Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (20th Issue, March 2008) – Incident in Focus

Review of Food Incidents in 2007

Reported by Dr. Benjamin FUNG, Medical Officer,
Risk Management Section, Centre for Food Safety

Background

Food incidents refer to the incidents or events which have potential food safety implications and are actively evaluated by the Centre for Food Safety (CFS). They include reports on food safety issues by food authorities and media agencies outside Hong Kong which may have local implications, as well as local food safety issues with wide media coverage and significant public concern. The CFS monitors reports from a wide range of sources, assesses their local significance and takes follow-up actions to address any food safety risk and concern that may be identified.

Review of Food Incidents in 2007

General Trend
From January to December 2007, around 820 food incidents were identified by the CFS. The average number of food incidents identified per month was 69. Please refer to Figure 1 for details.




Types of Food Involved
With regard to the types of food concerned, food incidents related to produce and their products were the commonest (26%). The other major food groups involved were meat and poultry (19%), aquatic products (12%), multiple food items (11%) and snacks (10%) (Figure 2).

* Add-ups may not be equal to 100% due to rounding.

Types of Hazard
From Figure 3, it is obvious that chemicals (e.g. preservatives, pesticides, colouring matter, sweeteners, heavy metals) were the commonest hazards identified (53%). Examples of such food hazards included trace amounts of non-permitted colouring matter found in rice dumpling samples and high level of paralytic shellfish poisoning toxin in a scallop sample. Microbiological agent (e.g. bacteria, virus) was the second commonest hazard (27%). For instance, possible contamination with Vibrio parahaemolyticus and norovirus was reported in some batches of oysters in the USA . The proportion of physical hazards (e.g. metal pieces, glass fragments) was 6%. Other hazards such as mixed hazards and quality issues constituted about 15%.


* Add-ups may not be equal to 100% due to rounding.

Actions Taken

Depending on the public health risk of the food incidents, the CFS has taken appropriate follow-up actions such as obtaining further information from relevant authorities, alerting traders, conducting sales check, sampling and testing of the products concerned, and issuing press releases as well as food alerts. In 2007, about 130 alerts to traders and some 30 press releases were issued.

Conclusion

Since the majority of foods in Hong Kong are imported, traders should ensure that their foods are sourced from reliable suppliers. The CFS will alert and communicate with traders, and make timely announcement to the public in case the food incidents identified have potential local impact. Food safety in Hong Kong can be achieved through tripartite collaboration among the Government, food trade and consumers.

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :20-03-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零八年三月第二十期)-焦点个案

二零零七年食物事故回顾

食物安全中心风险管理组
冯永辉医生报告

背景

食物事故是指可能影响食物安全的事故或事件,并经过食物安全中心(中心)主动作出评估。这些事故包括本港境外食物规管当局发出的食物安全报告,市民关注的本地食物安全事宜,和有关的传媒报道。中心密切留意各方消息,评估对本港的影响,并采取跟进行动处理食物安全风险和有关问题。

二零零七年食物事故回顾

一般趋势
由二零零七年一月至十二月,中心一共发现约820宗食物事故, 每月平均为69宗。详情请参阅图一。

涉及的食物种类
以食物种类而言,食物事故最常涉及农产品和其制品(26%),其他主要食物类别则有肉类和家禽(19%)、水产(12%)、多种食物(11%)及零食(10%)(见图二)。


* 由于分项数字采用四舍五入方法计算,故总和未必等于100%。

危害的类别
我们从图三中明显看出,最常见的危害是化学物(53%)(例如:防腐剂、除害剂、染色料、甜味剂和重金属等),包括在糉子样本中发现微量不准在食物中使用的染色料,以及在一个扇贝样本中验出高水平的麻痹性贝类毒素;其次则为细菌和病毒等微生物(27%),例如美国有报告指数批生蚝可能受副溶血性弧菌诺沃克病毒污染。此外,涉及金属和玻璃碎片等物理危害占 6%,而涉及多种危害和品质问题等的其他危害则约占15%。


* 由于分项数字采用四舍五入方法计算,故总和未必等于100%。

中心采取的行动

视乎食物事故对市民健康构成的风险,中心会采取适当的跟进行动,例如向有关当局取得更多资料;向业界发出警报;了解有关食物有否在本港出售;抽取有关产品样本进行化验;以及发出新闻公报食物警报。去年,中心一共向业界发出了约130则警报,又向公众发出了30多则新闻公报。

总结

由于本港大部分食物是进口的,业界应确保其食物来自可靠的供应商。对可能会影响本港的食物事故,中心会向业界发出警报,与他们保持沟通,并适时向市民作出公布。透过政府、食物业与消费者三方充分合作,本港的食物安全便能得以确保。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 20-03-2008