Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Milk Basic Protein (MBP) in Food

Introduction

  1. On 11 February 2009 , media reported that the General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine (AQSIQ) of Mainland China did not permit Mengniu Company to add Osteoblast Milk Protein (OMP) in its milk product “Milk Deluxe”.
  2. Press releases from the Ministry of Health of the Mainland (MOH) and AQSIQ indicated that OMP is a commercial term introduced by Mengniu Company, which claimed that OMP added in some of their milk products was actually Milk Basic Protein (MBP). Therefore, the safety of MBP is discussed below.

Safety of MBP

  1. MBP is primarily composed of lactoferrin and lactoperoxidase, with residual proteins, carbohydrate, ash and moisture accounting for approximately 5% of MBP.
  2. The food safety of MBP has not been evaluated by international organisation, including the Joint Food and Agriculture Organization / World Health Organization Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA). Nevertheless, US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has listed the use of MBP by Snow Brand Company Milk Products Co., Ltd. as food ingredient in some foods (including milk) under certain conditions as “Generally Recognized As Safe” (GRAS). The Ministry of Health, Labour, and Welfare of Japan also endorsed MBP as one of the approved “Food for Specified Health Uses” in Japan .
  3. The food safety of MBP as an ingredient in food has been evaluated by researchers and can be found in the scientific literature. Results of the study indicated that no MBP-related adverse effect was found in various toxicological studies that examined its acute and sub-chronic toxicity, teratogenicity and mutagenicity.

Safety of milk products added with OMP

  1. According to the press release of MOH, OMP is not an approved food additive and it is not regulated as novel food in the Mainland. It is a food ingredient that has not been included in the food hygiene standard. As such, the concerned milk company should seek approval from MOH for adding it in food, as stipulated in the “Food Hygiene Law”.
  2. According to the evaluation of MOH of Mainland China , milk products added with OMP will not pose adverse health effect to consumers.

Regulatory Control

  1. Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex) has not established any standard for the use of MBP or OMP in food.
  2. Currently, OMP is not a permitted food ingredient in the Mainland.
  3. According to the Milk Regulation (Cap.132AQ), no person shall sell or advertise for sale, any milk or milk beverage imported into Hong Kong from a source of manufacture other than a source of manufacture which has been approved by the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene.
  4. According to the information of the Mainland authorities and importers, as well as the record of FEHD, the concerned milk has not been imported to Hong Kong .

Advice to Public

  • Consumers are advised to take a balanced diet and to avoid overindulgence of certain food items.

Advice to Trade

  • In Hong Kong , all food available for sale in the market must be fit for human consumption. The trade should ensure the foods they sell or import are fit for human consumption and comply with legal standards.
  • No person shall sell or advertise for sale, any milk or milk beverage imported into Hong Kong from a source of manufacture other than a source of manufacture which has been approved by the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene.
Risk Assessment Section

Centre for Food Safety

March 2009

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 13-03-2009

工作项目 >> 食物安全之风险评估 友善列印

食物中的牛奶碱性蛋白(MBP)

引言

  1. 二零零九年二月十一日,传媒报道国家质量监督检验检疫总局 (下称“国家质检总局”)禁令蒙牛公司在其奶品“特仑苏牛奶"(Milk Deluxe)中添加造骨牛奶蛋白(OMP)。

  2. 根据中国卫 生部及国家质检总局发出的新闻稿,OMP是蒙牛公司命名的商品名称。该公司声称在其部分奶品加入的OMP,实际上是牛奶碱性蛋白(MBP)。因此,本文特别讨论MBP的安全性。

MBP的安全性

  1. MBP的主要成分为乳铁蛋白和乳过氧化酶,其他蛋白、碳水化合物、灰和水分约占MBP的5% 。

  2. 联合国粮食及农业组织/世界卫 生组织联合食品添加剂专家委员会 (下称“专家委员会”)等国际机构并未对MBP进行食物安全评估。不过,美国食品及药物管理局将雪印牛奶公司在按照一定条件下把MBP作食物配料用在某几类食物 (包括牛奶) 中,列作 “普遍认为安全”(Generally Recognized As Safe)。此外,日本厚生省亦批准将MBP列为“特定保健用食品”。

  3. 研究人员曾评估使用MBP作食物配料的安全性,有关的结果载于科学文献。研究结果显示,针对MBP的急性毒性、亚慢性毒性、致畸作用和致突变作用所进行的多项毒性研究都没有发现与 MBP有关的不良影响。

添加了OMP的奶品的安全

  1. 根据国家卫生部发出的新闻稿,OMP不是内地认可的食物添加剂,也不属于新资源食品的规管范围,而是一种未列入食物卫 生标准的食物配料。有关奶品公司把它添加到食物之前,应先按照《食品卫生法》的规定,寻求国家卫生部批准。

  2. 根据国家卫生部的评估结果,添加了OMP的奶品不会对消费者的健康造成不良影响。

规管

  1. 食品法典委员会未有为食物中使用MBP或OMP制定任何标准。

  2. OMP目前是未经内地批准使用的食物配料。

  3. 根据《奶业规例》(第132AQ章),任何人不得售卖或为出售而宣传任何从某个未经食物环境卫生署署长批准的制造来源地输入香港的奶类或奶类饮品。

  4. 根据内地有关当局和进口商的资料及食环署的记录,有关奶品并没有输港。

给公众的建议

  • 消费者应饮食均衡,不要偏食。

给业界的建议

  • 所有在本港市面出售的食物必须适宜供人食用。业界应确保所出售或进口的食物适宜供人食用,并符合法定标准。

  • 任何人不得售卖或为出售而宣传任何从某个未经食物环境卫 生署署长批准的制造来源地输入香港的奶类或奶类饮品。

 

食物安全中心

风险评估组

二零零九年三月

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 13-03-2009