Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (18th Issue, January 2008) – Food Incident Highlight

Nitrofuran, Malachite Green and Canned Pork Products

In early December 2007, the Centre for Food Safety sampled a number of canned pork products to examine for veterinary drug residues. Out of 19 samples taken, two were found to contain trace amount of a nitrofuran metabolite and one was found to contain malachite green. Based on the levels detected, usual consumption of the affected products is unlikely to pose significant health risk. The distributors concerned had initiated recalls of the affected products.

Nitrofurans are a group of antimicrobial agents which can be used as veterinary drugs. The main concern of nitrofurans in food is that a type of nitrofurans may cause cancer in experimental animals.

Malachite green (MG) is a synthetic dye that can be used as antifungal agent to treat diseases in fish. Certain metabolites of MG may persist in tissues for a long period of time. As MG is able to cause cancer in experimental animals, food should not contain MG.

Food manufacturers and importers should source food ingredients from reliable sources and should ensure that the food complies with local regulations.

llustration: Photos of products that are affected by the recall (left to right): batch number B2 5 of the 340g cans of “Shanghai MaLing B2 Pork Luncheon Meat (Less Sodium)”; batch number T12 10 of the 397g cans of “MaLing Stewed Pork Ribs”; and batch number M1 8 of the 198g cans of “MaLing Pork Luncheon Meat”.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :17-01-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零八年一月第十八期)-食物事故点滴

硝基呋喃、孔雀石绿与罐头猪肉制品

二零零七年十二月初,食物安全中心抽取多个罐头猪肉制品进行兽药残余化验。在抽取的19个样本中,有两个含微量的硝基呋喃类代谢物,一个含孔雀石绿。根据验出的残余含量,按一般食用量进食问题食品,对健康产生严重影响的机会不大。有关分销商已回收问题食品。

硝基呋喃是一类可用作兽药的抗菌剂,在食物中的主要关注是有某种硝基呋喃可能令实验动物患癌。

孔雀石绿是人造染料,在鱼类中可用作抗真菌剂治病。某些孔雀石绿代谢物可长时间留在组织中。由于孔雀石绿可令实验动物患癌,故食物不应含有孔雀石绿。

食物制造商和进口商应向可靠来源采购食物配料,并确保食物符合本港规定。

插图:回收行动牵涉的产品(由左至右):上海梅林牌 B2午餐肉 (低钠) (340克,批次编号 B2 5);梅林牌红烧排骨 (397克,批次编号 T12 10);以及梅林牌午餐肉 (198克,批次编号 M1 8)。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 17-01-2008