Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Hijiki and Arsenic

Hijiki ( Hijiki photos )

Hijiki is an uncommon kind of seaweed harvested mainly from seas off Japan and Korea. It is generally sold in dry and shredded form (short coarse strips) and is almost black in colour. Because of these appearances, dried hijiki seaweed is physically distinct from other varieties of seaweed such as arame, kombu, wakame and nori. It is commonly used as starter or appetiser in Japanese and Korean cuisines. Hijiki can also be used as an ingredient in salad, soup and vegetarian dishes. Unlike nori seaweed which is usually sold in dried, thin sheets, hijiki is not used in rolling sushi. In Hong Kong, hijiki seaweed is usually sold in Japanese supermarkets and restaurants.

Hijiki may contain arsenic naturally at high levels, especially the more toxic inorganic form. On the other hand, overseas studies show that arsenic contents in other seaweed varieties such as kombu are mainly in the less toxic organic form and the levels are much lower than those found in hijiki. Moreover, one of these studies also reveals that none of the other varieties is found containing detectable level of inorganic arsenic. Based on these findings, seaweed other than the hijiki variety is safe to eat with respect to its arsenic content.

Arsenic

Arsenic is a metalloid present naturally in the earth's crust and is found in trace amounts in rock, soil, water and air. It exists in both organic and inorganic forms in foods. Primary route of exposure in humans to arsenic is mainly through ingestion of foods, especially aquatic foods, which contain relatively high levels of arsenic.

In general, inorganic arsenic is more toxic than the organic form. Exposure to high levels of inorganic arsenic has been linked with gastrointestinal effects, anaemia and liver damage. In 2010, the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) concluded that arsenic in drinking-water causes cancers of the urinary bladder, lung and skin in humans and has classified arsenic as Group 1 agent, i.e. carcinogenic to humans.

In 2010, the Joint Food and Agriculture Organization / World Health Organization Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) determined the inorganic arsenic benchmark dose lower confidence limit for a 0.5% increased incidence of lung cancer in human (BMDL0.5). The BMDL0.5 was computed to be 3.0 μg/kg body weight/day (2-7 μg/kg body weight/day). Therefore, JECFA withdrew the Provisional Tolerable Weekly Intakes (PTWI) of 15 μg/kg body weight/week to inorganic arsenic established in 1989 since the previous PTWI (15 μg/kg body weight/week = 2.1 μg/kg body weight/day) is in the region of BMDL0.5 of 2-7 μg/kg body weight/day .

Local situation

Samples of hijiki taken under the Food Surveillance Programme of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) in November 2004 found that the arsenic levels of the samples exceeded the statutory limits (1.4 ppm (parts per million) of arsenic expressed in As 2O 3) under the Food Adulteration (Metallic Contamination) Regulations made under the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance ((Cap.132) . Offenders upon conviction are liable to a fine of $50,000 and to imprisonment for 6 months. All the products in question have been withdrawn from the market.

Due to the high level of inorganic arsenic present, consumption of a relatively small amount of hijiki can significantly increase the dietary exposure to arsenic. Further safety assessment showed that occasional consumption of small amount of hijiki is unlikely to cause adverse health effect. However, people who are fond of hijiki are at greater risk.

Advice to public

  • To avoid consumption of hijiki and avoid choosing hijiki as food ingredient.
  • To choose foods from markets carefully in particular prepackaged ones by reading their labels to make sure they do not contain hijiki.
  • Except the hijiki variety, there is no need to stop eating other varieties of seaweed as they contain high levels of minerals and trace elements such as iodine that are beneficial to health.

Advice to trade

  • To avoid sourcing hijiki as food ingredient.
  • To check the seaweed supply and its label carefully to ensure it is not hijiki.
  • To avoid using hijiki as ingredient in any kind of foods such as starters, appetisers in Japanese or Korean cuisines, etc, and to use other safe food ingredients as substitutes for hijiki.

 

Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
February 2011

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 07-02-2011

工作项目 >> 食物安全之风险评估 友善列印

羊 栖 菜 ( 海 草 茎 ) 及 砷

羊 栖 菜 ( 海 草 茎 ) ( 羊 栖 菜 ( 海 草 茎 ) 图 片 )

羊栖菜是一种不常见的海藻,主要产自日本及韩国对开的海域。市面出售的羊栖菜一般都是短而粗的干碎条,颜色接近黑色,因此,外形跟黑海带、昆布、裙带菜、紫菜等各类海藻不同。羊栖菜通常作为日本菜或韩国菜的前菜或餐前小吃,也可用来配制沙律、汤或素菜。跟市面出售的紫菜(一般是干及薄片装)不同,羊栖菜不会用作卷寿司。在香港,羊栖菜通常在日式超级市场和食肆出售。

羊栖菜可能天然含有大量的砷,尤其是毒性较高的无机砷。另一方面,外国的研究发现,其他种类的海藻(例如昆布)所含的砷主要是毒性较低的有机砷,而且含量远较羊栖菜的含量为低。其中一项研究更发现在其他种类的海藻中,没有一种检测到含有无机砷。根据这些研究的结果,除羊栖菜外,各类海藻虽然含有砷,但都可安全食用。

砷是准金属物质,天然存在于地壳,石头、泥土、水和空气都有微量的砷。在食物中,砷会以有机及无机形态存在。人类摄入砷的途径,主要是透过进食食物,特别是砷含量较高的水产食物。

一般来说,无机砷的毒性比有机砷高。已证实摄入大量无机砷会引致肠胃不适、贫血和损害肝脏。2010年,国际癌症研究机构的结论指饮用水中的砷会令人类患膀胱癌、肺癌和皮肤癌,并已把砷列为第1组物质(即确定人类致癌物)。

2010年,聯合国糧食及农业组织∕世界卫生组织聯合食品添加剂专家委员会(专家委员会)订定无机砷增加0.5%人类肺癌发生率的基准剂量的可信限下限(BMDL0.5)为每天每公斤体重3.0微克(范围为每天每公斤体重2至7微克)。由于专家委员会在1989年所定的无机砷暂定每周可容忍摄入量(按每公斤体重计算15微克,即每天每公斤体重2.1微克)处于BMDL0.5的范围内(即每天每公斤体重2至7微克),因此专家委员会撤销了之前所定的无机砷暂定每周可容忍摄入量。

香港的情况

食物环境卫生署(食环署)根据食物监察计划,于2004年11月抽取羊栖菜样本化验,发现样本中的砷含量超出根据《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章)订立的《食物搀杂(金属杂质含量)规例》所订的法定限量(百万分之1.4(以三氧化二砷(As2O3)表达))。违例者一经定罪,可处罚款5万元及监禁6个月。有问题的产品已全部回收。

由于羊栖菜的无机砷含量高,进食相对小量的羊栖菜亦会明显地增加从膳食中摄入砷的风险。进一步的安全评估显示偶然进食小量羊栖菜不会影响健康,但爱吃羊栖菜的人风险则较高。

给市民的建议

  • 避免进食羊栖菜及避免选用羊栖菜作为食物配料。
  • 小心选购食物,尤其是预先包装的食物,应仔细阅读包装上的标签,确保食物不含羊栖菜。
  • 除羊栖菜外,无须停止食用其他种类的海藻,因海藻含丰富的有益健康矿物质及微量元素如碘等。

给业界的建议

  • 采购食物配料时,避免选购羊栖菜。
  • 仔细查核海藻来货及其标签,确保货品不是羊栖菜。
  • 避免以羊栖菜配制任何种类的菜式,例如日本菜或韩国菜的前菜或餐前开胃小吃等等,应选用其他安全的食物配料代替羊栖菜。

 

食物安全中心
风险评估组
2011年2月

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 07-02-2011