Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (20th Issue, March 2008) – Food Safety Platform

Pesticide Residues in Food (Part II)

Reported by Dr. John LUM, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

In the last issue, we had an overview on pesticides and their residues in food. In the current issue, we shall focus on the safety of pesticide residues in food.

Are Pesticide Residues in Our Food Safe?

The safety of pesticide residues in food depends on several factors, including the nature of the pesticide as well as the amount and duration of the exposure. Food containing excessive amount of pesticide residues may lead to acute and/or chronic adverse health effects.

Acute effects generally occur shortly (within hours or a day) after the exposure to a relatively high level of pesticides, while chronic effects develop over a relatively longer period of time (in terms of months or years) and is usually related to long-term or repeated exposure to pesticide residues at a low level.

Depending on the nature and use patterns of the pesticide, various adverse effects are of concern. Using methamidophos and DDT (the two probably best-known pesticides in Hong Kong) as examples, the main concern of methamidophos is on its acute effects, while DDT is on its chronic effects. Due to their potential adverse effects, these pesticides have been removed from agricultural use in many countries.

Pesticides

Type of adverse effects

Possible symptoms/effects

Methamidophos

Acute adverse effects

Vomiting, diarrhoea, dizziness and numbness have been observed in humans, whereas breathing difficulties and blurred vision were noted in severe cases.

DDT

Chronic adverse effects

Liver damage, adverse effects on reproduction and development have been observed in laboratory animals.

Ilustration: Flowering white cabbage (Choi Sum) (left) and Chinese cabbage (Pak Choi) (right) were implicated in pesticide-related food poisoning cases in the 80s-90s.

Safety Reference Values - ADI and ARfD

Both Acceptable Daily Intake (ADI) and Acute Reference Dose (ARfD) are safety reference values commonly used to assess the risk of chronic and acute adverse effects respectively. The concept of ADI has been introduced previously. On the other hand, ARfD is the amount that can be ingested over a short period of time, usually during one meal or one day, without appreciable health risk to the consumer. Both ADI and ARfD are expressed on a body-weight (bw) basis to account for the body-weight of different individuals.

A large safety margin is incorporated in the safety reference values to account for any possible uncertainties. This large safety margin ensures that safety reference values can be applied to different individuals, including those more sensitive to the adverse effects of pesticides (e.g. children).

How Much is Safe?

Using the pesticide endosulfan as an example, an ADI of 0-0.006 mg/kg bw/day and ARfD of 0.02 mg/kg bw have been established. For tomato containing endosulfan at 0.5 mg/kg (i.e. the maximum permitted level recommended by the Codex Alimentarius Commission) and assuming that tomato is the sole dietary source of endosulfan, a 60 kg person could consume 720 g (one catty approximately equals to 605 g) of the tomato everyday over the entire lifetime without appreciable health risk (i.e. not exceeding the ADI). Similarly, the person could consume 2.4 kg of the tomato in one meal or a day without appreciable health risk (i.e. not exceeding the ARfD). Since most of the tomatoes we consume everyday contain pesticide residues at levels much lower than the maximum permitted level or even none at all, the actual consumption limit for tomato alone is much higher than that illustrated above. Moreover, food preparation steps such as washing and cooking help reduce the amount of pesticide residues in food. It is important to note, however, that endosulfan residue may also come from other foodstuff.

Occasional dietary intake above the ADI does not automatically mean that health is at risk, as ADI is developed based on one's lifetime exposure. Moreover, as a large safety margin is incorporated in the safety reference values, occasional exposure to pesticide residues above the safety reference values will not cause immediate health risk under normal situations.

In conclusion, ADI and ARfD are useful values to assess how likely an intake level of a chemical will cause adverse health effects in humans. For risk management purpose, we need to set relevant standards on pesticide residues in food to ensure that pesticides are used properly and consumer health is sufficiently protected. In the next issue, we will focus on how to establish permitted levels of pesticide residues in food.

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :20-03-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印



食物安全焦点(二零零八年三月第二十期)-食物安全平台

食物中的残余除害剂(中篇)

食物安全中心风险评估组
科学主任林汉基博士报告

我们在上一期概述了除害剂及食物中的残余除害剂,今期将会集中探讨食物中残余除害剂的安全问题。

食物中的残余除害剂是否安全?

食物中的残余除害剂是否安全取决于数项因素,包括该除害剂的性质和人们摄入量和摄入期长短而定。食物如含有过量残余除害剂,可能会对人们健康造成急性及/或慢性的不良影响。

一般而言,急性影响会在人们摄入较高水平的除害剂后数小时或一天的短时间内出现。至于慢性影响,则会经过以月或年计的较长时间才会产生,而且多与长期或经常摄入低水平的残余除害剂有关。

乎除害剂的性质和使用模式,它们引起关注的不良影响亦有所不同。以市民可能最熟悉的两种除害剂甲胺磷和滴滴涕为例,前者的主要关注是其急性影响,而后者则为其慢性影响。由于甲胺磷和滴滴涕可能会损害人们的健康,多国在农务上已禁用这两种除害剂。

除害剂

影响类别

可能出现的症状/影响

甲胺磷

急性影响

在人类可出现呕吐、腹泻、眩晕和身体麻痹,而严重个案则会有呼吸困难和视力模糊。

滴滴涕

慢性影响

可损害实验动物的肝脏,并影响其生殖和发育情况。

插图:菜心(左)和白菜(右)在八十及九十年代曾涉及与除害剂有关的食物中毒个案。

安全参考值 — 每日可摄入量和急性参考剂量

每日可摄入量和急性参考剂量都是安全参考值,经常用来分别评估慢性和急性影响的风险。有关 每日可摄入量 的概念,我们已作介绍。至于急性参考剂量,则指消费者在一段短时间内 (通常为一餐或一天),摄入某物质而不致对健康带来可见风险的分量。考虑到各人体重有别这项因素,每日可摄入量和急性参考剂量均以人体体重来表示。

这些安全参考值会有较大的安全容差,以顾及各种可能存在的变数。安全容差较大可确保安全参考值能应用于不同人身上,包括较易受除害剂影响的人,例如儿童。

摄入量多少才算安全?

以除害剂硫丹为例,目前已制定按每公斤人体体重计算的每日可摄入量0-0.006毫克和急性参考剂量0.02毫克。如每公斤番茄含有0.5毫克硫丹(即食品法典委员会建议的最高准许上限),假设番茄是人们摄取到硫丹的唯一食物来源,一个60公斤重的人在一生中每日可吃下720克番茄(1斤约为605克)而不会对健康带来可见风险(即没有超逾每日可摄入量),又或在一餐中或一日里可吃下2.4公斤番茄而不会对健康带来可见风险(即没有超逾急性参考剂量)。由于我们每日吃下的大部分番茄所含的残余除害剂远低于最高准许上限,甚或完全没有残余除害剂,实际可进食的番茄分量远高于上述数值。此外,清洗和烹煮等处理食物步骤亦可减低食物中的残余除害剂含量。不过,有一点要注意的是,其他食物亦可能会含有硫丹残余。

由于每日可摄入量是以一生摄入量来订定,偶尔从食物中摄入高于每日可摄入量的分量并不表示健康必然会受损。此外,由于上述安全参考值会有较大的安全容差,偶尔摄入高于这些参考值的残余除害剂在一般情况下不会对健康构成即时风险。

总括而言,每日可摄入量和急性参考剂量是有用的数值,可评估某化学物的摄入水平有多大机会对人类的健康造成损害。从风险管理而言,我们需要制定有关食物中的残余除害剂标准,以确保除害剂正确使用于食物中和消费者的健康得到充分保障。我们将会在下一期集中讨论如何制定食物中的残余除害剂准许含量。

上 一 页  
返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 20-03-2008