Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (24th Issue, July 2008) – Food Safety Platform

Biological Hazards in Food – Pathogenic Bacteria (Part I)

Reported by Dr. Ken CHONG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

Previously in this column, we have introduced the topic of biological hazards in food which include bacteria, viruses and parasites. They are the biological agents that can cause harmful effects in humans. In this issue and the coming three issues, we are going to take a closer look at these agents.

Bacteria in Food

In summer, there are often more news reports on food poisoning cases caused by bacteria. Bacteria are locally the most common cause of food poisoning. However, not all the bacteria in food can make you sick, some are even added intentionally during the preparation of foods such as probiotics in yoghurt. Other than those desirable bacteria, there are also spoilage and pathogenic (being able to cause disease) bacteria in food.

Food Spoilage by Bacteria

Spoilage bacteria in food are able to grow in large number, decompose the food and cause taste/smell changes in food, which affect the quality of food. Microbial spoilage of food occurs in a relatively sudden manner, because bacteria grow by multiplication, i.e. one bacterium can become two in just 15 minutes under the best conditions. Under the same condition, one bacterium can multiply to over 16 million in just six hours! Spoilage bacteria do not normally cause illness, however, when consumed in very large numbers, they can cause gastrointestinal disturbance. Refrigeration of perishable food is one of the common ways to retard the spoilage process.

Foodborne Pathogenic Bacteria

Pathogenic bacteria can cause illness and lead to food safety problems. They are able to invade your body or produce toxins to cause illness. Pathogenic bacteria in food frequently need to multiply to a certain amount to cause disease. The number of organisms required to make individuals ill is called the infective dose. Hot weather during summer can promote the growth of foodborne pathogenic bacteria, which mostly prefer to grow in a warm, humid environment. The bacteria themselves and/or their toxins can make you sick. Once enough bacteria or their toxins have been swallowed, there is a delay called the incubation period (interval between the consumption of food containing bacteria/toxins and the onset of symptoms of the illness), which ranges from hours to days depending on the types of bacteria and the amount of bacteria/toxin ingested. In that period, bacteria can multiply in the gut and/or invade your body. The table below shows the infective dose and incubation period of some common foodborne pathogens in ready-to-eat food:

Pathogenic bacteria

Incubation period

Estimated infective dose

Salmonella spp.

6 to 48 hours (usually 12 to 36 hours)

As few as 15 to 20 organisms; 100 000 to 1 000 000 organisms are more likely to cause disease

Listeria monocytogenes

1 to 90 days (mean 30 days) for high risk group; 11 hours to 7 days for general population (median 18 hours)

~100 to 1 000 organisms for high risk group; consuming food containing >100 000 organisms per gram for general population

Vibrio parahaemolyticus

4 to 74 hours (mean 12 to 46 hours)

~200 000 to 30 000 000 organisms

Staphylococcus aureus

30 minutes to 7 hours (mean 2 to 4 hours)

>100 000 organisms per gram of food to produce enough toxin

Bacillus cereus

Emetic (cause vomiting): 1 to 6 hours
Diarrhoeal: 10 to 12 hours

>100 000 organisms per gram of food to produce enough toxin or cause illness

Clostridium perfringens

6 to 24 hours (usually 10 to 12 hours)

~100 000 000 organisms

Source: Bad Bug Book from the US FDA and Microbial Pathogen & Data Sheets from the New Zealand Food Safety Authority

You may find that some organisms need to grow to considerable number in foods to produce toxins which are an important weapon of some foodborne pathogenic bacteria to make you sick.

Toxin Production by Pathogenic Bacteria

Pathogenic bacteria can produce toxin in two ways – secreting it into food or releasing it inside your body. Staphylococcus aureus and Bacillus cereus are notorious for being able to produce heat-resistant toxins in food. You may notice that the incubation period of these pathogens are relatively short, which reflects the rapid effect of direct consumption of toxins. On the other hand, some pathogenic bacteria like Clostridium perfringens, primarily release toxin inside your body. Some of the pathogenic bacteria may release a small amount of toxin within your body to help them to invade. Some bacteria can both secrete toxin into food and release toxin inside your body. For example, Bacillus cereus is able to produce emetic and/or diarrhoeal toxins: emetic one (heat-resistant toxin mentioned before) in food that can cause vomiting; diarrhoeal one released inside the body can cause diarrhoea. Although all these bacteria are known to be able to produce toxin, not all strains of them can produce toxin.

We will continue discussing characteristics of bacteria in the next issue.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :18-07-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零八年七月第二十四期)-食物安全平台

食物中的生物危害:致病细菌(上篇)

食物安全中心风险评估组
科学主任庄梓杰博士报告

本栏曾简介食物中的生物危害,包括细菌、病毒和寄生物。我们由今期起会一连四期深入探讨这三种对人体有害的生物媒介。

食物中的细菌

夏季时,新闻报导中常常提及有关由细菌引致食物中毒的个案。细菌是本港食物中毒个案的最常见肇因。不过,并不是食物中所有细菌都会令人患病,有些细菌更会在配制食物时刻意添加,例如乳酪中的益生菌。除了有用的细菌外,食物中还会有腐败细菌和致病细菌。

由细菌引致的食物腐坏

腐败细菌可以在食物中大量繁殖,令食物腐坏,发出异味或变味,影响其质量。由微生物引致的食物腐坏过程较为突然,因为细菌能以倍数繁殖,在最佳条件下一个细菌只需 15分钟便可增至两个,在同一条件下,一个细菌只需六小时便可增至超过1 600万个!腐败细菌通常不会令人患病,但如果吃下相当大量的腐败细菌,也会令人肠胃不适。把容易变坏的食物冷藏是其中一种常用方法去减慢食物腐坏的过程。

食源性致病细菌

致病细菌可令人患病,引致食物安全问题。这些细菌可以入侵人体,或产生毒素因而令人患病。食物中的致病细菌往往需要繁殖至一定数量才会令人患病,感染剂量就是指令人患病所需要的细菌数量。炎热的夏季正有利于食源性致病细菌的繁殖,这些细菌大多喜欢温暖、潮湿的环境。细菌本身及/或其毒素都会令人患病,人们一旦吃下足够数量的细菌或其毒素,经过潜伏期(即由吃下含细菌/毒素的食物至出现病征之间的一段时间)后便会出现病征。潜伏期的长短由数小时至数日不等,视乎细菌品种和进食细菌数量/毒素含量而定,在这段期间内,细菌会在肠胃中繁殖及/或入侵身体。下表列出即食食物中常见食源性致病细菌的感染剂量 和潜伏期:

致病细菌

潜伏期

估计感染剂量

沙门氏菌

6至48小时(通常为12至36小时)

可以少至 15至20个细菌;通常需要100 000至1 000 000个细菌才会令人患病

李斯特菌

高危羣组为 1至90日(平均数为30日);一般人为11小时至7日(中位数为18小时)

高危羣组约为 100至1 000个细菌;一般人则为进食含有每克超过100 000个细菌的食物

副溶血性弧菌

4至74小时(平均数为12至46小时)

约为 200 000至30 000 000个细菌

金黄葡萄球菌

30分钟至7小时(平均数为2至4小时)

每克食物含有超过 100 000个细菌才可产生足够毒素

蜡样芽孢杆菌

致吐型(引致呕吐 ):1至6小时
致腹泻型: 10至12小时

每克食物含有超过
100 000个细菌才可产生足够毒素或令人患病

产气荚膜梭状芽孢杆菌

6至24小时(通常为10至12小时)

约为 100 000 000个细菌

资料来源:美国食物及药物管理局编制的《恶菌书》(Bad Bug Book)及新西兰食物安全局编制的微生物病菌资料单(Microbial Pathogen Data Sheets)

从上表可见,部分细菌需在食物内繁殖至相当多数量才会产生毒素,而这些毒素是部分食源性致病细菌令人患病的重要武器。

致病细菌可产生毒素

致病细菌可透过两大方式产生毒素:在食物内产生毒素或在人体内释出毒素。大家都知道,金黄葡萄球菌和蜡样芽孢杆菌都可以在食物内产生耐热的毒素,这两种致病细菌的潜伏期较短,反映患者直接吃下毒素而迅速出现反应。另一方面,产气荚膜梭状芽孢杆菌等部分致病细菌则主要在人体内释出毒素。亦有部分致病细菌可在人体内释出小量毒素,从而协助入侵人体。部分细菌既会在食物中产生毒素,又会在人体内释出毒素,例如蜡样芽孢杆菌可产生致吐肠毒素及/或致腹泻肠毒素:食物中的致吐肠毒素(即上文提及的耐热毒素)可令人呕吐,而在人体内释出的致腹泻肠毒素则可引致腹泻。虽然这些细菌据知可产生毒素,但并非所有菌株都能产生毒素。

我们将会在下一期再探讨这些细菌的特性。

 

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 18-07-2008