Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (32nd Issue, March 2009) – Food Safety Platform

Nutrient and Health – Fats

Reported by Ms. Jacqueline FUNG, Scientific Officer
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

Previously, we introduced protein and carbohydrates; in this issue, we will take a look at the last macronutrient – fat, which belongs to a class of nutrients called lipid.

We often refer triglyceride as fat in our daily life. In fact, ninety-eight percent of dietary fat is in the form of triglyceride. Triglyceride has a glycerol as the backbone with three fatty acids attached. Fatty acids exist in different chemical structures. Due to the uniqueness in structures, different fats exhibit different properties and in turn have dissimilar health effects.

Saturated, Monounsaturated or Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids

By the number of double bonds in fatty acids, we classify them as saturated, monounsaturated or polyunsaturated fatty acids. A saturated fatty acid (SFA) has no double bond, monounsaturated fatty acid (MUFA) has one double bond, whereas polyunsaturated fatty acid (PUFA) has two or more double bonds. It is believed that the number of double bonds in fatty acids is inversely related to the risk of cardiovascular diseases. As such, saturated fats, with no double bond, are associated with higher risk of heart diseases.

In general, most animal fats have higher percentage of saturated fatty acids and they tend to be in solid state at room temperatures. On the other hand, olive and canola oils are rich in monounsaturated fatty acids, whereas corn, soybean, peanut and fish oils are rich in polyunsaturated fatty acids. Fats that have higher percentage of mono- and/or polyunsaturated fatty acids (except those undergone hydrogenation) tend to be in liquid state at room temperatures.

Both essential fatty acids, α -linolenic acid and linoleic acid, are polyunsaturated fatty acids. Metabolism in the body produces longer chain fatty acids, such as docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) from α -linolenic acid and arachidonic acid (ARA) from linoleic acid.

Cis or Trans Fatty Acids

The term “cis” and “trans” describe the positions of the two hydrogen atoms located next to the carbon atoms where the double bond exists. Cis fatty acid has both hydrogen atoms located on the same side. On the contrary, trans fatty acid has the two hydrogen atoms on opposite sides. Fatty acids with cis configuration are typical in natural foods. Most of the trans fatty acids are formed during the process of hydrogenation of vegetable oils. Trans fatty acids are not essential and have no known health benefit. In fact, similar to saturated fatty acids, they may increase the risk of heart diseases. For more on trans fat, please look up previous Food Safety Focus articles on trans fat.

Functions and Intake of Fat

Fat is the concentrated source of energy (1g of fat = 9kcal). Besides, among many important bodily functions, fat is the carrier of fat-soluble vitamins (i.e. vitamin A, D, E and K) and is the structural components of cell membrane.

According to the Chinese Adequate Intake (AI), 20-30% of energy contribution should come from fats, which means that there should be about 44-67g of fat from all food sources in a 2 000-kcal diet. Referring to the food pyramid, we should “Eat Less” fats and oils (one teaspoon of oil weighs about 5g) by avoiding fatty meats and fried foods, plus selecting foods in lower fat version (e.g. a 250mL-serving of whole milk has a minimum of 8.75g of fat as compared to about 5g fat in low-fat milk with the same serving size.)

After talking about fat, next time we will examine another lipid – cholesterol.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :19-03-2009

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零九年三月第三十二期)- 食物安全平台

营养素与健康:脂肪

食物安全中心
风险传达组
科学主任冯慧中女士报告

介绍过蛋白质和碳水化合物后,我们在今期会探讨最后一种常量营养素:脂肪。它属于名为“脂类”的营养素。

我们在日常生活中会把甘油三酸脂通称为“脂肪”。事实上,食物中的脂肪有98%是甘油三酸脂。甘油三酸脂包含一个甘油脂分子作骨干,并连接着三个脂肪酸。脂肪酸以不同的化学结构存在。由于脂肪在结构上各异,故不同脂肪会有不同特性,因而对健康造成的影响亦有别。

饱和脂肪酸、单元不饱和脂肪酸及多元不饱和脂肪酸

脂肪酸可按其双键数目,划分为饱和脂肪酸、单元不饱和脂肪酸及多元不饱和脂肪酸三大类。饱和脂肪酸(SFA)没有双键,单元不饱和脂肪酸(MUFA)有一个双键,而多元不饱和脂肪酸(PUFA)则有两个或以上双键。专家相信,脂肪酸中的双键数目与罹患心血管系统疾病的风险成反比关系,即没有双键的饱和脂肪酸会增加罹患心脏病的风险。

一般而言,大部分动物脂肪会有较多饱和脂肪酸,在室温下通常处于固体状态。另一方面,橄榄油和芥花籽油含丰富的单元不饱和脂肪酸,而粟米油、大豆油、花生油及鱼油则有丰富的多元不饱和脂肪酸。含有较多单元及/或多元不饱和脂肪酸的脂肪(经氢化过程的脂肪除外)在室温下通常处于液体状态。

α - 亚麻酸及亚油酸均为必需脂肪酸,两者同属多元不饱和脂肪酸。人体可透过新陈代谢自行合成长链脂肪酸,例如α - 亚麻酸可代谢成二十二碳六烯酸(DHA)和亚油酸可代谢成花生四烯酸(ARA)。

顺式及反式脂肪酸

“顺式”及“反式”两词是指双键所处的碳原子旁边两个氢原子的位置。顺式脂肪酸的两个氢原子同处一边,反式脂肪酸的两个氢原子则分处两边。顺式结构的脂肪酸常见于天然食物中,而大部分反式脂肪酸则是在菜油的氢化过程中形成。反式脂肪酸并非必需的,现时未见其对健康有益处。事实上,反式脂肪酸与饱和脂肪酸类似,可能会增加罹患心脏病的风险。如欲了解更多,请参阅 《食物安全焦点》有关反式脂肪 的昔日文章。

脂肪的功能与摄入量

脂肪提供大量能量(1克脂肪=9千卡能量)。此外,脂肪在人体内有多种重要的功能,当中包括输送脂溶性维他命(即维他命A、D、E及K)和构成细胞膜。

根据中国适宜摄入量,脂肪应占20%至30%的能量摄入量,即2000千卡的膳食应从各类食物中共摄取约44至67克脂肪。以健康饮食金字塔来说,我们应该“吃最少”脂肪及油(一茶匙油约重5克),方法是避免吃肥肉和煎炸食物,以及选择脂肪含量较低的同类食物(例如一盒250毫升的全脂奶最少含有8.75克脂肪,而一盒相同分量的低脂奶则含约5克脂肪。)

介绍过脂肪后,我们将会在下一期探讨另一种脂类:胆固醇。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 19-03-2009