Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Risk in Brief

Human Swine Influenza (Influenza A/H1N1) and Food Safety


Introduction

Recently, outbreaks of human swine influenza (influenza A/H1N1) have occurred in Mexico and United States and subsequently the disease has spread to other continents. There are death cases reported in Mexico , United States , and some other countries. The Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has determined that the virus is highly contagious and is spreading from human to human. The World Health Organization (WHO) has raised the level of influenza pandemic alert to Phase 5 on 29 April 2009 indicating that a pandemic is imminent. In view of the recent case of human swine influenza in Hong Kong , the emergency response level under the Government’s Preparedness Plan for Influenza Pandemic was activated on 1 May 2009 . This brief reviews the current situation regarding the outbreak of human swine influenza as well as advice for the public and trade.

Human Swine Influenza and Swine Influenza

  1. The human cases of human swine influenza are caused by a new influenza A/H1N1 virus not previously detected in swine or humans. The virus contains a mix of swine, human and avian influenza virus genes. Humans infected by the virus will present symptoms similar to those of human flu such as fever, cough, sore throat, body aches, headache, chills and fatigue. Some patients have also reported diarrhoea and vomiting. According to WHO and CDC, human-to-human transmission of the influenza A/H1N1 can occur in the same way as seasonal flu occurs among people, mainly through coughing or sneezing of people infected with the virus. People may also become infected by touching objects soiled with flu viruses and then touching their nose or mouth.

  2. Recently, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency has found the virus in a swine herd in Alberta . The virus may come from a Canadian who had recently returned from Mexico and had been exhibiting flu-like symptoms. International organisations have recommended on step up disease surveillance in pigs and implementation of biosecurity measures.

  3. Swine influenza (distinct from the influenza A/H1N1 in humans) is a respiratory disease of pigs caused by type A influenza virus that regularly causes outbreaks of influenza among pigs. The mortality in pigs tends to be low, while the morbidity is high. There are four main influenza type A virus subtypes that have been isolated in pigs: H1N1, H1N2, H3N1, and H3N2. However, most of the recently isolated influenza viruses from pigs have been H1N1 viruses. Sporadic human infections with swine influenza do occasionally occur. Most commonly, human cases of swine influenza happen in people with direct exposure to or close contact with infected pigs (e.g. workers in the swine industry). The symptoms of swine influenza in humans are usually similar to those of human seasonal influenza, which include fever, fatigue, loss of appetite and coughing. Some people infected with swine flu may also have runny nose, sore throat, nausea, vomiting and diarrhoea.

Safety of Pork and Pork Products

  1. As stated by WHO, influenza viruses are not known to be transmitted through eating processed pork and other products derived from pigs. Heat treatments commonly used in cooking meat (e.g. internal temperature of 70°C) will readily inactivate any viruses potentially present in raw meat products. The pork and pork products handled in accordance with good hygienic practices will not be a source of infection.

  2. In addition, meat from sick pigs or pigs found dead should not be processed or used for human consumption under any circumstances.

Advice to the Public

  1. Maintain good personal hygiene, keep hands clean and wash hands promptly especially after sneezing or coughing. Alcohol-based handrub is also effective when hands are not visibly soiled.
  2. Wear mask when symptoms of respiratory tract infection or fever develop. Refrain from work or school and seek medical advice promptly.
  3. Cook pork thoroughly with internal part reaching at least 75°C before consumption.
  4. Maintain good hygienic practices including washing hands thoroughly before and after handling raw meats.
  5. Step up cleansing and disinfection of residential premises.

Advice to People in Regular Contact with Pigs

  1. Minimise contact with sick pigs and report such animals to relevant animal health authorities.
  2. Sick animals and animals that died from disease should not be slaughtered. Proper hygiene precautions should be taken when handling and disposing of sick or dead pigs.
  3. Maintain good personal hygiene, good hygienic practices during slaughtering and post-slaughtering process to prevent exposure to disease agents. Swine workers should wear protective attire, such as face shield and protective clothing and then disinfect their shoes, clothes and hands after work.
  4. Seek medical attention if any symptoms of influenza-like illness develop and refrain from work.
  5. Step up cleansing and disinfection of workplace.

Advice to Food Trade

  1. Meat from sick pigs or pigs found dead should not be processed or used for human consumption under any circumstances.
  2. Step up cleaning, inspection and maintenance for all ventilating systems in the premises, including air outlets, air filters, fresh air inlets and ventilating ducts.
  3. Step up cleansing and disinfection of the toilets, walls, floors, utensils, tables, chairs and equipment on the premises.
  4. Cleanse and disinfect commonly-used facilities and equipment at least daily by using household bleach (1 part of household bleach in 99 parts of water). Leave for 15 to 30 minutes and then rinse with water. When resources allow, facilities and equipment with high usage rate (such as door knobs, escalator hand rails, lift buttons, etc) should be disinfected at least once every two hours.
  5. If places or facilities are contaminated with respiratory secretion, vomitus or excreta, wipe them away immediately. Then disinfect the surface and neighbouring area by using household bleach (1 part of household bleach in 49 parts of water), leave for 15 to 30 minutes, then rinse with water.
  6. Remind staff developing influenza-like symptoms such as fever, sore throat and cough to cease work immediately and consult a registered medical practitioner.


Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
May 2009

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 22-05-2009

工作项目 >> 食物安全之风险评估 友善列印

风险简讯

人类猪型流感(甲型流感∕H1N1)与食物安全


引言

最近,墨西哥和美国爆发人类猪型流感(甲型流感∕H1N1),其后更蔓延至各大洲。墨西哥、美国及其他国家亦录得因感染该病而死亡的个案。美国疾病控制及预防中心(下称“美国疾控中心”)证实,人类猪型流感病毒的传染性极高,而且正在人与人之间传播。二零零九年四月二十九日,世界卫生组织(下称“世卫”)把流感大流行的警戒级别提升至第五级,表示流感大流行迫在眉睫。鉴于本港近日出现人类猪型流感的个案,政府于二零零九年五月一日启动流感大流行应变计划中的“紧急应变级别”。本简讯旨在概述目前爆发人类猪型流感的情况,以及向市民及业界提出建议。

人类猪型流感及猪流感

  1. 人类现时感染的人类猪型流感,是由一种从未在猪或人类发现的新甲型流感∕H1N1病毒所引起。这种病毒同时带有猪流感病毒、人类流感病毒和禽流感病毒的基因。人类感染人类猪型流感后会出现与人类流感相似的病征,包括发烧、咳嗽、喉咙痛、全身疼痛、头痛、发冷及疲倦,部分患者更会出现腹泻及呕吐的征状。世卫及美国疾控中心表示,人类猪型流感在人与人之间的传播途径相信与人类季节性流感相同,主要是通过受病毒感染者咳嗽或打喷嚏传播。人类亦可在接触带有流感病毒的物件后,再触摸口鼻或眼睛而受感染。


  2. 最近,加拿大食物检察局(Canadian Food Inspection Agency)发现艾伯塔省内一批猪只带有人类猪型流感病毒,这些病毒可能来自一名最近从墨西哥回国后出现流感病征的加拿大人。有关的国际组织建议加强猪只的疾病监察,并采取生物安全措施。


  3. 猪流感(有别于人类猪型流感)是猪只因感染甲型流感病毒而导致的呼吸性疾病,该病毒常会引致猪只爆发流行性感冒。猪只的猪流感的死亡率通常偏低,但发病率偏高。从猪只分离出的四种主要甲型流感病毒亚型包括H1N1、H1N2、H3N1和H3N2,但近期在猪只间发现的流感则多为 H1N1型。然而,零星的人类感染猪流感个案会偶然发生。人类感染猪流感大部分是由于人类直接或近距离接触受感染的猪只(如养猪业从业员)。人类猪型流感的病征一般与人类季节性流感相似,包括发烧、疲倦、食欲不振和咳嗽。部分患者可能会流鼻水、喉咙痛、作呕、呕吐及腹泻。

猪肉和猪肉制品的安全

  1. 根据世卫声明,没有证据显示人类可因进食经加工处理的猪肉和猪肉制品而感染流感病毒。烹煮肉类常采用的热处理(例如内部温度达摄氏70度)能轻易灭活生肉产品中可能存在的病毒。按照良好卫生方法处理的猪肉和猪肉制品不会传播流感病毒。


  2. 此外,病猪或死猪的肉也绝对不应加工处理或供人食用。

给公众的建议

  1. 保持良好的个人卫生。用正确方法洗手,保持双手清洁,打喷嚏或咳嗽后更应尽快洗手。如双手没有明显污垢,可用酒精搓手液消毒。
  2. 有呼吸道感染征状或发烧时,应戴上口罩,切勿上班或上学,并及早求医。
  3. 猪肉要彻底煮熟至内部温度至少达摄氏75度才可进食。
  4. 培养良好的卫生习惯,包括处理生的肉类前后都要彻底洗净双手。
  5. 加强清洁和消毒住宅处所。

给经常接触猪只的人的建议

  1. 尽量减少接触患病的猪只,如发现病猪,应向有关的动物卫生当局报告。
  2. 不应屠宰患病或病死的动物。处理和处置患病或死去的猪只时,应采取正确的卫生预防措施。
  3. 保持良好的个人卫生,并按照良好卫生方法屠宰猪只和进行屠宰后工序,以防接触到病原体。猪只屠宰工人应穿戴防护装备,例如口罩和保护衣物,完成工作后,鞋履、衣物和双手均应消毒。
  4. 如出现流感病征,应立即求诊,并停止工作。
  5. 加强清洁和消毒工作地方。

给食物业的建议

  1. 病猪或死猪的肉绝对不应加工处理或供人食用。
  2. 加强清洁、检查和保养处所内的所有通风系统,包括出风口、空气过滤器、鲜风口和 通风管道。
  3. 加强清洁和消毒处所内的厕所、墙壁、地板、用具、桌子、椅子和设备。
  4. 至少每天以家用漂白水(1份家用漂白水混和99份清水)清洁和消毒常用的设施和设备,然后等待15至30分钟,再用水清洗并抹干。如资源充足,使用率高的 设施和设备(例如门把手、自动梯扶手、升降机按钮),应至少每隔两小时消毒一次。
  5. 如地面或 设施 被呼吸道分泌物、呕吐物或排泄物污染,应立即把脏物抹去,然后以家用漂白水(1份家用漂白水混和49份清水)在表面和附近地方消毒,等待15至30分钟,再用水清洗并抹干。
  6. 提醒有 流感病征(例如发烧、喉咙痛和咳嗽)的员工应立即停止工作,并且向注册医生求诊。


食物安全中心
风险评估组
二零零九年五月

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 22-05-2009