Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

The Safety of Energy Drink

Introduction

  1. In recent years, there have been cases of cardiac dysrhythmia, seizures, kidney failure, and fatalities with a possible link to the consumption of energy drinks reported in different countries. These incidents usually involved improper intake of energy drinks, such as drinking them with alcohol or in greater quantities than recommended. For example, in 2011, a teenage girl from the US died after consuming nearly 1.5 Litres of energy drink, “Monster Energy”. In 2008, a man from the UK with underlying heart condition died after consuming large amount of energy drink, Red Bull. In 2001 a woman in Sweden drank Red Bull and vodka in a party, who suddenly collapsed while dancing and eventually died.

  2. Energy drinks are meant to “mobilize energy” by stimulating the nervous system. They are non-alcoholic beverages characterized by the addition of a number of energy enhancing ingredients such as caffeine, a selection of B vitamins, and other substances such as taurine (a kind of amino acid) and glucuronolactone (a carbohydrate). Energy drinks, may contain an energy source (e.g. carbohydrates) or be sugar free. Energy drinks should not be confused with sport drinks which re-hydrate the body and provide sugar and minerals, such as sodium and potassium.

  3. Energy drinks mixed with vodka or beers have become popular at bars and clubs and consuming these drinks is a trend among young people in various countries. Some people also consume energy drinks to keep up their energy during periods of intense physical activities or drink them after exercise to quench their thirst. But rather than rehydrating their bodies, these drinks may actually lead to dehydration.

Safety and Public Health Significance

  1. The caffeine content in a can of energy drink is about the same as a cup of coffee. Other ingredients in energy drink such as taurine and glucuronolactone are either found in natural food or can be produced by our bodies. Except for caffeine that may cause adverse effects such as nervousness or anxiety in children or people who are sensitive to caffeine, no evidence showed that any other ingredients in energy drinks can cause serious health effects.

  2. However, the European Union Scientific Committee on Food considered that the adverse effects caused by energy drinks may be due to the interactions between constituents in energy drinks and with alcohol and exercise. The potential for interactions between constituents in energy drinks and with alcohol and exercise were seen on central nervous system ( reduced the consumer’s awareness of alcohol intoxification), kidney (increased water and sodium loss from the body in the short-term), and cardiovascular system (altered the heart rate and blood pressure in the short-term). These effects could pose health risk to consumers.

Regulatory Control

  1. The sale of energy drinks is legal in Hong Kong and in many countries such as the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, and some European countries.

  2. There are currently no Codex standards for energy drinks. In Hong Kong, there is no specific legislation governing the standard of energy drinks. In Australia, formulated caffeinated beverages (energy drinks) must contain no less than 145 mg/L and no more than 320 mg/L of caffeine.

Advice to the Public

  1. Energy drinks are unsuitable for children, pregnant women and individuals sensitive to caffeine.

  2. It is not recommended to consume energy drinks along with other substances having an effect on the central nervous system (alcohol or medication with an effect on the central nervous system).

  3. Do not drink excessive amounts of energy drinks. For example, to follow label instructions such as manufacturer’s suggested intake level, if available.

  4. Energy drinks are not suitable as thirst quenchers, or as rehydrants during physical exercise. If you engage in intense physical activity or exercise, drink enough water to help re-hydrate your system.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Trade members should ensure that their energy drinks comply with local legislation and are fit for human consumption.

  2. Energy drinks should be labelled with an indication that they are not recommended for children, pregnant women and individuals sensitive to caffeine.

  3. Energy drinks should not carry misleading claims such as suggesting that they can reduce the requirement for sleep or can be consumed in association with sport as a thirst quencher.
Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
October 2012
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 24-10-2012

工作项目 >> 食物安全之风险评估 友善列印

能 量 饮 品 的 安 全 性

引言

  1. 近年,多个国家均有怀疑饮用能量饮品引致心律失调、癫痫、肾衰竭和死亡的个案。这些事件一般与不当饮用能量饮品有关,如同时饮用含酒精饮料或饮用超过建议的分量。举例来说,二零一一年,一名美国少女饮用了约1.5公升能量饮品“Monster Energy”后死亡。二零零八年,一名患有潜在性心脏病的英国男子饮用大量能量饮品“红牛”(Red Bull)后死亡。二零零一年,瑞典一名女子在一个派对饮用了红牛和伏特加酒后,在跳舞期间突然晕倒,最终死亡。


  2. 能量饮品透过刺激神经系统而起提神作用。这种不含酒精的饮品,添加了咖啡因、多种维他命B等提升能量的成分,以及牛磺酸(一种氨基酸)、葡萄糖醛酸内酯(碳水化合物)等其他物质。能量饮品可含有能量的来源(如碳水化合物) 或不含糖分。能量饮品不应与运动饮品混淆,后者可补充人体水分,并提供糖分和矿物质、如钠和钾。


  3. 混合伏特加酒或啤酒的能量饮品,已成为酒吧和会所中受欢迎的饮品,各国年青人饮用这些饮品亦已成为一种风气。此外,有人在进行剧烈体能活动期间饮用能量饮品,以维持能量;或运动后饮用,作止渴用途。然而,这些饮品不但不会补充他们体内的水分,实际上还可导致脱水的情况。

安全性和对公众健康的影响

  1. 一罐能量饮品的咖啡因含量与一杯咖啡相若。能量饮品内的其他成分,如牛磺酸和葡萄糖醛酸内酯,亦存在于天然食物,或在我们体内制造。除咖啡因可能导致儿童或对咖啡因敏感的人紧张或焦虑等不良影响外,没有证据显示能量饮品所含的其他物质会对健康造成严重的影响。


  2. 然而,欧洲联盟食物科学委员会认为,能量饮品对健康造成的不良影响,可能与能量饮品的成分、酒精和运动的相互作用有关。能量饮品的成分、酒精和运动的相互作用可在中枢神经系统(减低消费者的酒精中毒意识)、肾脏(短期内加速体内的水分和钠流失)和心血管系统(短期内改变了心率和血压)中出现。这些影响可对消费者的健康构成风险。

规管

  1. 在香港和美国、加拿大、澳洲、新西兰、新加坡等国家,以及某些欧洲国家,售卖能量饮品是合法的。


  2. 食品法典委员会目前并未就能量饮品订定有关标准,香港亦没有订立规管能量饮品标准的具体法例,但澳洲规定经配方的含咖啡因饮品(能量饮品)的咖啡因含量不得少于每公升145毫克,也不得多于每公升320毫克。

给市民的建议

  1. 能量饮品不适宜儿童、孕妇及对咖啡因敏感的人饮用。


  2. 饮用能量饮品时,不应同时服用可影响中枢神经系统的物质(例如含酒精饮料或中枢神经系统药物) 。


  3. 不可过量饮用能量饮品,例如应按照标签上列载由制造商建议的摄入量(如有)。


  4. 能量饮品不宜用于止渴或在运动时补充身体水分。从事剧烈体能活动或做剧烈运动期间,应饮用足够的清水补充身体水分。

给业界的建议

  1. 业界应确保其能量饮品符合本港法例及适宜供人饮用。


  2. 能量饮品应附有标签,声明产品不适宜儿童、孕妇及对咖啡因敏感的人饮用。


  3. 能量饮品不应有误导消费者的宣称,例如声称饮用该产品后不需要睡眠或适合于运动时用作止渴。
食物安全中心
风险评估组
二零一二年十月
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 24-10-2012