Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (89th Issue, December 2013) – Incident in Focus

Reduction of Trans Fat in Foods

Reported by Mr. Nicky HO, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Last month, the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) announced its preliminary determination that partially hydrogenated oils (PHOs), the primary dietary source of artificial trans fatty acids (TFA) in processed foods, are not “generally recognized as safe” for use in foods. The announcement has revived interest over the regulatory control of TFA level in foods. This article discusses the actions on TFA in different countries and places.

What is the Significance of the Determination?

If the determination is finalised, this would mean that food manufacturers would no longer be permitted to sell PHOs, either directly or as ingredients in another food product, without US FDA’s prior approval for use as a food additive. The US FDA has opened a 60-day period for public consultation on the determination.

Public Health Concern of TFA

TFA are unsaturated fat that are mainly formed during the partial hydrogenation of vegetable oils for producing the semi-solid and solid fats that are widely used in food products (e.g. margarines, pastries). Hydrogenation is the process by which hydrogen atoms are added to unsaturated sites on the carbon chains of fatty acids. In principle, fully hydrogenated oil should contain no TFA since all the fatty acids will be saturated. TFA are also present naturally in milk and fats of sheep and cattle but only at low levels.

TFA can increase the risk of coronary heart disease by not only raising the level of low density lipoprotein cholesterol (the harmful cholesterol), but also reducing the high density lipoprotein cholesterol (the beneficial cholesterol). The World Health Organization (WHO) and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations have recommended that diets should provide a very low intake of TFA, in practice, this implies an intake of less than 1% of daily energy intake. Nonetheless, the WHO is reviewing the current recommendation to further lower the population intake of TFA. In addition, the US Institute of Medicine has recommended that TFA intakes should be kept as low as possible while consuming a nutritionally adequate diet.

Actions on TFA in Overseas Countries

Some food/health authorities have called for actions on TFA, which are generally classified into labelling of TFA and limiting the amount of TFA in foods. Several countries/places such as Canada, the USA and Taiwan require mandatory nutrition labels with TFA declared. In Australia, New Zealand and Malaysia, although nutrition labelling is mandatory, TFA declaration is required only if a nutrition claim is made in respect of fatty acids and other nutrients.

Use nutrition labels to choose prepackaged foods with lower total fat, saturated fat and trans fat content.
Use nutrition labels to choose prepackaged foods with lower total fat, saturated fat and trans fat content.

Some food/health authorities attempt to restrict the use of TFA in various types of food products at different levels. For example, New York City in the USA prohibits food containing partially hydrogenated vegetable oils, shortenings or margarines with more than 0.5g TFA per serving to be stored, used, or served by food service establishments. In Singapore, it requires all pre-packed edible fats and oils to contain no more than 2g TFA per 100g product. However, at present, banning of TFA in food is not imposed by any countries/places and there is no international consensus on the restriction of TFA.

Local Situation

Hong Kong is one of the first few places in the world that requires the declaration of TFA content on nutrition labels. The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has also formulated guidelines to encourage the trade to reduce TFA level in foods and, at the same time, conducted a series of studies to track the TFA contents in local foods. The latest study revealed that there has been a large reduction in the average TFA contents (27-70% reduction) in four food categories that had been found in previous studies to contain relatively higher levels of TFA (i.e. cakes; egg tart, pie and pastry; bread; and other bakery products), reflecting the positive effect of the trade in reducing TFA level in their products. The CFS will continue to monitor the international development and keep working with the food trade to further lower the TFA level in foods.

Concern on Replacement of TFA with Saturated Fatty Acids (SFA)

The announcement from the US FDA has also aroused the concern on the replacement of TFA with oil high in SFA (e.g. palm oil, coconut oil) in foods. SFA can increase the risk of developing heart diseases by raising the level of low density lipoprotein cholesterol. From our latest study, it was noted that the TFA contents in some individual samples have reduced dramatically whilst a similar SFA contents have been maintained, reflecting that the reduction in TFA without raising the SFA contents in foods is practically feasible.

Key Points to Note:

  • TFA can increase the risk of coronary heart disease.
  • TFA intakes should be kept as low as possible.
  • Reduction in TFA without raising the SFA contents in foods is practically feasible.

Advice to the Public

  1. Maintain a balanced diet and keep TFA intake as low as possible.
  2. Use nutrition labels to choose prepackaged foods with lower total fat, saturated fat and trans fat content.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Reduce TFA level in foods. Food manufacturers can make reference to the CFS’s Trade Guidelines on Reducing Trans Fat in Food and Trade Guidelines for Reducing Sugars and Fats in Foods to formulate foods with lower fat content.
  2. The ingredients used should be clearly declared for prepackaged foods and should not be misleading.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 18-12-2013

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一三年十月第八十期)-焦点个案

减少食物中的反式脂肪

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任何国伟先生报告

美国食物及药物管理局上月初步裁定部分氢化油不再是“普遍认为安全”的食品原料。以部分氢化油制成的加工食品是我们从食物摄取反式脂肪酸的主要来源。这项宣布令食物中反式脂肪酸含量的规管问题再次成为热话。本文将阐述世界各地就反式脂肪酸采取的措施。

这项决定有何意义?

如果这项初步裁定最终成为定案,今后部分氢化油将被视为食物添加剂,除非获得美国食物及药物管理局批准,否则食物生产商不得直接售卖或用作食物原料。美国食物及药物管理局已就有关裁定展开60天公众谘询。

反式脂肪酸对市民健康的影响

反式脂肪酸是植物油氢化过程中产生的一种不饱和脂肪酸。植物油经部分氢化后制成半固体及固体状脂肪,广泛应用于各种食物(如人造牛油和酥皮饼点等)。所谓氢化过程就是把氢原子加到脂肪酸碳链不饱和的位置。理论上,完全氢化的油因为所有脂肪酸均已饱和,故不应含有反式脂肪酸。奶类和牛羊的脂肪也含有少量天然反式脂肪酸。

反式脂肪酸会提高低密度脂蛋白胆固醇(即坏胆固醇)浓度,并使高密度脂蛋白胆固醇(即好胆固醇)浓度下降,从而增加罹患冠心病的风险。世界卫生组织和联合国粮食及农业组织建议,反式脂肪酸的膳食摄入量应为极低,实际上应少于每日所需能量的1%。不过,世界卫生组织现正检讨有关指引,打算建议进一步减少反式脂肪酸的摄入量。此外,美国国家医学研究院建议在日常膳食中摄取足够营养的情况下,反式脂肪酸的摄入量应愈少愈好。

海外国家就反式脂肪酸采取的行动

有食物/卫生机构已针对反式脂肪酸采取行动,主要是要求在标签上加上反式脂肪酸的资料,以及限制食物中反式脂肪酸的含量。美国、加拿大和台湾几个国家/地区强制规定在营养标签上标示反式脂肪酸含量。澳洲、新西兰和马来西亚虽然强制规定食物必须附有营养标签,但除非作出关于脂肪酸和其他营养素的营养声称,否则毋须列明反式脂肪酸含量。

善用营养标签上的资料,选购总脂肪、饱和脂肪酸和反式脂肪酸含量较低的预先包装食物。
善用营养标签上的资料,选购总脂肪、饱和脂肪酸和反式脂肪酸含量较低的预先包装食物。

此外,有些食物/卫生机构尝试在不同层面限制反式脂肪酸在各种食品中的使用。例如,美国纽约市禁止食肆贮存、使用或出售每食用分量含超过0.5克反式脂肪酸并含有部分氢化植物油、起酥油或人造牛油的食物。新加坡规定每100克的预先包装食用油脂不可含有超过2克的反式脂肪酸。但现时没有国家/地区完全禁止食物含反式脂肪酸,而国际间对反式脂肪酸的规管亦无共识。

本港情况

香港是全球率先规定在营养标签上列明反式脂肪酸含量的地区之一。食物安全中心(中心)一方面制定指引,鼓励业界减少食物中的反式脂肪酸含量,另一方面进行一系列研究,了解本港食物中的反式脂肪酸含量。最新的研究结果显示,以往研究中反式脂肪酸含量较高的四大类别食物(西饼/蛋糕类;蛋挞、批及酥皮类;面包类;以及其他烘焙食物类)在这次研究中的反式脂肪酸平均含量有大幅下降趋势(下降了27至70%),反映出业界在减低食物中反式脂肪酸含量的成果。中心会继续留意国际间发展,与业界携手进一步减少食物中的反式脂肪酸含量。

以饱和脂肪酸取代反式脂肪酸的忧虑

美国食物及药物管理局的宣布亦令市民担忧食物生产商会以含丰富饱和脂肪酸的油类(例如棕榈油和椰油)取代食物中的反式脂肪酸。饱和脂肪酸会增加人体内的低密度脂蛋白胆固醇,增加患心脏病的风险。是次研究发现个别样本的反式脂肪酸含量大为降低而其饱和脂肪酸含量则相若,反映出减少食物中的反式脂肪酸而不增加饱和脂肪酸是切实可行的。

注意要点:

  • 反式脂肪酸会增加罹患冠心病的风险。
  • 反式脂肪酸的摄入量应愈少愈好。
  • 减少食物中的反式脂肪酸而不增加饱和脂肪酸是切实可行的。

给市民的建议

  1. 保持饮食均衡,反式脂肪酸的摄入量应愈少愈好。
  2. 善用营养标签上的资料,选购总脂肪、饱和脂肪酸和反式脂肪酸含量较低的预先包装食物。

给业界的建议

  1. 减少食物中的反式脂肪酸含量。食物制造商可参考中心编制的《减少食物中反式脂肪业界指引》及《降低食物中糖和脂肪含量的业界指引》,生产脂肪含量较低的食物。
  2. 清楚标示预先包装食物所含的配料,不得有误导成分
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期: 18-12-2013