Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus ( 92nd Issue, March 2014 ) – Food Safety Platform

Barbecued Food and Food Safety

Reported by Ms. Ho-yan CHUNG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In the last issue, we discussed some home cooking methods in which water or oil is used as the medium of heat transfer. In this issue, we focus on barbecued food and provide tips to reduce its associated food safety risk.

Barbecued Food

Barbecued food usually refers to food cooked by dry heat methods (cooking without liquid) with a characteristic aroma. Examples of dry heat methods are broiling (involve heating food from heat source above), grilling (involve heating food from heat source below) and roasting (heating food from all sides). Lots of cuisines serve barbecued food, for example Chinese cuisine serves the Cantonese-style barbecued meat called “Siu Mei” and the Western, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese, Turkish and Thai cuisines serve their own style of grilled food such as skewer food.

 Barbecued food prepared by charcoal grilling may contain higher levels of PAHs
Barbecued food prepared by charcoal grilling may contain higher levels of PAHs

Hazards in Barbecued Food

Polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) and heterocyclic amines (HCAs) are the most concerned process contaminants in barbecued food. PAHs and HCAs are two large groups of organic chemicals in which some of them are carcinogenic or probably carcinogenic to humans. Formation of PAHs and HCAs increases as temperatures rise. When food is in direct contact with a flame at temperatures above 200oC, pyrolysis of fats in food generates PAHs. HCAs are formed when components of food proteins, notably creatine/creatinine are exposed to high temperatures. Foods cooked at below 160oC generally have very low or undetectable levels of HCAs.

Barbecued food may contain higher levels of PAHs and HCAs because the cooking temperatures of barbecuing are usually higher than that of common home cooking methods such as boiling and steaming. For example, roasted pork is normally grilled/roasted with medium to high heat (over 330oC), BBQ pork with medium heat (over 220oC) and roasted duck with low to medium heat (160 – 200oC). In addition, unlike other home cooking methods which usually separate food from direct contact with the heat source, barbecue setting/equipment may allow melted fat to drip onto the heat source such as hot charcoal. This will deposit more PAHs on the food surface as the smoke rises. In general, barbecued food prepared by broiling (heat source above the food) may contain less PAHs because it prevents melted fat from dripping onto the heat source. Furthermore, incomplete combustion of fuels like charcoal or wood would generate PAHs. Therefore, barbecued food prepared by charcoal grilling may contain higher levels of PAHs than gas/electric grilling.

Comparison of cooking temperatures and PAHs levels between certain dry-heat and moist-heat cooking methods reported in study conducted by the Centre for Food Safety

Table

Tips to Reduce Risks

The Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) concluded that the level of estimated dietary exposure to PAHs were of low concern for human health but exposure to PAHs should be as low as practicable. Consumers are advised to have a balanced and varied diet, avoid overindulging in barbecued food, not to cook food for too long or at too high temperature and may consider other cooking methods such as boiling and steaming. In addition, JECFA has recommended avoiding contact of foods with flames, and barbecuing food beneath the heat source. Consumers who would like to enjoy barbecued food may choose food types which will generate less PAHs and HCAs. It is reported that more HCAs are present in cooked foods with high muscle (protein) content, such as meat, poultry and fish while very little HCAs are found in other sources of protein (e.g. eggs and tofu). Furthermore, consumer may choose/prepare certain barbecued food with the inedible peel/shell (e.g. sweet potato and corn with peel; bivalve and crustacean with shell) when go barbecuing to prevent deposition of PAHs onto the edible portion.

Apart from the risk of PAHs and HCAs, another food safety concern of barbecued food is microbiological contamination. Although lower cooking temperature and shorter cooking time generate less PAHs and HCAs, food should be cooked thoroughly to destroy foodborne pathogens. Public and the trade are advised to follow 5 Keys to Food Safety when preparing barbecued food.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-03-2014

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一四年三月第九十二期-食物安全平台

烧烤食物与食物安全

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任钟可欣女士报告

上期我们探讨了一些用水或油导热的家居烹调方法,这期将围绕烧烤食物,为大家提供一些减低有关风险的食物安全贴士。

烧烤食物

烧烤食物通常指使用干热方法烹煮的食物。这是一种无液体的烹煮方法,制成品带有独特的香味。烤焙(热源在食物上方)、烧烤(热源在食物下方)和烘焗(热源来自食物的四方八面)都属于这类烹煮方法。烧烤食物是多国菜式的招牌美食,例如中菜中俗称“烧味”的广东式烧烤肉类,各富特色的西式、日本、韩国、越南、土耳其和泰国串烧等。

用炭炉烧烤的食物或含较多PAHs
用炭炉烧烤的食物或含较多PAHs

烧烤食物的危害

烧烤食物最大的健康隐忧来自多环芳香族碳氢化合物(PAHs)及杂环胺(HCAs)这两类在煮食过程中产生的污染物。PAHs和HCAs是两大类有机化学物,其中一些种类已被证实或怀疑具致癌性。煮食温度愈高,所产生的PAHs和HCAs便愈多。当食物表面接触到超过摄氏200度的火焰时,食物中的油脂受热分解便会产生PAHs。另一方面,食物的蛋白质成分,特别是肌酸/肌酸酐在高温烹调时会形成HCAs。而煮食温度低于摄氏160度所产生的HCAs则微乎其微,甚至检测不出。

由于烧烤的温度通常较水煮和蒸等常用的家居烹调方法为高,故烧烤食物可能含较多PAHs和HCAs。举例来说,烧肉一般以中火至高温火(摄氏330度以上)烧烤∕烘焗,叉烧使用中火(摄氏220度以上),烧鸭则多以中慢火(摄氏160度至200度)烧烤/烘焗。此外,其他家居烹调方法一般把食物与热源隔开,而烧烤时的设置/设备则相反,当食物脂肪溶化后滴在热源上(例如炭炉),升起来的烟会把更多的PAHs带到肉面上。一般而言,烤焙(热源在食物上方)而成的烧烤食物所含的PAHs较少,原因是脂肪不会滴在热源上。此外,炭和柴火这类烧烤燃料本身未充分燃烧,也可能会形成PAHs。因此,与用气体炉烧烤或电炉烘焗比较,用炭炉烧烤会产生较多的PAHs。

食物安全中心在研究中对部分干热和湿热烹煮方法的煮食温度与PAHs含量的比较

食物安全中心在研究中对部分干热和湿热烹煮方法的煮食温度与PAHs含量的比较

减低风险的贴士

联合国粮食及农业组织/世界卫生组织联合食物添加剂专家委员会(专家委员会)认为人类从膳食摄入PAHs的估计分量对健康影响不大。但我们仍应尽可能减低PAHs的摄入量。消费者应保持均衡及多元化饮食,切勿进食过多烧烤食物。烧烤时亦不宜时间过长或温度过高,应尽量改用水煮或蒸等烹调方式。另外,专家委员会建议烧烤时应避免食物接触到火焰,而且热源最好处于上方。嗜吃烧烤食物的消费者可选择产生较少PAHs和HCAs的食物。据报肌肉组织(蛋白质)较多的食物,例如肉类、家禽和鱼类在煮好后检出较多HCAs,而其他含蛋白质的食物(例如蛋和豆腐)只含极少分量的HCAs。此外,消费者可选择烧烤外皮不能吃的食物(例如蕃薯、带皮的粟米、双贝类及未剥壳的甲壳类海产),因为外皮可防止PAHs渗入食用部位。

除了PAHs和HCAs外,烧烤食物的另一个食物安全隐忧是微生物污染。虽然用较低温度烧烤肉类及缩短烹煮时间,可以减少PAHs和HCAs的产生,但肉类仍须彻底煮熟,以杀灭致病原。市民和业界在烧烤食物时应遵循食物安全五要点

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期: 19-03-2014