Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (19th Issue, February 2008) – Incident in Focus

Cyanide Poisoning and Cassava

Reported by Ms. Joey KWOK, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

Background

On 14 January 2008, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) advised members of the public to avoid consuming Piranha brand crackers and snacks manufactured by Tixana Australia Pty Ltd. The appeal was made following a warning issued by the Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) due to the higher-than-usual levels of naturally occurring cyanogenic glycosides in the ingredient cassava in a batch of exported vegetable crackers. The CFS contacted the relevant authorities and was informed that the affected products had been exported to Hong Kong. The CFS alerted the trade to stop selling the affected products.

What are Cyanogenic Glycosides?

Cyanogenic glycosides are a group of chemical compounds which occur naturally in over    2 000 plant species. There are at least 25 cyanogenic glycosides known to be found in the edible parts of plants. Cyanogenic glycosides alone are relatively non-toxic. However, as a result of enzymatic hydrolysis by beta-glucosidase following maceration of plant tissues as they are eaten, or by the gut microflora, cyanogenic glycosides are broken down to release hydrogen cyanide which is toxic to both animals and humans. The potential toxicity of a cyanogenic plant depends primarily on its capacity to produce hydrogen cyanide.

What are the Symptoms of Cyanide Poisoning?

In humans, the clinical signs of acute cyanide intoxication include rapid respiration, drop in blood pressure, rapid pulse, dizziness, headache, stomach pain, vomiting, diarrhoea, mental confusion, twitching and convulsions. Death due to cyanide poisoning can occur when the cyanide level exceeds the limit an individual is able to detoxify. The acute lethal dose of hydrogen cyanide for humans is reported to be 0.5 to 3.5 mg per kilogram of body weight. Children are particularly at risk because of their smaller body size.

Chronic cyanide intoxication may lead to the development of certain conditions including disturbance of thyroid function and neurological disorders. It tends to affect those individuals who have regular long-term consumption of cassava with poor nutrition status.

What is Cassava? What is it Used for?

The roots of cassava are rich in carbohydrates, mainly starch. According to Food and Agriculture Organization, cassava is the third most important source of calories in the tropics, after rice and corn. Cassava is consumed in a variety of ways, including eaten as whole root, grated root or root chips. In addition, it is prepared into flour which in turn can be used for cooking or production of cassava-based products such as breads, crackers, and puddings or beverages made with tapioca pearls. Cassava leaves are also eaten in some countries following extensive boiling. Apart from being used as human food, cassava products are also used as animal feed.

Illustration: Cassava

Illustration: Pearl milk tea drink with tapioca pearls

How should Cassava be Processed to Render it Safe for Consumption?

Cassava contains more than one form of cyanogenic glycosides. Different varieties of cassava are generally classified into two main types: sweet cassava and bitter cassava. Sweet cassava roots contain less than 50 mg per kilogram hydrogen cyanide on fresh weight basis, whereas that of the bitter variety may contain up to 400 mg per kilogram.

Sweet cassava roots can generally be made safe to eat by peeling and thorough cooking. However, bitter cassava roots require more extensive processing. One of the traditional ways to prepare bitter cassava roots is by first peeling and grating the roots, and then prolonged soaking of the gratings in water to allow leaching and fermentation to take place, followed by thorough cooking to release the volatile hydrogen cyanide gas. Cutting the roots into small pieces, followed by soaking and boiling in water is particularly effective in reducing the cyanide content in cassava. Whilst fresh cassava requires traditional methods to reduce its toxicity, adequately processed cassava flour and cassava-based products have very low cyanide contents and are considered safe to use.

What Other Edible Plants Contain Cyanogenic Glycosides?

Bamboo shoot is a popular food item among Asian population. The cyanogenic glycoside present in bamboo shoot is decomposed quickly in boiling water. Other edible plants containing cyanogenic glycosides include kernels within the pits of some stone fruits (e.g. bitter apricot kernels), lima beans, etc.

Illustration: Bamboo shoot

Advice to Consumers

1. Buy food from reliable suppliers.
2. Prepare cyanogenic plants such as cassava and bamboo shoot properly before consumption. Cyanogenic plants should be cut into smaller pieces, soaked in water and cooked thoroughly in boiling water.
3. Maintain a balanced diet to avoid excessive exposure to harmful chemicals from a small range of food items.

Advice to the Trade

1. Source food and ingredients from reliable sources.
2. Adhere to the Good Manufacturing Practice to minimise the risk of natural toxins in food.

Further Information

Further information about natural toxins can be obtained from the following webpages:
CFS Risk Assessment Study Report on Natural Toxins in Food Plants
CFS Risk in Brief on Naturally Occurring Toxins in Vegetables and Fruits

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :25-02-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零八年二月第十九期)-焦点个案

氰化物中毒与木薯

食物安全中心风险传达组
科学主任郭丽仪女士报告

背景

今年一月十四日,食物安全中心(中心)呼吁市民避免进食由Tixana Australia Pty Ltd公司生产的Piranha牌零食,因为澳洲及新西兰食物标准局发出警告,指其中一批出口产品验出含量较平常为高的氰甙,相信是天然存在于配料木薯。中心已联络澳洲当局了解事件,并得悉有关产品曾出口到香港,故呼吁本港业界停售有关产品。

氰甙是什么?

氰甙是一组化学化合物,天然存在于2 000多种植物中,目前有至少25种已知的氰甙存在于植物的可食用部分中。氰甙本身可说是没有毒性的。不过,植物组织在咀嚼过程中或肠道中菌群存在的情况下,均会引发β-葡萄糖苷酶产生水解作用,使氰甙分解并释出对动物和人类均有毒的氢氰酸。含氰甙植物的潜在毒性主要取决于其产生氢氰酸的能力。

氰化物中毒有何症状?

人类急性氰化物中毒的临牀症状包括呼吸急速、血压下降、脉搏急速、眩晕、头痛、胃痛、呕吐、腹泻、精神错乱、颤搐和抽搐。当氰化物摄入量超过个人的解毒上限,可引致氰化物中毒死亡。以人类而言,按每公斤体重计算,摄入0.5至3.5毫克氢氰酸足以导致急性中毒死亡。儿童由于体型较小,尤其易受氰化物中毒影响。

慢性氰化物中毒可令人出现甲状腺功能失调和神经错乱等症状。长期食用木薯而又营养不良的人较易出现慢性氰化物中毒。

木薯是什么?有何用途?

木薯的茎部含丰富的碳水化合物,主要为淀粉。根据联合国粮食及农业组织,稻米、玉米和木薯依次为热带地区中人们摄取热量的首三大食物来源。木薯的食用方法甚多,其茎部可整个食用,又或经磨碎或制成脆片享用。此外,还可制成木薯粉,然后用作烹饪材料或制成以木薯作为主要配料的其他食品,例如面包、饼干和混入木薯粉圆的布丁及饮料。在一些国家,人们亦会食用经过沸水长时间烹煮的木薯叶。除了供人食用外,木薯制品还可用作动物饲料。

插图: 木薯

插图: 加入木薯粉圆的珍珠奶茶

如何处理木薯才可确保安全食用?

木薯的种类很多,大致上分为甜木薯和苦木薯两大类,含有多于一种的氰甙。甜木薯茎部中的氢氰酸含量,按每公斤新鲜重量计算,是少于50毫克,而苦木薯则可高达每公斤400毫克。

甜木薯茎部在去皮和彻底烹煮后,一般可供安全食用。不过,苦木薯茎部则需经过多重处理程序,其中一种传统的处理方法,是先把苦木薯茎部去皮和磨碎,再把磨碎部分长时间浸泡在水中,以便进行渗滤和发酵过程,最后彻底煮熟,让容易挥发的氢氰酸气体释出。此外,亦可先把木薯茎部切成小块,再浸泡在水中并以沸水烹煮,这种方法尤其能有效减低木薯中的氰化物含量。虽然新鲜木薯必须采用传统方法减低其毒性,但经过充分加工程序的木薯粉和以木薯作为主要配料的食品,由于当中的氰化物含量非常低,故可供安全食用。

有没有其他可食用植物含有氰甙?

竹笋是亚洲人常吃的食品。竹笋中的氰甙可在沸水中迅速分解。至于其他含氰甙的可食用植物,还有部分核果果核内的种子 (例如北杏)和利马豆等。

插图: 竹笋

给消费者的建议

  • 向可靠的供应商购买食物。
  • 正确处理木薯和竹笋等含氰甙的植物,然后才可进食。含氰甙的植物应切成小块,浸泡在水中,并以沸水彻底烹煮。
  • 保持均衡饮食,以免因偏食几类食品而过量摄取有害的化学物。

给业界的建议

  • 向可靠的来源采购食物和配料。
  • 奉行优良制造规范,以尽量减低食物中含天然毒素的风险。

更多资料

如需更多有关天然毒素的资料,请浏览下列网页:
中心有关食用植物中的天然毒素的风险评估研究报告
中心有关蔬果含有的天然毒素的风险简讯

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 25-02-2008