Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (44th Issue, March 2010) – Food Safety Platform

Sugar Substitutes - Sweeteners

Reported by Ms. Janny MA, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

Sugar is an ingredient that we love and hate. We love it as it provides sweetness to our food. We hate it as getting too much sugar may lead to excessive energy intake, increasing the risk of overweight and obesity. In order to eat less sugar but still enjoy sweet tasting food, some are going for the “ sugar free ” or “ no sugar ” options. Taking a closer look at the ingredient list of these products, you may find that sweeteners instead of sugar are being used. From this issue, we will move to a new series and savour these sweet tasting sugar substitutes – sweeteners.

What are Sweeteners?

Sweeteners are food additives, other than sugars, which impart a sweet taste to a food. Many of us may consider that all sweeteners are artificial chemicals; however, some are in fact naturally occurring plant extracts. Under local law, sweetener means any chemical compound which is sweet to the taste, but does not include any sugars or other carbohydrates or polyhydric alcohols i.e. sugar alcohols.

You may wonder why a tiny sachet of commercial table-top sweetener (about one gram) can provide sweetness equivalent to about two teaspoons of sugar (one teaspoon of sugar weighs about five grams). It is because, in general, sweeteners have intense sweetness, usually tens to thousands times sweeter than table sugar (Table 1). They can thus be used at a much lower concentration to provide sweetness in foods. You may even not know that commercial table-top sweeteners seldom contain pure sweeteners and may contain other ingredients e.g. lactose and dextrose as fillers. Sweetener itself may only contribute to less than 10 percent by weight. Moreover, these fillers may provide traces of energy and sweet taste to the product.

Table 1. Relative sweetness of some sweeteners

Name of sweetener

(INS* No.)

Approximate sweetness

(Relative to table sugar = 1)

Acesulfame potassium (950)

200

Alitame (956)

2000

Aspartame (951)

180

Cyclamate (952)

30

Saccharin (954)

300

Sucralose (955)

600

Thaumatin (957)

2000-3000

* International Numbering System for Food Additives


1 g of aspartame is as sweet as 180g of table sugar

What makes sweeteners even more powerful is the extra sweetness enhancement property when certain sweeteners are mixed together. For instance, by mixing aspartame and acesulfame potassium at 2:1 ratio, the resulting sweetness is no longer some 180 but about 350 times greater than table sugar! It is therefore common to use more than one type of sweeteners in a food product.

In addition, sweeteners do not contain much energy nor affect insulin or glucose levels. They may assist in weight management and provide sweet tasting foods for people with diabetes.

Applications of Sweeteners

Sweeteners have been used to replace sugars in a wide range of products such as soft drinks, preserved fruits, confectioneries and chewing gums. Many sweet tasting products marketed as “ sugar free ” or “ no sugar ” may contain sweeteners. You can always check if sweeteners are present in a prepackaged food by looking at the ingredient list. The functional class i.e. sweetener together with its specific name or identification number have to be labelled if any of the sweeteners are used in the product.


The ingredient list of a beverage containing a spartame (951) and acesulfame potassium (950)

However, sweeteners cannot always simply replace sugar in food production as sugar may also perform other functions e.g. contribute to the texture of the products. Some sweeteners may also not be suitable for use under high temperatures e.g. for baking.

Safety of Sweeteners

Like other food additives, sweeteners have been thoroughly assessed for safety by international authority i.e. the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) before approved for use. The CFS has also conducted risk assessment studies to ensure the normal consumption of foods containing sweeteners would not pose any adverse health effects to the general population.

The cancer-causing concern of sweeteners has once arisen when early studies revealed that cyclamate and saccharin caused bladder cancer in experimental animals. However, subsequent studies indicated that there is no clear evidence demonstrating the association between sweeteners and cancer in humans.

Nevertheless, it is noted that a very small proportion of the population may experience adverse effects due to the consumption of specific permitted sweetener i.e. aspartame. Patients suffered from an inherited disease phenylketonuria (PKU) are advised not to consume aspartame because they are unable to metabolise the amino acid phenylalanine effectively, leading to the accumulation of potentially harmful levels and can cause serious brain damage. People who are sensitive to particular sweeteners are advised to check the ingredient list to identify their presence and avoid them.

In the coming issues, we are going to talk about two relatively new sweeteners, neotame and steviol glycosides.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-03-2010

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印

食物安全焦点(二零一零年三月第四十四期)-食物安全平台

代糖 - 甜味剂

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任马嘉明女士报告

糖是一种叫人又爱又恨的配料;爱它,因为糖能为食物提供甜味;恨它,因为吃太多糖可能会摄入过多能量,因而增加超重和患肥胖症的风险。为了减少吃糖但仍可享用甜食,有些人会选择“不含糖”或“无糖”食品。当仔细看看这些产品的成分表,大家可能会发现产品使用了甜味剂来代替糖。由今期起,我们将会推出以甜味剂为主题的全新系列文章,细味这些甜丝丝的代糖。

甜味剂是什么?

甜味剂是糖以外另一种可为食物添加甜味的食物添加剂。许多人可能以为甜味剂全都是人工化学物,但其实有些甜味剂是天然的植物提取物。根据本港法例,甜味剂指任何带甜味的化合物,但不包括糖或其他碳水化合物或多羟醇(即糖醇)。

大家可能会问,为什么一包小小的商业用餐桌甜味剂(约1克)就能提供相等约两茶匙糖(一茶匙糖约重5克)所产生的甜味?这是因为甜味剂一般具有强烈的甜度,通常比砂糖甜数十至数千倍(表一),因此使用极小分量便可为食物带来甜味。大家或许不知道,商业用餐桌甜味剂很少单纯只有甜味剂,还可能含有乳糖及葡萄糖等其他配料作为填充剂,而甜味剂本身按重量计算可能只占少于10%。再者,这些填充剂可能会为产品提供少许能量和甜味。

表一. 不同甜味剂的相对甜度

甜味剂名称

(食物添加剂国际编码系统编号)

大约甜度

(砂糖的相对甜度 = 1)

醋磺内酯钾 (950)

200

缩二氨酸基酰胺 (956)

2000

天冬酰胺 (951)

180

环己基氨基磺酸 (952)

30

糖精 (954)

300

三氯半乳蔗糖 (955)

600

索马甜 (957)

2000-3000


1克天冬酰胺的甜度相等于180克砂糖

混合使用甜味剂会令甜度加倍提高,这种特性可令甜味剂发挥更大威力;举例来说,如按2:1的比例混合使用天冬酰胺和醋磺内酯钾,可产生的甜度便不再是砂糖的180多倍,而是大约350倍!因此,业界通常会在一种食品中使用超过一种甜味剂。

此外,甜味剂不会提供大量能量和影响胰岛素或血糖水平,因此可有助控制体重和为糖尿病患者提供甜食。

甜味剂的应用

甜味剂在汽水、干果、甜点和口香胶等多种食物中代替糖使用。许多市面上出售的“不含糖”或“无糖”甜味食物可能含有甜味剂。大家可查看成分表,便能得知预先包装食物是否含有甜味剂。如产品使用了任何甜味剂,必须标示其作用类别(即甜味剂)及确实名称或识别编号。


一款含有天冬酰胺(951)和醋磺内酯钾(950)的饮品的成分表

不过,甜味剂不能在食物生产过程中完全取代糖,因为糖还可发挥其他作用,例如为产品带来质感。此外,部分甜味剂亦不适合用于烤焗等高温过程。

甜味剂的安全问题

一如其他食物添加剂,联合国粮食及农业组织/世界卫生组织联合食物添加剂专家委员会这个国际机构会对甜味剂作出全面的安全评估,然后才获准使用。此外,食物安全中心已进行风险评估研究,确保正常进食含有甜味剂的食物不会损害一般人的健康。

有些早期研究显示,环己基氨基磺酸和糖精会令实验动物患膀胱癌,故甜味剂的致癌问题一度惹人关注。不过,其后有研究指,并无具体证据证明甜味剂与人们患癌有关。

不过,有极少数的人可能会因进食天冬酰胺这种经准许甜味剂而影响健康。患有苯丙酮酸尿症这种遗传疾病的人由于身体不能有效分解苯丙氨酸这种氨基酸,以致积聚至可能影响健康的水平,令脑部严重受损,故他们不应进食天冬酰胺。我们建议对个别甜味剂敏感的人士应查看成分表,以识别和回避这些甜味剂。

我们将会在未来两期介绍两种较新的甜味剂 —— 纽甜及甜菊醇糖苷。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 19-03-2010