Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous Article

Food Safety Focus (92nd Issue, March 2014) – Food Incident Highlight

Sulphur Dioxide and Food Allergy

Recently, food surveillance conducted by the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has revealed that several preserved fruits and vegetables samples contained sulphur dioxide at levels exceeding the legal limit. The CFS immediately conducted source tracing, suspended sale of the products and issued warning letters.

Sulphur dioxide is a preservative commonly used in a variety of foods and beverages including dried fruits, pickled vegetables, sausages, fruit and vegetable juices, cider, vinegar, wine, etc. Sulphur residues in food are considered to have low toxicity. However, it may induce allergic reactions such as asthmatic attacks, headache and nausea in susceptible individuals.

Individual sensitive to sulphur dioxide should read food labels carefully every time when shopping for food and look for the names of sulphur dioxide, sulphites and sulphite derivatives or their International Numbering System numbers (220, 221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 226, 227 and 228) on the ingredient list, and avoid all food products containing these compounds. Members of the food trade should comply with the Preservatives in Food Regulation, follow Good Manufacturing Practice and label their products properly.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-03-2014

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页
上一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一四年三月第九十二期)-食物事故点滴

二氧化硫与食物敏感

食物安全中心(中心)最近在食物监察行动中发现几个腌制水果蔬菜样本中的二氧化硫水平超出法例标准。中心立即采取跟进行动,包括追查食物来源,要求有关商户停售有问题食品,以及发出警告信等。

二氧化硫是一种防腐剂,普遍用于干果、腌菜、香肠、蔬果汁、苹果酒、醋和酒类等不同种类的食物和饮料中。虽然残留在食物中的二氧化硫毒性很低,但对二氧化硫敏感的人有可能引起气喘、头痛或恶心等过敏反应。

对二氧化硫有过敏反应的人士在选购食物时应看清楚配料表上是否有二氧化硫、亚硫酸盐及亚硫酸盐衍生物等字样,或有关的国际编码系统编号(220,221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 226, 227及228),切勿选购含有这些化合物的食物。业界在配制食物时须遵照《食物内防腐剂规例》中的规定及奉行优良制造规范,并在食物上加上适当的标签。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期: 19-03-2014