Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Risk of Mercury in Fish

Introduction

  1. Mercury is an element which exists naturally in the environment in abundance.

  2. It can be released into the air and water both naturally and from industrial sources and entered into the food chain.

Occurrence of Mercury

  1. Mercury exists in three forms, namely metallic, inorganic and organic.

  2. In streams, lakes and oceans, mercury can be transformed by bacteria into methyl mercury, which is the most prevalent form of organic mercury and is the most hazardous form. Methyl mercury is readily taken up by living organisms and is passed along the microscopic plants and animals to larger organisms via the food chain. It can accumulate in fish and binds tightly to the protein in fish tissues. Hence, fish is the major dietary source of mercury exposure in humans.

  3. As methyl mercury tends to bioaccumulate in the food chain, large predatory fish such as shark, swordfish, marlin, alfonsino and tuna (especially bigeye and bluefin species) would have a greater tendency to accumulate higher amount of the chemical than non-predatory fish species at lower levels in the food chain.

  4. Cooking could not appreciably reduce the concentration of mercury in fish.

Adverse Effects of Mercury

  1. Exposure to high level of mercury can cause adverse effect to the nervous system, especially the developing brain. Hence, unborn foetuses, infants and young children are more sensitive to such toxic effects.

  2. The Provisional Tolerable Weekly Intake (PTWI) of methylmercury as recommended by the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) in 2003 is 1.6 μg/kg body weight.. The JECFA also established a PTWI of 4 μg/kg body weight for inorganic mercury in 2010, based on the assumption that the predominant form of mercury in foods other than fish and shellfish is inorganic mercury. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, this PTWI for inorganic mercury was considered applicable to dietary exposure to total mercury from foods other than fish and shellfish. The PTWI of 5 μg/kg body weigh for total mercury established by JECFA in 1972 was withdrawn by JECFA in 2010.

  3. PTWI is an estimate of the amount of a contaminant that can be ingested over a lifetime without appreciable risk. An intake above the PTWI does not automatically mean that health is at risk. Transient excursion above the PTWI would have no health consequences provided that the average intake over long period is not exceeded as the emphasis of PTWI is a lifetime exposure.


Situation in Hong Kong

  1. Level of mercury in food in Hong Kong is regulated under the Food Adulteration (Metallic Contamination) Regulations made under the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance ((Cap.132), which stipulates that the maximum permitted concentration of mercury in food is 0.5 ppm (parts per million). Offenders shall be liable to a maximum fine of $50,000 and imprisonment for six months.

  2. The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has a food surveillance programme in place for mercury in food. In 2009, 2,503 food samples including 320 samples of fish and fish sashimi had been taken for testing of mercury. Predatory fish such as swordfish had the highest content of mercury. The mercury levels of 7 out of 2,503 food samples taken were above legal limit and they had been announced in Food Safety Reports. The results of the remaining samples were all below the legal limit.

  3. In 2008, CFS has conducted a study to estimate the dietary exposure to methylmercury of secondary school students. The results showed that the estimated dietary exposure to methylmercury for average and high consumers of secondary school students were 0.58 μg/kg bw/week and 1.61 μg/kg bw/week respectively. The results for average consumers were within the PTWI of methylmercury (1.6 μg/kg body weight) as recommended by JECFA. This implies that the average consumers among secondary school students in Hong Kong would be unlikely to experience major toxicological effects of methylmercury. For the high consumers, the estimated dietary exposures to methylmercury may exceed the PTWI (94 – 106 % of PTWI). Hence, the risk to adverse effects of methylmercury for high consumers cannot be excluded. However, transient excursion above the PTWI would have no health consequences provided that the average intake over long period is not exceeded as the emphasis of PTWI is a lifetime exposure. (For reference of full report of the study, please click here).

Advice to the Public

  1. Pregnant women, women planning pregnancy and young children when selecting fish species in their diet should avoid eating large predatory fish and the types of fish which may contain high levels of mercury such as shark, swordfish, marlin, alfonsino and tuna (especially bigeye and bluefin species)
  2. Maintain a balanced diet to avoid excessive exposure to contaminants from a small range of food items.
  3. 3. Moderate consumption of a variety of fish is recommended as fish is an excellent source of many essential nutrients, such as omega-3 fatty acids and high quality proteins.

 

Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
February 2011

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 07-02-2011

工作项目 >> 食物安全之风险评估 友善列印

鱼 类 含 水 银 的 风 险

引言

  1. 汞(水银)是一种大量蕴藏于自然环境的元素。

  2. 汞可从天然途径或工业活动释放至空气和水中,并进入食物链内。

汞的产生

  1. 汞以3种形态存在,分别是金属汞、无机汞和有机汞。

  2. 在河流、湖泊和海洋,细菌可把汞转化为甲基汞。甲基汞是最常见的有机汞,也是最危险的。甲基汞容易被生物吸收,并可经食物链由极微小的植物和动物传到较大的生物;又可在鱼类体内积聚,并会与鱼类组织的蛋白质紧扣结合。因此,鱼类是人类从膳食摄入汞的主要来源。

  3. 由于甲基汞会在食物链中的不同生物体内积聚,鲨鱼、剑鱼、旗鱼、金目鲷和吞拿鱼(特别是大眼吞拿鱼和蓝鳍吞拿鱼)等体型较大的捕猎鱼类会比食物链位置较低的非捕猎鱼类,在体内积聚更多汞。

  4. 烹调不能大幅降低鱼类的汞含量。

汞的害处

  1. 摄入大量汞会对神经系统造成损害,特别是发育中的脑部。因此,未出生的胎儿、婴儿和幼童较易受汞的毒性影响。

  2. 2003年,联合国粮食及农业组织∕世界卫生组织联合食品添加剂专家委员会(专家委员会)把甲基汞的暂定每周可容忍摄入量定为每公斤体重1.6微克。基于鱼类及介贝类水产动物以外食物所含的汞主要是无机汞这项假设,专家委员会在2010年把无机汞的暂定每周可容忍摄入量定为每公斤体重4微克。在没有相反证据的情况下,上述无机汞的暂定每周可容忍摄入量分量亦同时适用于人类从鱼类及介贝类水产动物以外食物摄入的总汞量。2010年,专家委员会取消了其在1972年订定的总汞暂定每周可容忍摄入量,即每公斤体重5微克。

  3. 暂定每周可容忍摄入量是指人于一生中每周可摄入某种污染物而不致构成显著健康风险的估计分量。摄入量即使高于暂定每周可容忍摄入量,亦不表示健康一定会受损。由于暂定每周可容忍摄入量着眼于人一生中摄入的分量,因此只要并非长期超出,偶然高于暂定每周可容忍摄入量也不会影响健康。

香港的情况

  1. 在香港,食物的汞含量受根据《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章) 订立的《食物搀杂(金属杂质含量)规例》规管。法例规定,食物内汞的最高准许浓度为百万分之0.5,违例者的最高刑罚是罚款5万元和监禁6个月。

  2. 食物安全中心(中心)通过现行食物监察计划,监察食物的汞含量。 2009年,中心抽取了2503个食物样本(包括320个鱼类及鱼类刺身样本)进行汞含量测试。剑鱼等捕猎鱼类的汞含量最高。在2503 个食物样本中,有7个的汞含量高于法定限量,详情已于《食物安全报告》公布。其余样本的检测结果全部都低于法定限量。

  3. 2008年,中心进行了一项有关估计中学生从膳食摄入甲基汞的研究。结果显示,摄入量一般和摄入量高的中学生每周从膳食摄入甲基汞的估计分量,分别为每公斤体重0.58微克和1.61微克。摄入量一般的中学生每周从膳食摄入甲基汞的分量低于专家委员会建议的暂定每周可容忍摄入量(每公斤体重1.6微克),由此可见,他们受甲基汞毒性影响不大。至于摄入量高的中学生,他们每周从膳食摄入甲基汞的估计分量,有可能高于暂定每周可容忍摄入量(介乎该摄入量的94至106%),因此不能排除甲基汞对他们健康带来的风险。不过,由于暂定每周可容忍摄入量着眼于人一生中摄入的分量,因此只要并非长期超出,偶然高于暂定每周可容忍摄入量也不会影响健康。(如欲参看全份研究报告,请按此)。

给市民的建议

  1. 孕妇、计划怀孕的妇女和幼童在选择鱼类时应避免进食体型较大的捕猎鱼类或其他汞含量较高的鱼类,例如鲨鱼、剑鱼、旗鱼、金目鲷和吞拿鱼(特别是大眼吞拿鱼和蓝鳍吞拿鱼)。

  2. 应保持均衡饮食,避免因偏食而摄入过多污染物。

  3. 宜适量进食多种鱼类,因为鱼类营养丰富,含有多种人体所需的营养素,例如奥米加-3脂肪酸和优质蛋白质。

 

食物安全中心
风险评估组
2011年2月

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 07-02-2011