发烧等,应停止处理食物。

给消费者的建议

  1. 彻底洗净作沙律配料的水果和蔬菜。不过,标注已清洗及可即食用的新鲜叶菜产品则不应再清洗。
  2. 用清洁的蔬果刷,刷洗表面坚实的蔬果(例如瓜类水果和青瓜)。
  3. 切勿食用未经煮熟的汉堡肉、碎牛肉和其他肉类产品。
  4. 高危人士,例如儿童、长者、孕妇和免疫力较低人士,应避免进食生的芽菜和未经洗净的新鲜蔬果,包括生菜∕沙律。

     

    食物安全中心
    风险评估组
    2011年7月


    1. World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE), 2010. Chapter 2.9.11. Verocytotoxigenic Escherichia coli. In Manual of Diagnostic Tests and Vaccines for Terrestrial Animals 2010. Available online:
      http://www.oie.int/fileadmin/Home/eng/Health_standards/tahm/2.09.11_VERO_E_COLI.pdf
    2. Scheutz F, Møller Nielsen E, Frimodt-Møller J, Boisen N, Morabito S, Tozzoli R, Nataro JP, Caprioli A. Characteristics of the enteroaggregative Shiga toxin/verotoxin-producing Escherichia coli O104:H4 strain causing the outbreak of haemolytic uraemic syndrome in Germany, May to June 2011. Euro Surveill. 2011;16(24):pii=19889. Available online:
      http://www.eurosurveillance.org/ViewArticle.aspx?ArticleId=19889
    3. uropean Food Safety Authority; Urgent advice on the public health risk of Shiga-toxin producing Escherichia coli in fresh vegetables. EFSA Journal 2011; 9(6):2274. [50 pp.] doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2011.2274. Available online: www.efsa.europa.eu/efsajournal
    上 一 页   返 回 页 首
     
    最近修订日期 : 08-07-2011