Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly
Aluminium in Food

Aluminium in Food


Introduction

  1. There have been media reports from time to time about high levels of aluminium being detected in various food products such as fried fritters, doughnuts, steamed bread, leavened snacks, seaweed, jellyfish, etc. The high levels of aluminium in these food items were likely due to the use of aluminium-containing food additives.
  2. Aluminium exposure particularly from food with the use of aluminium-containing food additives, has attracted global attention in recent years. Many international and national authorities have been working towards a lowered dietary exposure of aluminium from food through restricting the use of aluminium-containing food additives or promulgating alternative additives and/or processing techniques in food production.

Nature, Uses and Sources

  1. Aluminium is a silvery-white metal with light weight and is the most abundant metallic element of the earth’s crust.
  2. Aluminium metal has a wide variety of uses including cooking utensils, food packaging such as beverage cans and foil, as well as other industrial uses. Aluminium compounds such as sulphate, phosphate, hydroxide and silicate, have a wide variety of applications including food processing (e.g. food additives), water treatment (e.g. coagulants), consumer products (e.g. antiperspirants) and medicinal products (e.g. antacids).
  3. Aluminium can be present in food at higher levels owing to the use of aluminium-containing food additives, which has been regarded as the main dietary source. Aluminium is also present in food naturally and in drinking water due to its use in water treatment, normally at low levels, or due to the use of aluminium cooking utensils and foil, in which the magnitude of this increase is generally not of practical importance.

Public Health Significance

  1. Aluminium compounds have the potential to affect the development of experimental animals. The neurotoxicity potential for aluminium has attracted particular attention due to a speculated association with Alzheimer’s disease.
  2. According to the scientific opinion published by the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) in July 2008, it was considered that, based on the available scientific data, exposure to aluminium through food did not present a risk for developing Alzheimer’s disease. Similarly, according to the evaluations conducted by the Joint Food and Agriculture Organization/World Health Organization Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) in 2006 and 2011, it was considered that there was minimal information from the epidemiology literature about the association between intake of aluminium in food and neurological conditions, and that no crucial epidemiological studies were available for risk assessment at the time of the evaluation.
  3. At the latest evaluation in 2011, JECFA allocated a Provisional Tolerable Weekly Intake (PTWI) of 2 mg/kg body weight (bw) to all aluminium compounds in food including food additives. PTWI is an estimate of the amount of a chemical that can be ingested over a lifetime without appreciable risk. An intake above the PTWI does not automatically mean that health is at risk. Transient excursion above the PTWI would have no health consequences provided that the average intake over long period is not exceeded as the emphasis of PTWI is a lifetime exposure.

Local Studies

  1. A risk assessment study published by the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) in May 2009 showed that aluminium-containing food additives were widely used in the production of steamed bread/bun/cake, some bakery products such as muffin, pancake/waffle, coconut tart and cake, and jellyfish. The average dietary exposure to aluminium of a 60-kg adult was estimated to be 0.60 mg/kg bw/week, which accounted for 60% of the old PTWI (1 mg/kg bw) established by JECFA in 2006. With reference to the latest PTWI (2 mg/kg bw) established by JECFA in 2011, the average dietary exposure to aluminium would account for 30% of the latest PTWI. The study results indicated that the average dietary exposure was unlikely to cause adverse health effect of aluminium for the general population.
  2. According to the First Hong Kong Total Diet Study Report No. 5 on Metallic Contaminants published by the CFS in January 2013, d ietary exposures to aluminium in average and high consumers of the population were 0.60 mg/kg bw/day and 1.5 mg/kg bw/day which accounted for 30% and 77% of the latest PTWI (2 mg/kg bw) , respectively. On this basis, the general population was unlikely to experience major undesirable health effects of aluminium.

Regulatory Control

  1. Aluminium-containing food additives can be used in food processing as firming agent, raising agent, stabiliser, anticaking agent and colouring matter, etc. and some are permitted to be used in food in many countries such as the United States (US), the European Union (EU), Australia, New Zealand, Japan and Mainland China, etc.
  2. In Hong Kong , according to the Colouring Matter in Food Regulations, the aluminium salts (lakes) of any of the permitted water-soluble colours and aluminium in leaf or powder form solely for external colouring of dragees and decoration of sugar-coated flour confectionery are permitted colouring matters in Hong Kong . As for the other aluminium-containing food additives, there is no specific subsidiary legislation to govern their uses. Nevertheless, the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance stipulates that all food on sale in Hong Kong must be fit for human consumption. In addition, the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations require that if a prepackaged food contains a food additive including aluminium-containing food additive, such additive should be listed in the ingredient list with its specific name or identification number, and its functional class.

Advice to the Public

  1. Maintain a balanced and varied diet so as to avoid excessive exposure to aluminium from a small range of food items.
  2. Make reference to the information in the ingredient list on food label and look for the names of aluminium-containing food additives or their identification numbers (e.g. 520, 521, 522, 523, 541, 554, 555, 556, 559) for making informed choices.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Reduce the use of aluminium-containing food additives in preparing food or replace them with other alternatives as far as possible.
  2. Develop alternative techniques to reduce the use of aluminium-containing food additives during food processing.
  3. Provide accurate information on food labels including specific food additives being used.

 

Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
May 2013

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 31-05-2013

工作项目 >> 食物安全之风险评估 友善列印

食物中的铝

食物中的铝


引言

  1. 传媒时有报导,多种食品的铝含量较高,例如油条、甜圈、蒸包、膨化小食、海带和海蜇等。这些食物含有较高水平的铝主要是因为加入了含铝食物添加剂所致。
  2. 近年,铝的摄入量尤其是从食用加入了含铝食物添加剂的食物,引起了全球的关注。许多国际和国家监管机构正致力透过限制 业界在食品生产中使用含铝食物添加剂或鼓励 业界改用其他替代品及/或加工技术,以降低消费者从食物摄入铝的分量。

铝的性质 、 用途、 来源

  1. 铝是一种重量轻的银白色金属,又是地壳中含量最丰富的金属元素。
  2. 铝金属的用途广泛,包括制造烹饪用具、食品包装物料(如饮品罐和锡纸),以及其他工业用途。铝化合物如硫酸盐、磷酸盐、氢氧化物和矽酸盐可作多种用途,例如食品加工(如食物添加剂)、水质处理(如凝聚剂)、消费品(如止汗剂),还有医药产品(如抗酸剂)。
  3. 食物含有较高水平铝的一个主要原因是加入了含铝食物添加剂,这亦是一般人从食物摄入铝的主要来源。铝天然存在于食物,亦存在于经铝化合物处理过的食水中,但一般含量较低。铝存在于食物中亦可能因为使用铝制烹饪用具和锡纸所致。然而,使用铝制烹饪用具和锡纸以致食物铝含量增加的幅度往往是微乎其微的。

对公众健康的影响

  1. 铝化合物有可能影响实验动物的发育。由于推测铝与老人痴呆症有关,因此,铝可能导致神经系统中毒的问题尤其受到关注。
  2. 根据欧洲食物安全局在二零零八年七月发表的看法,基于现有的科学数据,他们不认为从食物摄入铝会有导致老人痴呆症的风险。同样地,根据联合国粮食及农业组织/世界卫生组织联合食品添加剂专家委员会(专家委员会)于二零零六年及二零一一年进行的评估,认为流行病学文献甚少载述从食物摄入铝与神经状况之间关系的资料,亦没有重要的流行病学研究资料可作为风险评估的基础。
  3. 根据专家委员会于二零一一年进行的最新安全评估,铝(包括食物添加剂)的暂定每周可容忍摄入量定于每公斤体重2毫克的水平。暂定每周可容忍摄入量是指人体终生每周可摄入某一化学物而不致构成显著健康风险的估计分量。摄入量即使超出暂定每周可容忍摄入量,并不表示健康一定会受损。由于暂定每周可容忍摄入量着眼于终生摄入量,因此如果摄入量只是偶然高于暂定每周可容忍的水平而其平均摄入量并非持续不断超出此水平,也不会影响健康。

本地研究

  1. 食物安全中心(中心)于二零零九年五月公布了一项有关食物铝含量的风险评估研究报告,结果显示,在蒸包或蒸糕、一些烘焙食品(如松饼、班戟/窝夫、椰挞和蛋糕)及海蜇的制造和加工过程中,使用含铝食物添加剂的情况非常普遍。体重60公斤的成人平均每周从食物摄入铝的分量,估计为每公斤体重0.60毫克,相等于专家委员会在二零零六年订定的暂定每周可容忍摄入量(每公斤体重1毫克)的60%。但按照专家委员会在二零一一年订定的最新暂定每周可容忍摄入量(每公斤体重2毫克)计算,从食物摄入铝的平均分量则相等于最新暂定每周可容忍摄入量的30%。研究结果显示,含铝食物对一般市民的健康造成不良影响的机会不大。
  2. 中心于二零一三年一月公布了香港首个总膳食研究第五号报告:金属污染物,结果显示,在摄入量一般的市民中,其平均每周从食物摄入铝的分量,估计为每公斤体重0.60毫克,而在摄入量高的市民中则为每公斤体重1.5毫克,分别相等于最新铝的暂定每周可容忍摄入量(每公斤体重2毫克)的30%及77%。因此,一般市民从膳食摄入的铝不大可能对健康带来主要不良影响。

法例规管

  1. 在食品加工过程中,含铝食物添加剂可用作固化剂、膨胀剂、稳定剂、抗结剂和染色料等。有很多国家如美国、欧盟成员国、澳洲、新西兰、日本和中国内地等都准许使用某些含铝食物添加剂。
  2. 在本港,根据《食物内染色料规例》,任何准许可溶于水的色素的铝盐(色淀)及在只供糖衣药丸外用染色及糖衣粉制甜点装饰用的铝箔或铝粉,均属准许染色料。至于其他含铝食物添加剂的使用,本港并没有特定的附属法例规管,但《公众卫生及市政条例》订明,所有在香港售卖的食物都必须适宜人类食用。此外,《食物及药物(成分组合及标签)规例》规定,预先包装食物如含有食物添加剂包括含铝食物添加剂,须在配料表标明其名称或识别编号,以及作用类别。

给市民的建议

  1. 保持均衡及多元化的饮食,以免因偏食几类食品而过量摄入铝。
  2. 查看预先包装食品标签上的配料表,是否标示含铝食物添加剂的名称或识别编号(如520, 521, 522, 523, 541, 554, 555, 556, 559),从而作出有依据的选择。

给业界的建议

  1. 在制造食物时尽可能减少使用含铝食物添加剂或改用其他替代品。
  2. 研究新技术来加工食品,以减少使用含铝食物添加剂。
  3. 提供正确的食物标签资料,包括清楚列明所使用的食物添加剂。

 


食物安全中心
风险评估组
2013年5月

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 31-05-2013