Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly


Food Safety Focus (54th Issue, January 2011) – Incident in Focus

Hepatitis E Virus in Food

Reported by Dr. Ken CHONG, Scientific Officer
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

At the end of last year, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) reported the link between human hepatitis E cases and hepatitis E virus (HEV) in pig livers, possibly through foodborne transmission of HEV. In recent years, Hong Kong witnessed a rising trend of hepatitis E and in 2010 recorded 117 cases, the highest number of hepatitis E cases ever notified in a year. In this issue, we would talk about the virus and the risk in food.

Hepatitis E

Hepatitis E is the inflammation of liver caused by HEV. Symptoms include fever, malaise, anorexia, nausea, abdominal pain, dark urine and jaundice. The disease is generally self-limiting and resolves within two weeks; however, it can cause serious complications in some high risk populations, i.e. pregnant women, patients with pre-existing chronic liver disease, and elderly. The mortality rates for pregnant mothers and individuals with pre-existing chronic liver disease are reported to be high. Older people seem to be relatively more susceptible to hepatitis E.

Occurrence of Hepatitis E

HEV is primarily transmitted via the faecal-oral route, where contaminated water or food has been implicated in major outbreaks. Due to poor environmental sanitation, hepatitis E is common in developing countries. In most industrialised countries, the disease is rare and mostly occurs in travellers returning from endemic areas. However, there has been an increase in cases not related to travel in developed countries. It is not known whether these cases were caused by inadequately cooked food such as shellfish and pig offal which are documented possible food sources for HEV.

Outside surface done does not mean deeper portion is thoroughly cooked
Outside surface done does not mean deeper portion is thoroughly cooked

Foodborne Transmission of HEV

HEV has been found in pig populations across the world and in commercial pig livers in Japan, United States, and Netherlands. Locally, the CFS collected samples from slaughterhouse in 2009 and found that around 30% of roaster pigs (around 4 months old), but none of porker pigs (around 6 months old), which contribute to around 2% and 98% of total admission of live pigs from the Mainland respectively, were positive for HEV. More importantly, genetic homology, i.e. same gene partial sequences, was identified between some HEV isolates from pigs and current and past human cases. This suggests that some of the HEV isolates may have been present locally for a period of time and inadequately cooked pig livers could be one possible source for hepatitis E in Hong Kong.

Since many isolates from human cases were not matched with those from pigs, other possible sources may exist. Bivalve shellfish, which feeds by filtering out the seawater, tends to concentrate viruses, including HEV, present in the polluted water in the process. Although previous studies in Hong Kong did not show shellfish as a significant source for HEV, shellfish is a recognised potential source for foodborne viruses including HEV. In addition, there have been reports on transmission of hepatitis E by blood transfusion, and on the potential of occupational exposure to HEV in people like pig farmers and veterinarians.

Prevention

Comparing to vegetative bacteria, foodborne viruses are generally more resistant to heat. In addition, persistence of the viruses may be different in different food substrates, e.g. hepatitis A virus in bivalve molluscs needs more stringent conditions than the virus in milk for the same level of inactivation. Heat treatment usually recommended (i.e. cooking to an internal temperature of 75°C for 30 seconds) to food safety may not be adequate for some virus-food combinations. More stringent time and temperature combinations are required.

For taste and other sensory reasons, inadequately cooked pig livers are preferred by some consumers. To prevent hepatitis E, food trade and consumers should cook food thoroughly, especially during hotpot or congee cooking. For sliced pig liver, depending on thickness and quantity, boil at 100°C or stir-fry in hot skillet/wok for at least three to five minutes. Heating to an internal temperature of 90°C for 90 seconds is required for cooking of molluscan shellfish; hence, boil at 100°C until their shells open; boil for additional three to five minutes afterwards. In addition, food trade and consumers are also advised to observe good personal and food hygiene practices. Consumers could ask for thoroughly cooked food when eating out, this is particularly important for high risk populations.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Hepatitis E virus generally causes self-limiting disease, but can cause serious complications in some high risk populations.
  2. Inadequately cooked pig livers could be one possible source for local hepatitis E.
  3. Cook food thoroughly to prevent hepatitis E, especially during hotpot or congee cooking.

Advice to Public

  • Make sure pig livers and molluscan shellfish are well cooked before consumption.
  • Use separate utensils for handling raw food and ready-to-eat food to avoid cross contamination during hotpot.

Advice to Trade

  • Slice raw meat and offal into thin strips to allow thorough cooking, especially those for hotpot or congee cooking.
  • Provide separate utensils for handling raw food and ready-to-eat food to avoid cross contamination during hotpot.

Further Information

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21-01-2011

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

食物安全焦点(二零一一年一月第五十四期) - 焦点个案

食 物 中 的 戊 型 肝 炎 病 毒

食物安全中心风险评估组
科学主任庄梓杰博士报告

去年年底,食物安全中心(中心)发表报告,指本地人类戊型肝炎个案与猪肝中的戊型肝炎病毒有关,病毒可能经食物途径传播。近年,本港戊型肝炎个案有上升趋势,二零一零年录得117宗个案,为历来最高的呈报数字。今期我们将会探讨戊型肝炎病毒及食物中的相关风险。

戊型肝炎

戊型肝炎是由戊型肝炎病毒引起的肝脏发炎,症状包括发烧、不适、食欲不振、恶心、腹痛、小便呈茶色和黄疸。患者一般会自行痊愈,症状会于两周内消退,但孕妇、慢性肝病患者和长者三类高危羣组可能会出现严重并发症。有报告指,孕妇和慢性肝病患者感染戊型肝炎的死亡率较高。年长者似乎较容易感染戊型肝炎。

戊型肝炎感染

戊型肝炎主要经粪-口途径传播,而受污染的水或食物过去曾导致较大规模的爆发。由于环境卫生欠佳,戊型肝炎常见于发展中国家。在发达国家个案较少,而以往的患者多数曾前往戊型肝炎流行地区。不过,近年发现与外游无关的戊型肝炎感染个案在已发展国家有增多趋势,一般怀疑与进食没有彻底煮熟的食物有关,例如文献记载可能会传播戊型肝炎病毒的介贝类水产和猪内脏。

文锦渡食品管制办事处
表面已熟的猪肝不代表内部已彻底煮熟

戊型肝炎病毒经食物传播的途径

戊型肝炎病毒在世界各地的猪只和日本、美国及荷兰的猪肝商品中亦有发现。在本港,中心在二零零九年从屠房抽取样本进行戊型肝炎病毒测试,结果发现占内地输港活猪总数约2%的烧种猪(约四月龄)中约有30%呈阳性反应,而占内地输港活猪总数约98%的肉猪(约六月龄)则全部没有验出戊型肝炎病毒。较重要的一点是,从猪只检出的部分病毒分离株与现有及过去人类感染个案检出的病毒分离株出现基因同源性,即比对基因部分序列相同;这表示部分戊型肝炎病毒分离株可能已在本港存在一段时间,而未彻底煮熟的猪肝可能是本港戊型肝炎个案的其中一个感染源。

由于从人类感染个案检出的多株分离株与猪只检出的分离株不同,故可能仍有其他潜在感染源。双壳介贝类水产以过滤海水的方法觅食,所以体内容易积聚受污染海水中的病毒,包括戊型肝炎病毒。虽然以往的本港研究没有表明介贝类水产是戊型肝炎病毒的主要感染源,但介贝类水产一向是食源性病毒包括戊型肝炎病毒的潜在感染源。此外,亦有报告指戊型肝炎可经输血传播,猪农和兽医亦可能因职业而接触到戊型肝炎病毒。

预防之道

相对于细菌繁殖体,食源性病毒一般有较高的抗热能力。此外,食源性病毒在不同食物基质中的存活时间各异,例如甲型肝炎病毒在双壳介贝类水产中较在奶类中需要更严格的条件才达到相同的灭活效果。一般建议可确保食物安全的热处理方法(即把食物烹煮至内部温度达摄氏75度并维持30秒)在某些病毒与食物的组合情况下未必足够,需有更严格的时间和温度要求。

因为味道等感官原因,有些消费者较爱吃未彻底煮熟的猪肝。为预防戊型肝炎,食物处理人员及消费者应彻底煮熟食物,特别是火锅和生滚粥。至于切片猪肝,应视乎厚度和分量以沸水烹煮或热煎锅/镬炒最少3至5分钟。由于双壳介贝类水产需加热到中心温度达摄氏90度并维持90秒,因此应用沸水烹煮至外壳打开,然后再煮3至5分钟。此外,食物处理人员和消费者亦应保持良好的个人及食物卫生习惯。如外出用膳,消费者可要求食肆必须彻底煮熟食物,高危羣组需特别留意这一点。


注意要点:

  1. 戊型肝炎的患者一般会自行痊愈,但部分高危羣组可能会出现严重并发症。

  2. 未彻底煮熟的猪肝可能是本港戊型肝炎个案的其中一个感染源。

  3. 为预防戊型肝炎,必须彻底煮熟食物,特别是火锅和生滚粥。

给市民的建议
  • 确保猪肝和双壳介贝类水产彻底煮熟才进食。
  • 在享用火锅时,使用两套用具,分开处理生和即食的食物,以免交叉污染。
给业界的建议
  • 把生的肉类和内脏切成薄片,以加快受热的速度,尤其是用于火锅和生滚粥的肉类和内脏。
  • 为享用火锅的顾客提供两套用具,分开处理生和即食的食物,以免交叉污染。
更多资料

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 21-01-2011