Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (29th Issue, December 2008) – Food Safety Platform

Nutrient and Health - Energy and Protein

Reported by Ms. Jacqueline FUNG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section,
Centre for Food Safety

       Starting from this issue, the nutrition series will focus on selected nutrients. To begin with, we introduce the power that keeps us moving (i.e. energy) and the substance that helps us growing (i.e. protein).

Energy

       If the body is a machine, then food is the fuel. Being more specific, carbohydrates, fat and protein in foods provide energy for body functions and physical activities (see table 1). They, however, do not produce the same amount of energy (see table 2). Fat produces more than two times energy per gram than either carbohydrates or protein. Metabolism in the body converts carbohydrates, protein and fat into energy. Any excess of these nutrients will be stored as fat in the body. In other words, regardless of whether it is carbohydrates, protein or fat, it will be converted into fat storage in the body if it is not used. As our body fat accumulates, our body weight increases.

Table 1

 

World Health Organization’s Population Nutrient Intake Goals on Energy-producing Nutrients

  • Carbohydrates = 55-75% of energy contribution
  • Protein = 10-15% of energy contribution
  • Fat = 15-30% of energy contribution

 

Table 2

 

 Energy Content of Nutrients : -

  • 1 gram of carbohydrates = 4 kilocalories
  • 1 gram of protein = 4 kilocalories
  • 1 gram of fat = 9 kilocalories
  • In addition to carbohydrates, protein and fat, alcohol can also provide energy (1 gram alcohol = 7 kilocalories)

Note : -

  • Kilocalorie (kcal) and kilojoule (kJ) are measuring units for energy.
  • 1 kilocalorie is approximately equal to 4.2 kilojoules.

 

       The energy requirements of individuals vary according to several factors, including the thermic effect of food (the energy required to process foods), the basal metabolic rate and the physical activity level. With reference to the Chinese Recommended Nutrient Intake (RNI), the energy requirements for an adult male and female with light physical activities are around 2400 kcal and 2100 kcal per day respectively. For weight maintenance, it is important to balance energy intake and energy used. Therefore, to help control the body weight, one can decrease the energy intake and/or increase physical activities.

Protein

       The body uses protein to build and repair all body tissues. Amino acids are the building blocks of protein. There are nine essential amino acids (see table 3), which the body cannot make or cannot make enough to meet the needs. Therefore, they are essential components of our diet. Generally, protein from the animal source is considered as complete protein since it contains all the essential amino acids, whereas protein from the plant source, except soy protein, is limiting in one or more essential amino acids. For example, grains are limited in lysine and legumes are limited in methionine, two of the nine essential amino acids. For strict vegetarians, it is recommended that their diet should include a mix of foods from various plant sources, so that different foods complement each other (i.e. the essential amino acid missing from one source is supplied by another), making a meatless diet to be one with all the essential amino acids.

Table 3

Nine Essential Amino Acids

Histidine

Lysine

Threonine

Isoleucine

Methionine

Tryptophan

Leucine

Phenylalanine

Valine

       Protein deficiency is not common in Hong Kong . However, Protein-energy Malnutrition (PEM) is one of the world’s most widespread malnutrition problems, which is prevalent in Africa . At the other end, excess intake of protein offers no extra health benefits as additional protein that is not used by the body will be converted to fat. During the conversion, protein is being broken down and excess nitrogen is being excreted, thereby putting extra stress on the liver and kidneys. This is a particular concern for individuals with kidney diseases. Thus, patients with kidney disease are often advised to consume a diet with protein that is of good quality, but in limited quantity.

       According to the Chinese Recommended Nutrient Intake (RNI), an adult male and female with light physical activity levels should consume 75 g and 65 g of protein per day respectively. Children, teenagers, pregnant and lactating women need more proteins for growth.

       Meat, poultry, fish, eggs and dry beans are good sources of protein. With reference to the Food Pyramid, it is the third-level up under the “Eat Moderately” level. In terms of actual amount, an adult should eat 5-6 taels (equivalent to 200-240 g) of meat a day.

llustration: Food Pyramid

       In the next issue, we will examine another macronutrient – Carbohydrates: the body’s preferred energy source.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :19-12-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零八年十二月第二十九期)-食物安全平台

营养素与健康:能量及蛋白质

食物安全中心
风险传达组
科学主任冯慧中女士报告

    由今期开始,营养系列将会集中探讨个别营养素。首先,我们会介绍能量及蛋白质。能量是维持我们日常活动的动力,而蛋白质则是促进我们生长和发育的物质。

能量

    假如说身体是一部机械,那么食物就是燃料。再确切一点来说,食物中的碳水化合物、脂肪和蛋白质可为身体机能和体能活动提供能量(见表1),但它们可产生的能量值并不相同(见表2)。每克脂肪所产生的能量较碳水化合物或蛋白质高出两倍以上。身体的新陈代谢会把这三种营养素转化为能量,并将多余的能量以脂肪的形式贮存。换言之,不论是碳水化合物、蛋白质或脂肪,如没有消耗的话,都会转化为脂肪贮存在体内。当身体贮存的脂肪日多,我们的体重便会增加。

表1

 

世界卫生组织就产能营养素制定的人羣营养素摄入量目标

  • 碳水化合物 = 能量摄入量的55-75%
  • 蛋白质 = 能量摄入量的10-15%
  • 脂肪 = 能量摄入量的15-30%

 

表2

 

营养素的能量含量:

  • 1克碳水化合物 = 4千卡路里
  • 1克蛋白质 = 4千卡路里
  • 1克脂肪 = 9千卡路里
  • 除了碳水化合物、蛋白质和脂肪外,酒精亦可提供能量( 1克酒精 = 7 千卡路里)

备注:

  • 千卡路里(千卡)和千焦耳(千焦)均为能量的计算单位。
  • 1千卡路里约相等于4.2千焦耳。

 

    能量需要量会因人而异,受多项因素影响,包括食物热效应(处理食物所需的能量)、基础代谢率和体力活动量。根据中国营养素推荐摄入量,低体力活动量的成年男性及女性每天的能量需要分别约为2400千卡及2100千卡。为维持体重,我们摄入的能量必须与消耗的能量保持平衡,因此,如要控制体重,我们可减少摄入的能量及/或增加活动量。

蛋白质

    身体会利用蛋白质建构和修复所有组织。氨基酸是蛋白质的基本组成单位,当中有九种属于必需氨基酸(见表3),人体不能自行合成或无法合成足够数量满足需要,因此,这九种必需氨基酸是我们饮食中不可或缺的元素。一般而言,动物性蛋白质由于含有所有必需氨基酸,故被视为完全蛋白质,而植物性蛋白质(除大豆蛋白质)则会缺少一种或以上必需氨基酸,例如谷类缺少赖氨酸,豆类缺少蛋氨酸,两者都是九种必需氨基酸之一。对于严格奉行素食的人而言,专家建议他们的饮食应包括各种不同植物性来源的食物,以便不同的食物互补不足(即某一食物来源所缺少的某一种必需氨基酸亦可由另一食物来源提供),令素食者即使不吃肉亦能从饮食中摄取到所有的必需氨基酸。

表3

九种必需氨基酸

组氨酸

赖氨酸

苏氨酸

异亮氨酸

蛋氨酸

色氨酸

亮氨酸

苯丙氨酸

缬氨酸

   蛋白质缺乏的情况在本港并不常见,但蛋白质-能量营养不良则是全球最普遍的营养不良问题之一,在非洲十分普遍。至于另一个极端的情况,过量摄入蛋白质不会对健康带来额外的益处,因为身体没有消耗的额外蛋白质将会转化为脂肪贮存在体内。在转化过程中,蛋白质会被分解,多余的氮会排出体外,因而增加肝脏及肾脏的负担。由于肾病病人须特别留意这个问题,故通常建议他们选吃优质蛋白质,但应限制蛋白质摄入量。

    根据中国营养素推荐摄入量,低体力活动量的成年男性及女性每天应分别进食75克及65克蛋白质。至于儿童、青少年、孕妇及授乳妇女,则需要更多蛋白质,以促进生长和发育。

    肉类、家禽、鱼类、蛋类及干豆类均可提供丰富的蛋白质。根据健康饮食金字塔,这些食物位于金字塔的第三层,即应该“适量进食”。以实际分量而言,一名成年人每天应进食 5至6两(相等于200至240克)肉类。

插图:健康饮食金字塔

    我们将会在下一期详细介绍碳水化合物这种可为人体提供较佳能量来源的常量营养素。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 19-12-2008