Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly
Risk in Brief - Risk of PAHs in Barbecued Meats

Risk of PAHs in Barbecued Meats

What are PAHs?

PAHs (polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons) refer to a large group of organic chemicals containing rings of carbon and hydrogen atoms. PAHs are present everywhere in the environment as pollutant in air, soil, water and foods. They are formed during incomplete combustion of fuels and organic substances and are also present in vehicle emissions and tobacco smoke.

What are the sources of PAHs?

Food attribute to the major exposure (about 90%) to PAHs for non-smokers. However for smokers, significant contribution of PAHs exposure may be attributed to cigarette smoking. Since PAHs are ubiquitous in the environment, they are present in almost all food, although they are rarely found in high levels in raw foods. Cooking methods such as roasting and grilling, on the other hand, will generate more PAHs and result in higher levels of PAHs. Also, charred foods have a higher PAHs level. That said, people love barbecued foods may take in more PAHs.

Major dietary contributors of PAHs depend on the consumption pattern (amount and types of food consumed) and the levels of PAHs in foods. In general, cereals and vegetables (owing to high consumption in the diets), and fats and oils (owing to higher concentrations of PAH in this food group) were the major contributors to dietary exposure to PAHs. Generally, despite their usually higher concentration of PAHs, grilled/smoked/barbequed fish and meat making a relatively low contribution to PAHs, particularly as they are small components of the diet.

What are the health concerns of PAHs?

PAHs will undergo metabolic transformation in the human body and may form products that are excreted or active metabolites that may bind to DNA, the genetic materials inside the cell. The latter pathway is considered to be related to the cancer causing potential of PAHs. One PAH, benzo[a]pyrene, is classified as “carcinogenic to human” (i.e. Group 1 agent) and three PAHs namely, cyclopenta[cd]pyrene, dibenzo[a,l]pyrene, and dibenz[a,h]anthracene, are classified as "probably carcinogenic" to human (i.e. Group 2A agent) by the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) of the World Health Organization.

Since cancer-causing potential is the concern and that some PAHs can damage genetic materials inside cells, it is not possible to define a level of exposure which is without risk. The Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) is of the view that exposure to PAHs should be as low as practicable. JECFA evaluated PAHs in 2005 and concluded that the estimated dietary exposure to PAHs were of low concern for human health. JECFA recommended some measures to reduce exposure to PAHs such as avoiding contact of foods with flames, and cooking with the heat source above rather than below the food.etc. European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) also assessed the dietary exposure to PAHs in 2008 and concluded that the estimated dietary exposure may indicate a low health concern for average consumer but a potential health concern for high consumer.

Local Study on PAHs

The Food and Environmental Hygiene Department has conducted a study on PAHs in 2004. Samples of barbecued meats (siu mei, namely roasted pork, BBQ pork and roasted ducks, and dried meats, namely dried beef and dried pork) were collected and analysed. We found that the higher the cooking temperature, the more PAHs would be generated; the closer the distance of the food from the heat source, the higher the PAH levels. Furthermore, PAH levels tend to be higher on the skin and fat portion (the outer part) of roasted ducks; and the cooking method of charcoal grilling gives rise to more PAHs in foods when compared with gas grilling and electric oven roasting methods. Having said that, we also observe that PAH levels in siu mei prepared by electric oven roasting and gas grilling are comparable to those found in other foodstuffs in other overseas studies. In other words, siu mei prepared in these ways is not a particular high risk food item.

How to reduce the risk?

With reference to the findings of our above-mentioned study, to minimise the risk of exposure, we have the following recommendations to the trade and consumers -

For the trade

  • For making "Siu Mei", gas grilling or electric oven roasting is preferred to charcoal grilling. For making dried meat, electric grilling is preferred to gas grilling;
  • Avoid direct contact of meats with flame and avoid fats from dripping onto the heat source (this can be done by trimming off visible fats before barbecuing and proper design of heating chamber); and
  • Cook meats at the lowest possible cooking temperatures and avoid overcooking. However, the meat should be cooked thoroughly to destroy foodborne pathogens.
  • Prior to grilling and roasting, the meat could be cooked partially by a method which employs a lower cooking temperature such as boiling.

For consumers

  • Avoid overindulging in barbecued meats;
  • Avoid eating charred foods;
  • Maintain a balanced and healthy diet by eating plenty of fruits and vegetables; and
  • When going for barbecuing, trim visible fats before barbecuing; avoid foods from flame and fats from dripping onto the heat source; and pre-cook foods (e.g. by boiling) before barbecued.

Risk Assessment Section
Nov 2012

Further information

 

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 14-11-2012

工作项目 >> 食物安全之风险评估 友善列印

风险简讯 - 烧烤肉类内PAHs的风险

烧 烤 肉 类 内 PAHs 的 风 险

什么是 PAHs?

PAHs(多环芳香族碳氢化合物)指一大类含有多环的碳和氢原子的有机化学物质,是一种环境污染物,在空气、土壤、水和食物中无处不在。PAHs在燃料及有机物质未充分燃烧的情况下形成;车辆排放的废气和香烟的烟雾中也含有PAHs。

PAHs来自何处?

对非吸烟人士来说,食物是他们摄取到PAHs的主要来源(约占90%)。对吸烟人士来说,吸烟亦可能是摄取PAHs的重要来原。由于PAHs在环境中无处不在,因此几乎所有食物都含有PAHs。不过,未经烹煮的食物内含大量PAHs的情况并不常见。使用烘焗和烧烤等烹煮方法会产生更多的PAHs及增加食物中的PAHs含量;而烧焦食物含有较多PAHs。因此爱吃烧烤肉类的人可能会摄入较多的PAHs。

PAHs的主要膳食来源取决于食物消费模式(食物消费量及种类)及食物中PAHs的水平。一般而言,谷类和蔬菜(由于高食物消费量),与脂肪和油(由于这食物组中高浓度的PAHs)是摄入PAHs的主要膳食来源。一般情况下,尽管烤/烧烤/烟熏的鱼和肉通常含有较高浓度的PAHs,其贡献PAHs的膳食摄入量相对较低,尤其它们占膳食的一小部分。

PAHs对健康有什么影响?

PAHs在人体内经过新陈代谢过程后,可能会转化成废物排出体外,或形成具活性的代谢物,可能会与细胞内的基因物质脱氧核糖核酸(DNA)结合。后一种情况被认为与PAHs的潜在致癌性有关。现时,有一种PAH(苯并[a]芘)被世界卫生组织的国际癌症研究机构列为「令人类患癌」(即第1组)的物质,另外有三种PAHs(环戊[c,d]芘、二苯并(a,l)芘及二苯并(a,h)蒽)被世界卫生组织的国际癌症研究机构列为「可能令人类患癌」(即第2A组)的物质。

由于我们关注的是潜在致癌性,而有些PAHs会破坏细胞内的基因物质,因此不可能厘定一个全无风险的摄入量。粮食及农业组织/世界卫生组织联合食物添加剂专家委员会(专家委员会)认为PAHs的摄入量应尽可能减低。专家委员会曾在2005年进行有关PAHs的评估,认为经食物摄入的PAHs分量,对健康的影响不大。专家委员会提出了减少摄入PAHs的建议,包括避免食物直接接触火焰,及烹煮时可将热源放置于食物之上等。

欧洲食品安全局(EFSA)亦于2008年评估了从膳食摄入PAHs的分量,认为一般消费者从膳食摄入PAHs的分量对健康的影响不大,但对高消费者可能有健康关注。

本港的PAHs研究

食物环境卫生署于2004年进行了一项PAHs研究,收集了多种烧烤肉类的样本,包括烧味(烧肉、叉烧及烧鸭)和肉干(牛肉干及猪肉干),以进行分析。我们发现食物的烹煮温度越高,或食物距离热源越近,其PAHs含量便越高。此外,烧鸭的皮和脂肪部分(外在部分)的PAHs总含量较高;而炭烧食物的PAHs含量高于以气体炉烧烤或电炉烘焗的食物。不过,我们亦发现用电炉烘焗或气体炉烧烤的烧味,其PAHs总含量与外国研究发现的其他食品的含量相若。换言之,用这些方法配制的烧味并非特别高风险食品。

如何减低风险?

我们根据上述研究结果,向业界和消费者作出下列建议,务求减低摄入 PAHs的风险:

给业界的建议

  • 制造「烧味」时,宜选用气体炉烧烤或电炉烘焗,不要用炭炉烧烤。至于肉干,则宜用电炉烤制,不宜用气体炉烧烤;
  • 避免让肉类直接接触火焰,及避免油脂滴在热源上(可在烧烤前先切去肉类上可见的脂肪,以及适当地设计烧烤炉);
  • 尽可能使用最低温度烹煮肉类,及避免过度烹煮。不过,为了杀灭由食物传播的病原体,肉类必须彻底煮熟;以及
  • 烧烤或烘焗肉类前,可预先采用较低温度的烹煮方式(例如用开水煮),把肉类煮至半熟。

给消费者的建议

  • 不宜过量进食烧烤肉类;
  • 避免进食烧焦食物;
  • 多进食蔬果,维持均衡健康的饮食;以及
  • 烧烤前,先切去肉类上可见的脂肪、避免让食物接触火焰及其油脂滴在热源上、烧烤前先把食物煮(例如用开水煮)至半熟。

风险评估组
二零一二年十一月

更多资料

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 14-11-2012