Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (17th Issue, December 2007) – Food Safety Platform

Arsenic and Food Safety

Reported by Mr. Arthur YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

The following article, being the fourth in this series on “Metallic Contaminants in Food”, will focus on arsenic – its various forms, how we are exposed and what can be done to minimise our exposure to arsenic.

What is Arsenic?

Arsenic is an element that is commonly found in nature. Arsenic exists in organic, inorganic arsenic (III) and arsenic (V) forms. In nature, arsenic is often present in igneous and sedimentary rock as inorganic arsenic compounds. These arsenic compounds may end up in soil, air, water or become airborne. The inorganic forms are usually considered more toxic to human, whereas the organic forms are of much less concern in toxicity.

Arsenic compounds are used industrially in the production of transistors, lasers, semiconductors, glass and pigments. A large majority of arsenic compounds related to human activities is in the form of inorganic arsenic trioxide. This particular compound is known as pishuang in Chinese, which is a poison often mentioned in old Chinese literature. The other forms of arsenic compounds are mainly used for the production of special alloys.

How Does Arsenic End Up in Food? How are People Exposed?

Generally, people are exposed to arsenic through eating. In areas where water is naturally high in arsenic, drinking water is also a significant contributor to the dietary intake. However, this is not of local concern as the maximum level of arsenic in potable water in Hong Kong is less than 0.001 mg/l between October 2006 and September 2007. This is well below the 2004 World Health Organization’s provisional guideline value of 0.01 mg/l arsenic in drinking water. Furthermore, absorption of arsenic through air and skin only plays a minor role in the general population.

As arsenic compounds are mostly soluble in water, arsenic is more likely to be present in seafood, especially shellfish. According to literature, the level of arsenic can range from 1 to 10 mg/kg in fishes and up to 100 mg/kg in bottom feeders and shellfish. The use of arsenic-containing agricultural chemicals can lead to accumulation of arsenic in soil and plants, but this only contributes to trace amount of arsenic in food. On the other hand, arsenic present in fish is more often in the less toxic organic form. According to the CFS Risk Assessment Study on the Dietary Exposure to Heavy Metals in Secondary School Students in 2002, the dietary exposure of inorganic arsenic is 2.52 and 6.77 μg/kg body weight/week for average eaters and high consumers respectively. These are lower than the safety level of 15μg/kg body weight/week, even though a conservative assumption that 10% of total arsenic detected is in inorganic form in all food is made. Our own data suggests that the proportion of total arsenic in seafood that is inorganic ranged from 0.2% to 6.0% locally. This level of dietary arsenic exposure is unlikely to cause health problems.

Illustration: Shellfish is a major source of dietary arsenic exposure in Hong Kong

What are the Effects of Arsenic on Health?

Even though pishuang may sound frightening to many Chinese, its toxicity is determined by the dose ingested. Acute poisoning due to arsenic present in food is rare. Symptoms of acute arsenic poisoning include severe vomiting and diarrhoea, accompanied by muscular cramps, facial oedema and cardiac dysfunction. It had been reported that an oral dose of 2 to 21g of arsenic was fatal, while others reported non-fatal outcome when 1 to 16g arsenic was ingested. Chronic exposure to inorganic arsenic via drinking water may cause peripheral vascular disease. The relationship of arsenic exposure and other diseases are less clear, but there is evidence for cardiovascular diseases and hypertension.

The International Agency on Research on Cancer (IARC) considered that arsenic in drinking water can cause cancer of the urinary bladder, lung and skin. IARC also consider arsenic and arsenic compounds as a whole are carcinogenic to humans, as occupational exposure to inorganic arsenic, mainly by inhalation, in mining and copper smelting increases the incidents of lung, gastrointestinal and renal cancer.

Advice to Consumers

1. Obtain food supplies from reliable sources.

2. Maintain a balanced diet and to avoid overindulgence of shellfish.

Advice to the Trade

Obtain food supplies from reliable sources and not to obtain shellfish and other seafood from contaminated areas.
Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :19-12-2007

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零七年十二月第十七期)-食物安全平台

砷与食物安全

食物安全中心风险传达组
科学主任游天颂先生报告

本文是《食物中的金属污染物》系列之四,将会集中探讨砷这种类金属,详述其不同形态、我们摄取砷的途径和减少摄入砷的方法。

砷是什么?

砷是大自然中常见的一种元素,可分为有机砷、三价无机砷和五价无机砷三种形态。在大自然里,砷多以无机砷化合物的形式,存在于火成岩和沉积岩中。这些砷化合物最终会进入土壤、空气和水中,又或随风飘散。无机砷通常被认为会对人类造成较大的毒性影响,而有机砷的毒性则低很多。

砷化合物用于制造电晶体、雷射产品、半导体、玻璃和颜料等工业用途。由人类活动产生的绝大部分砷化合物属于三氧化二砷。这种无机砷化合物又称为砒霜,是中国古典文学中常常提及的一种毒物。至于其他形态的砷化合物,则主要用于制造各种特制合金。

砷如何进入食物内?人们如何摄取到砷?

一般而言,人们通过饮食摄取砷。在水源砷含量自然偏高的地方,饮用水也是人们从饮食中摄取砷的主要来源。不过,本港并无此问题。在二零零六年十月至二零零七年九月,本港饮用水中的砷含量最高值少于每公升 0.001 毫克,远低于世界卫生组织在二零零四年就饮用水中的砷含量所订下的暂定准则值,即每公升 0.01 毫克。此外,一般人很少会透过空气或皮肤摄取到砷。

由于大多数砷化合物可溶于水中,故这种金属较常见于海产,尤其是贝类。根据文献记载,鱼类体内的砷含量由每公斤 1 毫克至 10 毫克不等,而底栖摄食动物和贝类则可高达每公斤 100 毫克。使用含砷的农用化学物会令砷在土壤和植物中累积,但这只会导致微量的砷残留在食物中。另一方面,鱼类体内的砷多属毒性较低的有机砷。根据中心在二零零二年所进行的的中学生从食物摄取到重金属的情况的风险评估研究,摄入量一般和摄入量高的中学生每周从食物摄取的无机砷,按每公斤体重计算分别是 2.52 微克和 6.77 微克。即使我们保守地假设从所有食物中检测出的砷总含量有 10% 属于无机砷,有关数字均低于安全水平,即每周按每公斤体重计算可摄取 15 微克砷。根据我们所得的数据,市民从海产摄取的砷总含量有 0.2% 至 6.0% 属于无机砷。由此可见,从食物中摄取此一水平的砷不会令健康受损。

插图:贝类是本港市民摄取砷的主要食物来源

砷对健康有何影响?

虽然不少中国人可能闻“砒霜”色变,但其毒性须视乎吃下的量而定。由食物引致的急性砷中毒罕见,急性砷中毒征状包括严重呕吐和腹泻、肌肉痉挛、面部水肿和心脏衰竭。有报告显示,吃下 2 克至 21 克的砷可引致死亡,但亦有其他报告指吃下 1 克至 16 克的砷不会有致命后果。至于从饮用水中长期摄取无机砷,可导致外周血管疾病。虽然人们摄取砷与罹患其他疾病的关系不太明显,但有证据显示摄取砷可造成心血管疾病和高血压。

国际癌症研究机构认为,饮用水中的砷可令人患膀胱癌、肺癌和皮肤癌。此外,由于从事采矿和冶铜的人在工作环境中摄入无机砷 ( 主要透过吸入方式 ) 以致患肺癌、肠胃癌和肾癌的个案增加,故该机构又认为,整体而言,砷和砷化合物会令人患癌。

给消费者的建议

  1. 向可靠的店铺购买食物。
  2. 保持均衡饮食,避免大量进食贝类。

给业界的建议

向可靠的供应商采购食物,切勿购入受污染地区的贝类和其他海产。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 19-12-2007