Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (91st Issue, February 2014) – Food Incident Highlight

Food Safety Practices in Preparing Poultry and Poultry Eggs

Last month, samples of live poultry imported to Hong Kong from Foshan City of Guangdong Province were tested positive for H7 avian influenza (AI) virus. Contingency measures, including immediate suspension of import and sale of live poultry for at least 21 days and culling of live poultry, were implemented immediately to halt the virus from spreading to the community, thereby greatly reducing the risk of AI.

The World Health Organization considers that it is safe to consume properly prepared and cooked meat, including poultry and game birds, since viruses could be inactivated by normal cooking temperatures (i.e. with centre temperature at or above 70oC). The public is advised to cook poultry and poultry eggs thoroughly making sure that the meat is not pink and egg yolks are not runny.

Nevertheless, food handlers are reminded to take precautionary measures to prevent cross contamination. Food handlers should wash hands thoroughly with soap after handling poultry and poultry eggs, use good hygienic practices in food preparation, and maintain good hygiene in kitchen area.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-02-2014

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点二零一四年二月第九十一期-食物事故点滴

烹制家禽及禽蛋的食物安全措施

上月,一批来自广东省佛山市的活家禽样本对H7禽流感病毒呈阳性反应。为防止病毒进入社区,从而减低禽流感的风险,当局即时采取应变措施,包括立即暂停进口和售卖活家禽21天,以及销毁活家禽。

世界卫生组织指出,肉类(包括家禽和野禽)经适当处理和烹煮后可安全食用,原因是正常的煮食温度(肉类中心温度最少达摄氏70度)可使流感病毒失去活性。市民应把家禽和禽蛋彻底煮熟,确保肉色不再呈粉红色,蛋黄已经凝固。

不过,食物处理人员应紧记采取预防措施,提防交叉污染。处理家禽和禽蛋后,要用肥皂彻底洗净双手;在配制食物的过程中遵守良好的卫生规范;并保持厨房范围清洁卫生。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期:19-02-2014