Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Banner

Risk in Brief

Red swamp crayfish, rhabdomyolysis and Haff Disease

Introduction

1. Haff disease is an unexplained rhabdomyolysis (breakdown of skeletal muscle fibers) in a person who ingested fish within the 24 hours before onset of illness. It was first reported in the Baltic region in 1924 . In the following nine years, about 1 000 persons were also affected in the region.

2. Since then, the disease has been reported in various countries including Sweden, the former Soviet Union, the United States, Brazil and China. The disease involved consumption of mostly cooked freshwater fish (i.e. burbot, eel, pike, buffalo, silver dollar, freshwater pompano, etc.) and red swamp crayfish.

Safety and Public Health Significance

1. Haff disease typically presents with muscle weakness, muscle pain, muscle rigidity and dark brown urine. However, neurologic symptoms (i.e. symptoms caused by the nervous system such as numbness and paralysis) are absent. This is different from poisoning caused by the consumption of some seafood (e.g. paralytic shellfish poisoning, ciguatera poisoning, puffer fish poisoning, etc.). The incubation period is reported to be about 8 hours, with a range of 6–21 hours after eating the affected freshwater fish or red swamp crayfish.

2. Rhabdomyolysis is characterized by disintegration of skeletal muscle fibers, resulting in intracellular contents (including myoglobin, an oxygen-binding protein found in skeletal muscles) being released into the bloodstream. Myoglobin circulates to the kidneys and precipitates in their microscopic filtering structures – the renal tubules, causing obstruction and acute renal failure. Therefore, the condition can be potentially life-threatening when severe. There are actually more common causes of rhabdomyolysis like crush injury, overexertion, alcohol abuse, congenital metabolic myopathies, heat and cold injury, drugs and toxins, etc.

3. The cause of Haff disease remains unclear at the moment. It is suspected to be caused by a heat-stable toxin that accumulates in the implicated food. However, chemical analysis of incriminated food (i.e. red swamp crayfish and fish), blood and urine samples from patients so far did not yield any possible toxins, drugs and hazardous elements. Some people suspected the improper use of washing solutions (such as solutions containing oxalic acid or sodium hydroxide) to clean crayfish would lead to rhabdomyolysis; however, oxalic acid or sodium hydroxide would not induce symptoms similar to that of rhabdomyolysis.

Crayfish and Haff Disease

1. To date, Haff disease associated with the consumption of red swamp crayfish (Procambarus clarkii ) was reported only in two countries: China and the United States. The first published outbreak involving six cases after consumption of red swamp crayfish in Beijing in 2000. In 2001, eight cases in Louisiana were also associated with consumption of red swamp crayfish. From 2010, more cases were reported to be associated with the consumption of freshwater red swamp crayfish in China.

2. On 8 September 2016, t he Centre for Health Protection (CHP) of the Department of Health reported the investigation of two suspected cases of food poisoning. Two patients developed symptoms which included severe muscle pain over the legs after consuming boiled red swamp crayfish bought in Shenzhen.

Red swamp crayfish (Procambarus clarkii)
Red swamp crayfish (Procambarus clarkii)
(The common commercial size is 7.5-10.5 cm)

Advice to trade

  1. Purchase live red swamp crayfish from aquaculture farms that are regulated by the relevant authorities and from reputable exporters. Purchase red swamp crayfish products (e.g. cooked frozen crayfish tail meat) from processing plants that have adopted HACCP (or equivalent food safety management systems) to monitor the production process.

  2. In Hong Kong, all food available for sale in the market must be fit for human consumption. The trade should ensure that the food they sell or import is fit for human consumption and comply with relevant legal standards.

Advice to consumers

  1. Purchase fresh red swamp crayfish from reputable and reliable suppliers. Members of the public should not buy red swamp crayfish from unknown sources or catch wild red swamp crayfish for consumption.

  2. Clean red swamp crayfish before cooking and cook thoroughly.

  3. One should not overindulge in red swamp crayfish and should not consume head and internal organs of red swamp crayfish. (According to limited information at present, a study reported that in an outbreak of Haff disease caused by the consumption of red swamp crayfish, consuming more than 10 pieces of crayfish was related to increased disease risk.)

  4. If having generalised or localised muscle pain after eating red swamp crayfish, you should seek medical treatment immediately and tell the doctor about your food history.

 

Risk Assessment Section
October 2016

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 04-10-2016

工作项目 >> 食物安全之风险评估 友善列印

标题图片

风险简讯

小龙虾、横纹肌溶解症及哈夫病

引言

1.哈夫病是指患者在进食鱼类24小时内出现的不明原因的横纹肌溶解症(骨骼肌纤维溶解)。哈夫病于1924年在波罗的海沿岸哈夫区首次发现,其后九年,该地区约有1000人患上这疾病。

2.此后,多个国家(包括瑞典、前苏联、美国、巴西及中国)均有哈夫病的致病记录,大多与食用经烹煮的淡水鱼(山鲶鱼、鳗鱼、白斑狗鱼、水牛鱼、银板鱼、淡水白鲳等)和小龙虾有关。

安全性和对公众健康的影响

1.哈夫病常见的病征是肌肉无力、肌肉疼痛、肌肉僵硬和尿液呈咖啡色,但不会出现神经系统症状(即神经系统受影响而触发的病征,如麻痹和瘫痪),故有别于食用某些海产而引致的食物中毒(如麻痹性贝毒、雪卡毒、河豚毒素引起的中毒等)。有报告指出,哈夫病的潜伏期约为八小时,但患者在进食有问题的淡水鱼或小龙虾后6至21小时内也可能会发病。

2.横纹肌溶解症患者的骨骼肌纤维会溶解,导致肌肉细胞内的物质(包括一种存于骨骼肌组织中名为肌红蛋白的氧合蛋白)进入血液。肌红蛋白经血液循环流至肾脏,会沉积于肾小管(具过滤作用的微细组织),造成阻塞,引致急性肾衰竭。如情况严重,可有性命之虞。其实,横纹肌溶解症更常见的成因有撞伤、运动过度、酗酒、先天性代谢性肌肉病变、烫伤或冻伤、药物和毒素影响等。

3.哈夫病的成因至今未明,有人怀疑病因与一种在问题食物中积聚的耐热毒素有关。然而,在对问题食物(鱼类和小龙虾)及患者的血液和尿液样本进行化学分析后,并无发现任何可能引致哈夫病的毒素、药物或有害物质。有人怀疑不当使用清洁剂(例如含草酸或哥士的的清洁剂)清洗小龙虾会引致横纹肌溶解症,但草酸或哥士的都不会引致与横纹肌溶解症相同的病征。

小龙虾与哈夫病

1.到目前为止,仅在中国和美国录得进食小龙虾(中文学名“克氏原螯虾”,拉丁学名“Procambarus clarkii”)引发哈夫病的病例。最先公布的病例是在2000年发生于北京的六宗个案。翌年,美国路易斯安那州亦有八宗与进食小龙虾有关的哈夫病病例。自2010年起,中国陆续有更多食用淡水小龙虾导致哈夫病的报告。

2.在2016年9月8日,卫生署卫生防护中心公布调查两宗怀疑食物中毒个案,患者两人,分别在进食购自深圳的熟小龙虾后出现病征,包括双脚肌肉剧痛。

小龙虾(中文学名“克氏原螯虾”)
小龙虾(中文学名“克氏原螯虾”)
(市场上的小龙虾一般长度为7.5至10.5厘米不等)

给业界的建议

  1. 只向受有关当局监管的养殖场及信誉良好的出口商采购鲜活小龙虾。只向已采用「食物安全重点控制(HACCP)」系统(或相若的食物安全管理系统)监控生产过程的加工企业采购小龙虾制品(例如冷藏熟小龙虾尾肉)。


  2. 在香港,市面上发售的所有食品必须适宜供人食用。业界应确保所出售或进口的食品符合相关的法定标准,适宜供人食用。

给消费者的建议

  1. 向信誉良好和可靠的供应商购买新鲜的小龙虾,切勿买入来历不明的小龙虾,或捕捉野生小龙虾食用。


  2. 小龙虾要清洗干净,并彻底煮熟。


  3. 不应过量进食小龙虾,小龙虾的头和内脏亦不宜食用。(根据现时的有限资料,有研究指出,在一宗进食小龙虾后引发哈夫病爆发的事件中,消费者进食超过十只小龙虾,患哈夫病的风险会上升。)


  4. 在吃小龙虾后,如感到全身或局部肌肉疼痛,应立即求医,并主动告诉医生之前曾进食的食物。

 

食物安全中心
2016年10月

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 04-10-2016