Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (17th Issue, December 2007) – Incident in Focus

Sulphur Dioxide in Meat

Reported by Miss Michelle Chan, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

Background

The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) conducted a targeted food surveillance project to assess the use of sulphur dioxide in fresh and frozen meat which is prohibited under current regulations. A total of 321 samples of meat (including 190 pork, 118 beef and 13 mutton samples) from various market stalls and fresh provision shops were collected for testing of the presence of sulphur dioxide. The results revealed that 15 samples (4.7%) (including three pork, 11 beef, and one mutton samples) contained sulphur dioxide at levels between 23 ppm and 3 300 ppm.

Why is Sulphur Dioxide Added to Meat?

The colour of raw meat is determined by the oxygen-carrying muscle pigment known as myoglobin which predominates on the surface of meat. Various states of myoglobin (deoxymyoglobin, oxymyoglobin and metmyoglobin) displaying different colours are shown in Fig. 1.

Fig.1. Various states of myoglobin in fresh meat display different colours.

Illustration: Changes in colour of vacuum packed chilled beef (previously frozen) in room temperature after the packaging is removed. Left: Just removed from packaging. Middle: After half an hour. Right: After 27 hours.

Deoxymyoglobin is purplish-red and contributes to the interior colour of freshly cut meat. If the raw cut meat is exposed to air for 20 to 30 minutes, the deoxymyoglobin will oxygenate to form cherry-red oxymyoglobin which is the typical colour of fresh meat sold in market stalls and fresh provision shops. However, as display time increases, oxymyoglobin oxidises to metmyoglobin and the portion of meat with brownish discolouration will increase.

Meat colour is an important sensory characteristic by which consumers make judgments of meat quality. Cuts of meat with brownish-red colour will be regarded as not fresh and undesirable for consumption. In order to display meat with attractive colour, individual traders have been found to add sulphur dioxide to meat illegally to quench the oxidative process. As a consequence, the desirable fresh meat colour (purplish-red or cherry-red) can be retained even though it is exposed to air for an extended period of time.

What is Sulphur Dioxide?

Sulphur dioxide is a commonly used preservative in a variety of foods including dried fruits, pickled vegetables and sausages. In addition to its anti-microbial and anti-browning functions, sulphur dioxide can delay discolouration in meat, fruits and vegetable caused by oxidation.

What are the Health Concerns Regarding Sulphur Dioxide in Meat?

Sulphur dioxide is a food additive of low toxicity. It is also water soluble and most of it tends to be removed through washing and cooking. Upon normal consumption, it should pose no adverse health effects on humans. However, for susceptible individuals who are hypersensitive to sulphur dioxide, allergic symptoms including shortness of breath, headache and nausea may be experienced.

Are Alternative Methods Available to Keep the Colour of Fresh Meat?

Preservatives are not allowed to be added to fresh meat. However, retention of colour of fresh meat can be accomplished by suitable packaging methods as well as proper storage and handling of meat.

Packaging

Vacuum packaging of fresh meat can retain the purplish-red colour of deoxymyoglobin which can be reoxygenated quickly to bright red oxymyoglobin once the package is removed.

Proper storage and handling

In fact, the rate of metmyoglobin formation depends on multiple factors including display temperature and bacterial load. Storage and display of meat under refrigeration and hygienic preparation of meat cuts both help to retain desirable meat colour.

How is the Use of Sulphur Dioxide in Meat Monitored in Hong Kong ?

Under Preservatives in Food Regulations, Chapter 132BD, preservatives including sulphur dioxide, nitrite and nitrate are not permitted in fresh or frozen meat. As part of the food surveillance programme, meat taken from fresh provision shops and market stalls is tested for preservatives such as sulphur dioxide, nitrite and nitrate. Relevant statistics showing test results of sulphur dioxide in meat are summarised in Fig. 2.

Advice to the Trade

1. Comply with the legal requirements and should not add sulphur dioxide to fresh meat.

2. Source food from reliable sources.

3. Store fresh meat properly under refrigeration. Prepare and handle meat following hygienic practices.

4. If applicable, employ suitable packaging methods (e.g. vacuum packaging) to keep the freshness of meat.

Advice to the Public

1. Purchase meat from reliable market stalls or fresh provision shops.

2. Do not buy or consume meat which is unnaturally red.

3. Since sulphur doxide is of low toxicity and most of it will be removed through washing and cooking, adverse health effect is unlikely upon normal consumption.

Further Information

Further information about preservatives can be obtained from the following web pages:

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :19-12-2007

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零七年十二月第十七期)-焦点个案

肉类中的二氧化硫

食物安全中心风险传达组
科学主任陈家茵女士报告

背景

食物安全中心(中心)近日进行了专项食品调查,评估新鲜和冷藏肉类中使用违禁的二氧化硫的情况。调查从街市摊档和新鲜粮食店合共抽取321个肉类样本,包括190个猪肉样本、118个牛肉样本和13个羊肉样本,以测试是否含有二氧化硫,结果发现15个样本(即4.7%)(包括3个猪肉样本、11个牛肉样本和1个羊肉样本)含二氧化硫,含量由百万分之23至百万分之3 300。

为什么在肉类中添加二氧化硫?

新鲜肉类的颜色取决于名为“肌红蛋白”的带氧肌肉色素。这种物质主要集中在肉类的表面,可分为脱氧肌红蛋白、氧合肌红蛋白和高铁肌红蛋白三种形态,而不同形态会呈现不同的颜色(见图一)。

图一 新鲜肉类中不同形态的肌红蛋白所呈现的不同颜色

插图: 真空包装的冷冻牛肉 ( 曾经冷藏 ) 在室温下除去包装后的颜色变化。左:刚从包装取出。中:半小时后。右: 27 小时后。

脱氧肌红蛋白呈紫红色,是刚切开肉类的原本颜色。如切开的新鲜肉类暴露于空气中 20 至 30 分钟,脱氧肌红蛋白便会与氧气结合,形成呈鲜红色的氧合肌红蛋白。街市摊档和新鲜粮食店所售卖的新鲜肉类通常是这种颜色。不过,当肉类摆放的时间愈久,氧合肌红蛋白会氧化为高铁肌红蛋白,肉类呈现褐色的部分便会增加。

肉类颜色是消费者用以衡量肉类品质的重要观感指标。已切开的褐红色肉类会被视为不新鲜,不宜食用。为让展示的肉类颜色诱人,有个别商户在肉类中非法添加二氧化硫,以抑制氧化过程,令肉类即使长时间暴露于空气中,也可保持消费者喜爱的紫红色或鲜红色的新鲜颜色。

二氧化硫是什么?

二氧化硫是一种防腐剂,经常用于干果、腌菜和香肠等不同种类的食物中,具有抗菌和防止褐变的功效,并可减慢肉类、水果和蔬菜因氧化造成的变色。

肉类中的二氧化硫对健康有何影响?

二氧化硫是一种毒性低的食物添加剂,可溶于水中。清洗和烹煮可除去食物中大部分的二氧化硫。在一般食用情况下,二氧化硫不会对人体健康造成不良影响。不过,对二氧化硫有过敏反应的人,则可能会出现气喘、头痛或恶心等过敏症状。

有没有其他方法保持新鲜肉类的颜色?

防腐剂 不容许 添加 于新鲜肉类 , 但 适当的包装方法及妥善贮存和处理肉类也能保持新鲜肉类的颜色。

包装

新鲜肉类采用真空包装能保持脱氧肌红蛋白所呈现的紫红色。当拆去包装后,脱氧肌红蛋白会迅速重新与氧气结合,形成呈鲜红色的氧合肌红蛋白。

妥善贮存和处理

其实,高铁肌红蛋白的形成速度取决于肉类的存放温度和含菌量等多项因素。把肉类贮存和展示在冷冻环境中,并采用符合卫生标准的方式处理已切开的肉类,均有助保持新鲜的肉类颜色。

本港如何监察肉类中使用二氧化硫的情况?

根据《食物内防腐剂规例》 ( 第 132BD 章 ) ,二氧化硫、亚硝酸盐和硝酸盐等防腐剂均不得用于新鲜或冷藏肉类。中心进行的食物监察计划,已包括从新鲜粮食店和街市摊档抽取肉类进行二氧化硫、亚硝酸盐和硝酸盐等防腐剂测试。有关肉类中的二氧化硫测试结果的统计数字见图二。

给业界的建议

  1. 遵从法例规定,不应在新鲜肉类中添加二氧化硫。
  2. 向可靠来源采购食物。
  3. 妥善冷藏新鲜肉类 ,依从符合卫生标准的方式配制和处理肉类。
  4. 如可行的话,采用适当的包装方法 ( 例如真空包装 ) 以保持肉类新鲜。

给市民的建议

  1. 向可靠的街市摊档或新鲜粮食店购买肉类。
  2. 切勿购买或进食颜色异常鲜红的肉类。
  3. 由于二氧化硫的毒性低,清洗和烹煮可除去食物中大部分的二氧化硫,故在一般食用情况下,不会对人体健康造成不良影响。

更多资料

如需更多有关防腐剂的资料,请浏览下列网页:
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 19-12-2007