Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (98th Issue, September 2014) – Incident in Focus

Ebola Virus Disease and Food Safety

Reported by Dr. Ivan CHONG, Veterinarian,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

On 13 March 2014, the Ministry of Health of Guinea notified the World Health Organization (WHO) of a rapidly evolving outbreak of Ebola virus disease (EVD) in forested areas of south eastern Guinea. The disease has since then spread to other parts of West Africa, causing illnesses and deaths in affected countries. Given the fact that Ebola viruses have previously been detected in animals, there are concerns over the risk of transmission of EVD through animals and animal products to humans. This article aims to explore food safety issues associated with Ebola viruses.

Ebola Viruses

Ebola viruses are a group of viruses that are capable of causing severe illness in human and certain species of animals. There are to date five known species of Ebola viruses and samples taken from the current outbreak in West Africa have been tested positive for a species called Zaire ebolavirus. Fruit bats are considered possible natural hosts for this virus which is believed to be introduced into human population through close contact with the blood, secretions, organs or other bodily fluids of infected wild animals. In Africa the initial cases most likely occurred during hunting, butchering and preparing meat from infected wild animals.

Geographic distribution of EVD outbreaks in human and animals, updated on 7 August 2014 (adapted from World Health Organization).
Geographic distribution of EVD outbreaks in human and animals, updated on 7 August 2014 (adapted from World Health Organization).

Ebola Virus Disease in Humans

EVD in humans is caused by infection of a pathogenic species of Ebola virus. It is a severe and often fatal illness in human. Signs and symptoms of EVD include sudden onset of fever, intense weakness, muscle pain, headache and sore throat, followed by vomiting, diarrhoea, rash, impaired kidney and liver function and sometimes internal and external bleeding. While the initial cases of EVD in the current outbreak are believed to be contracted by handling infected wild animals or carcasses, the majority of cases in humans have occurred as a result of human-to-human transmission through direct or indirect contact with the blood, secretions, organs or other bodily fluids of infected people.

Reston Ebolavirus

Thus far, the Zaire ebolavirus that is responsible for the current EVD outbreak is not known to be endemic outside Africa. However, in the past, another species of Ebola virus known as Reston ebolavirus was detected in Asia in non-human primates and pigs.

Unlike Zaire ebolavirus, human infections with Reston ebolavirus have not been associated with EVD and so far all infected individuals did not develop clinical symptoms. Available evidence suggests that Reston ebolavirus is less capable of causing illness in humans when compared to other Ebola viruses such as Zaire ebolavirus.

Is It Safe to Consume Animal Products?

EVD is not generally transmitted by food. Thorough cooking of food products with core temperature reaching at least 70oC can inactivate Ebola virus. The WHO therefore advises that it is safe to consume food products that are properly prepared and cooked. However, it is important that general principles for good hygiene are observed when preparing raw meat and animal products. Hands should be washed thoroughly with soap before and after handling raw meat and other products of animal origin (e.g. offal, bones, blood etc.). Working surfaces, utensils and equipment that have been in contact with the above should also be cleaned thoroughly before and after use.

Actions Taken by the Centre for Food Safety

The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) will remain vigilant and continue to monitor for the latest development of the current EVD outbreak in Africa. Imported meat must be accompanied by a health certifi cate issued by the competent authority of the exporting country. On the other hand, live animals, including pigs, entering the local slaughterhouses are subject to stringent ante-mortem and post-mortem inspection and only meat from animals that have passed relevant inspections will be allowed to enter the food chain.

Key Points to Note

  • EVD can be introduced into human population during hunting, butchering and preparing meat from infected wild animals.
  • So far, outside Africa, there has been no report of cases of EVD in humans that is associated with the preparation or consumption of meat.
  • It is safe to consume food products that are properly prepared and cooked as Ebola virus is inactivated by thorough cooking.

Advice to the Public

  1. Avoid contact with wild animals when travelling to the affected areas.
  2. Food of animal origin should be thoroughly cooked before consumption.
  3. Wash hands thoroughly with soap before and after handling raw meat and animal products. All working surfaces, utensils and equipment should also be cleaned before and after handling the above products.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Farm and slaughterhouse workers should wear appropriate personal protective equipment such as gloves, masks, boots and aprons. Proper hand washing should be practised.
  2. Unusual occurrence of herds with sick or dying pigs should be reported. Sick or dying pigs, including raw meat, blood and other bodily secretions should be handled and disposed of properly.
  3. IMeat from dead pigs or pigs that did not pass ante-mortem and postmortem inspection should not enter the food chain.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 17-09-2014

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一四年九月第九十八期)-焦点个案

埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒病与食物安全

食物安全中心
风险评估组
庄富杰兽医报告

二零一四年三月十三日,几内亚卫生部向世界卫生组织(世卫)通报,该国东南部丛林地区爆发埃博拉(又称伊波拉)病毒病且快速蔓延。疫情随后扩大至西非各国,造成多宗感染及死亡个案。由于动物身上曾验出埃博拉病毒,令人关注人类会否经由动物及动物制品而染病。本文将探讨与埃博拉病毒有关的食物安全问题。

埃博拉病毒

埃博拉病毒是一组可导致人类和某些动物患上严重疾病的病毒。目前已知的埃博拉病毒有五种,从西非患者身上采集到的诊断样本对其中一种名为萨伊的埃博拉病毒呈阳性反应。果蝠被认为是这种病毒的自然宿主。一般相信萨伊埃博拉病毒是通过密切接触受感染动物的血液、分泌物、器官或其他体液而传到人类。在非洲,最初的患者很可能是在捕猎、屠宰和处理受感染的野生动物的过程中感染了这种病毒。

人类及动物感染埃博拉病毒病在世界各地的疫情分布 (摘自世界卫生组织网页,更新于二零一四年八月七日)
人类及动物感染埃博拉病毒病在世界各地的疫情分布 (摘自世界卫生组织网页,更新于二零一四年八月七日)

人类染上埃博拉病毒病

埃博拉病毒病是经由感染可致病的埃博拉病毒品种所致,是一种严重且死亡率甚高的人类疾病,病征包括突发性发烧、极度虚弱、肌肉疼痛、头痛和咽喉痛。随后会出现呕吐、腹泻、皮疹、肾脏和肝脏功能受损,在某些情况下更会出现内出血和外出血。虽然这次疫情中最初的埃博拉病毒病患者是因处理受感 染或死去的野生动物而染病,但其后大部分病例都是通过人际间传播,而传播途径包括直接或间接接触受感染者的血液、分泌物、器官或其他体液。

雷斯顿埃博拉病毒

直至目前为止,引起这次疫情的萨伊埃博拉病毒的流行范围仅限于非洲地区。但另一种名为雷斯顿的埃博拉病毒则曾在亚洲地区的非人类灵长目动物和猪只身上检测出来。

与萨伊埃博拉病毒不同的是,雷斯顿埃博拉病毒与这次埃博拉病毒病大型疫情无关,而且迄今所有感染雷斯顿埃博拉病毒的患者临床上并没有出现症状。现有的证据显示,与其他埃博拉病毒品种相比,雷斯顿埃博拉病毒对人类的致病性较低。

进食动物产品安全吗?

一般来说,埃博拉病毒病并非由食物传播。把食物彻底煮熟,直至其中心温度达70℃或以上可消灭埃博拉病毒。故世卫指出,进食经正确处理及煮熟的食物是安全的。然而,当处理生的肉类和动物产品时必须遵守基本的卫生守则。在处理生的肉类和其他动物产品(如内脏、骨头、血液等)前后均须洗净双手;所有用作处理上述食物的工作枱面、器皿及设备亦须在使用前后清洗干净。

食物安全中心采取的行动

食物安全中心(中心)会保持警觉,继续密切监察非洲埃博拉病毒病的疫情。输港肉类须附有经认可的主管当局所签发的卫生证明书;在本地屠房屠宰的活生动物(包括猪)在屠宰前及屠宰后都有一套严谨的检验程序,只有检验合格的肉类方可进入本地市场。。

 

注意要点

  • 人类可能因捕猎、屠宰和处理受感染的野生动物而感染埃博拉病毒病。
  • 直至目前为止,在非洲以外的地区并没有出现因处理或进食肉类而感染埃博拉病毒病的个案。
  • 由于埃博拉病毒会在彻底煮熟食物的过程中被消灭,进食经正确处理及煮熟的食物是安全的。

给市民的建议

  1. 如到出现疫情的地区外游,应避免接触野生动物。
  2. 动物产品在食用前应彻底煮熟。
  3. 处理生的肉类和动物产品前后都要用肥皂洗净双手。所有用作处理上述食物的工作枱面、器皿及设备亦须在使用前后清洗干净。

给业界的建议

  1. 在农场和屠房工作的人士应穿着合适的个人保护衣物,例如手套、口罩、胶靴和围裙等,并用正确的方法洗手。
  2. 如有大批猪只不寻常地患病或死亡,须向当局通报。病猪或死猪,包括肉、血和其他体液应妥为处理和销毁。
  3. 死猪或屠宰前及屠宰后未能通过检验的猪只不应流入市场。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 17-09-2014