Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Use of Boric Acid and Borax in Food

Use of Boric Acid and Borax in Food

 

Introduction

  1. Boric acid (H 3BO 3) and borax (Na 2B 4O 7‧10H 2O) are both boron-containing compounds which are widely used in a wide range of consumer products such as glass and fire retardants. They have also been used in food preparations to give food a better texture and prolong its shelf life.
  2. Food surveillance findings in the past have revealed that boric acid had been added to food including rice dumplings and root starch jelly as a preservative.

Safety of Boric Acid and Borax

  1. At low concentrations, borax can be converted to boric acid in body prior to absorption.
  2. Boric acid can produce toxic symptoms including vomiting, diarrhoea and abdominal pain in humans upon excessive intake. Animal studies indicate that ingestion of large amount of boric acid may cause adverse reproductive and developmental effects. Testicular lesions and sterility have been observed in experimental animals. For developmental toxicities, decreased fetal body weight as well as malformations of the eyes, the central nervous system, the cardiovascular system and the skeleton have been observed in animal studies. However, there is no evidence that boric acid is genotoxic (toxic to genes) or cancer causing.
  3. The Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) has evaluated the safety of boric acid and borax. It was concluded that these compounds considered not suitable for use as food additive.

Regulatory Control

  1. Boric acid and borax are not permitted preservatives under the Preservatives in Food Regulation of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance, Cap.132.
  2. The sale of food containing boric acid or borax as a preservative is in contravention of Section 3 of the Preservatives in Food Regulation, Cap.132BD. The maximum penalty for contravening this Regulation is $50,000 and imprisonment for 6 months.

Advice to the Public

  1. Obtain food supplies from reliable sources.
  2. Maintain a balanced diet.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Do not use boric acid or borax in food.

 

Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
July 2009

Back  Back to Top
 
2007 copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 28-10-2010

工作项目 >> 食物安全之风险评估 友善列印

在食物中使用硼酸及硼砂

在 食 物 中 使 用 硼 酸 及 硼 砂

 

引言

  1. 硼酸(H3BO3)及硼砂(Na2B4O7•10H2O)均属含硼的化合物,广泛用于多种消费品(例如玻璃、防火品)上,也曾用来配制食物,以增加食物的质感和延长食物的保质期。
  2. 根据过往食物监察记录,曾于粽子、清心丸这些食物中发现硼砂,作为防腐剂用途。

硼酸及硼砂的安全性

  1. 低浓度的硼砂在体内会转化为硼酸,被身体所吸收。
  2. 人类如摄入过量硼酸,身体会出现中毒征状,包括呕吐、腹泻及腹痛。动物研究显示,摄入大量硼酸会令动物的生殖能力及发育受影响。实验动物不但会有睾丸病变,并且会出现不育情况。至于发育方面的毒害,动物研究显示,除动物胎儿的体重下降外,其眼睛、中枢神经系统、心血管系统及骨骼亦会出现畸形。不过,目前没有证据显示硼酸具基因毒性(对基因有害)或会致癌。
  3. 联合国粮食及农业组织∕世界卫生组织联合食品添加剂专家委员会曾评估硼酸及硼砂的食用安全问题,认为这些化合物不适宜用作食物添加剂。

规管

  1. 根据《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章)下订立的《食物内防腐剂规例》,硼酸及硼砂并非准许防腐剂。
  2. 售卖含有硼酸或硼砂作防腐剂的食物,乃违反《食物内防腐剂规例》(第132BD章)第3条的规定。违例者的最高刑罚是罚款5万元及监禁6个月。

给市民的建议

  1. 向可靠的店铺购买食物。
  2. 保持均衡饮食。

给业界的建议

  1. 切勿在食物中加入硼酸或硼砂。

 

食物安全中心
风险评估组
二零零九年七月

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 28-10-2010