Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (26th Issue, September 2008) – Incident in Focus

Cadmium in Rice

Reported by Dr. Anna S.P. TANG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

  On 20 August 2008, the media reported that a brand of rice imported from Thailand to Guangzhou contained cadmium exceeding the legal limit of Mainland China. Cadmium in food causes public concern because excessive intake over a prolonged period may pose possible health risk. This article provides more information on food safety relating to cadmium.

What is Cadmium?

  Cadmium is a metal present naturally in the earth's crust. It is also a pollutant from burning of fossil fuels, waste incineration, mining, electroplating and manufacture of various products like nickel-cadmium batteries, pigments, plastic stabilisers and fertilisers. Cadmium commonly exists in combinations with other elements in the environment as solids that may dissolve in water. It does not break down in the environment, but it can change its form.

Why is it Present in Rice and Other Foods?

  Fish, plants and animals can take up cadmium from water and the environment. Crops such as rice and wheat readily take up cadmium present in the soil, as a result of its natural occurrence, from application of cadmium-containing fertilisers and waste from industrial discharges. Cadmium can go up the food chain when contaminated crops and plants are ingested by animals.

What Contributes to Cadmium Exposure?

  Humans are exposed to cadmium through air, water, food and cigarette smoking. While smoking and inhalation in occupational settings are significant sources of cadmium in the exposed groups, foods represent a major route of exposure by the general public.

  The Joint Food and Agriculture Organization/World Health Organization Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) identified seven commodity groups that contributed significantly to total intake of cadmium including rice, wheat, root vegetables, tuber vegetables, leafy vegetables, other vegetables and molluscs. On average, these commodities accounted for about 65% of the total intake of cadmium (2.8 – 4.2 μg/kg body weight).

  As reported by JECFA in 2005, the highest cadmium level found in over 37 000 rice samples from Europe and Far Eastern regions was 1.2 mg/kg, while the average concentration was 0.061 mg/kg. The wide range of cadmium levels found in rice may depend on presence of contaminated waters in the farming area, level of cadmium naturally present in soil and the agricultural practices adopted.

Cadmium:

  • is present in rice and other foods through uptake from soil and contaminated water
  • can be harmful to the kidney over prolonged excessive intake
  • cannot be reduced by cooking

  In 2002, our Department conducted a risk assessment study on “ Dietary Exposure to Heavy Metals of Secondary School Students ” to assess the intake of metallic contaminants including cadmium in Hong Kong. Results of this study indicated that the food group "seafood other than fish", particularly shellfish, was the main contributor (33%) of dietary exposure to cadmium, followed by the "cereal and cereal products" (27%) and "vegetables" (17%) groups.

Health Concerns of Cadmium in Food

  Unlike inhalation of cadmium such as in occupational settings, intake of cadmium from the diet rarely causes acute toxicity, and existing evidence does not indicate cancer-causing potential through oral intake.

  The main concern of cadmium from dietary exposure is its chronic toxicity, particularly in the kidney. Adverse effects such as abnormal excretion of protein, glucose and amino acid in urine have been observed in humans.

Safe Intake Level

  A safe intake level for cadmium has been established by JECFA to protect public health. This level, called the Provisional Tolerable Weekly Intake (PTWI), is set at 7 μg/kg body weight (bw). Transient excursion above the PTWI would have no health consequences provided that the average intake does not continuously exceed the PTWI which emphasises on a lifetime exposure.

What is the Local Situation?

  The 2002 risk assessment study showed that dietary exposure to cadmium for the average and high consumers were 2.49 and 5.71 μg/kg bw per week respectively, both below the PTWI, indicating that adverse health effects due to exposure to cadmium upon normal consumption of foods in Hong Kong are unlikely.

How is Cadmium in Food Monitored in Hong Kong ?

  The CFS has been monitoring cadmium in foods under the food surveillance programme. The level of cadmium allowed in food is governed by the Food Adulteration (Metallic Contamination) Regulations, Cap. 132V. Between 2006 and August 2008, all rice samples taken for the analysis of cadmium, including five Thai rice samples taken in response to the incident, had been satisfactory.

Advice to the Trade and Consumers

  Farmers should observe Good Agricultural Practice to minimise cadmium contamination in food crops. Traders should ensure that the foods they sell or import are fit for human consumption and comply with legal standards. Consumers are advised to take a balanced diet so as to avoid excessive exposure to certain chemicals or contaminants from a small range of food items.

Further Information

Interested readers may visit the following web pages for further information relating to the subject:

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :19-09-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零八年九月第二十六期)-焦点个案

稻米中的镉

食物安全中心风险评估组
科学主任邓绍平博士报告

今年八月二十日,传媒报道,广州有某牌子泰国进口稻米的镉含量超逾中国内地的法定上限。由于长时间过量摄取镉可能会损害健康,故食物中的镉引起市民关注。本文会提供更多有关镉的食物安全资料。

插图:稻米

镉是什么?

镉是天然存在于地壳表面的金属。此外,又是燃烧化石燃料,焚烧废物,采矿,电镀和生产镍镉电池、颜料、塑胶稳定剂及肥料等产品时释出的一种污染物。镉在环境中通常与其他元素结合,成为可溶于水中的固体化合物。镉不会在环境中分解,但会转化为不同形态。

稻米及其他食物为何含有镉?

植物和动物会从水和环境中摄取到镉。稻米和小麦等农作物会轻易从泥土中摄取到镉,原因是镉天然存在于泥土中,农民施用含镉的肥料,或工业污水含有镉。动物吃下受镉污染的农作物及植物后,镉便会在食物链中积聚。

人们主要从哪些途径摄取镉?

人们通过空气、水、食物和吸烟摄取到镉。吸烟和在工作环境中吸入镉是受影响羣组摄取镉的两大来源,但一般人摄取镉的主要途径则是经食物。

联合国粮食及农业组织/世界卫生组织联合食物添加剂专家委员会(专家委员会)确定,人们摄取镉的主要来源是下列七大食物类别:稻米、小麦、根茎类蔬菜、块茎类蔬菜、叶菜类蔬菜、其他蔬菜及软体类动物。平均而言,人们从这七类食物摄取的镉分量约占总镉摄入量(即每公斤体重2.8微克至4.2微克)的65%。

正如专家委员会于二零零五年报告中指出,在来自欧洲及远东地区超过 37 000 个稻米样本中,虽然镉含量最高样本达到每公斤1.2毫克,但平均镉含量只有每公斤0.061毫克。稻米的镉含量差异甚大,可能与耕作区内的水是否受镉污染、土壤中镉的天然含量和农民所采用的务农方法有关。

镉的特点如下:

  • 可透过泥土及受镉污染的水进入稻米及其他食物中
  • 长时间过量摄取会损害肾脏
  • 通过烹煮不能减少镉含量

本署在二零零二年进行了有关“中学生从食物摄取重金属的情况”的风险评估研究,以评估本港中学生摄取金属污染物(包括镉)的情况。该项研究结果指出,“鱼类以外的海产”(即贝类)是中学生摄取镉的主要食物类别(33%),其次依序为“谷类和谷类食品”(27%)和“蔬菜”(17%)。

食物中的镉对健康造成的影响

与吸入镉(例如在工作环境中)的情况不同,从饮食中摄取镉绝少会引致急性中毒,而现有证据并无显示这种摄入途径可能令人患癌。

从饮食中摄取镉的主要问题是慢性镉中毒,尤其会损害肾脏,引致出现蛋白尿、糖尿、氨基酸尿等病症。

安全的摄入量

为保障公众健康,专家委员会已订定镉的安全摄入量,即暂定每周可容忍摄入量为每公斤体重7微克。由于暂定每周可容忍摄入量着眼于人一生的摄入量,只要平均摄入量并非长期超出这一数值,偶然高于暂定每周可容忍摄入量也不会影响健康。

本港情况如何?

根据二零零二年的风险评估研究,摄取量一般的中学生每周从食物摄取的镉,按每公斤体重计算为2.49微克,而摄取量高的中学生则为5.71微克,两者均低于每周可容忍摄入量,即表示在香港从正常饮食中摄入镉以致对健康造成不良影响的机会不大。

如何监察在本港食物中的镉?

中心一向透过食物监察计划监察食物中的镉。食物中准许的镉含量受《食物搀杂(金属杂质含量)规例》(第132V章)所规管。在二零零六年至二零零八年八月期间所抽取的稻米样本,当中包括五个因应是次事件抽取的泰国米样本,在镉测试中结果满意

给业界和消费者的建议

农民应奉行优良务农规范,以减少食用农作物受到镉污染。业界应确保所出售或进口的食物适宜供人食用,并符合法定标准。至于消费者,则应保持均衡饮食,以免因偏食少种类食物而过量摄取某些化学物或污染物。

更多资料

读者如欲在这方面取得更多资料,请浏览下列网页:

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 19-09-2008