Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (16th Issue, November 2007) – Food Safety Platform

Cadmium and Food Safety

Reported by Ms. Joey KWOK, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

The following article, being the third in this series on “Metallic Contaminants in Food”, will focus on cadmium. The various sources from which people are exposed to cadmium, as well as the measures that people may take to reduce their exposure to this particular metal will be discussed.

What is Cadmium? Where does it Come from?

Cadmium is a metallic element that occurs naturally in the Earth's crust. Pure cadmium is soft and silver-white, but the metal is usually present in the environment as a mineral combined with other elements such as oxygen, chlorine or sulphur. Cadmium does not break down in the environment, but it can change into different forms and bind to soil or dissolve in water to varying degrees.

Cadmium has a number of industrial applications such as electroplating, pigment production, manufacture of plastic stabilisers and pigments, nickel-cadmium batteries and electronics, etc. Fertilisers produced from phosphate ores, industrial operations such as mining and refining are important sources of environmental contamination. The largest airborne sources of cadmium in the environment originate from the burning of fossil fuels such as coal, oil and the incineration of municipal waste. Cadmium particles in air can travel long distances before coming down to the ground as dust, or along with rain or snow.

How are People Exposed to Cadmium?

People can inhale cadmium from work environment containing cadmium fumes and dust, such as from the smelting and refining of metals, and from the air in plants where cadmium products are made. For the general population, food is the main source of cadmium exposure. Crops that are grown in cadmium-contaminated soil, irrigated with cadmium-contaminated water or applied with cadmium-containing fertilisers may have increased concentrations of cadmium, as may organ meat (kidney and liver) from land animals grazing on pastures or fed on feedstuff containing the metal. Fish and shellfish will take up cadmium when inhabited in contaminated waters.

Illustration: Examples of food items that may have high cadmium contents: pork liver (left) and kidney (right)

Illustration: Examples of food items that may have high cadmium contents: shellfish


Cigarette smoking is an additional source of cadmium exposure. Smoking 20 cigarettes per day may contribute 1 to 4 μg of cadmium, and smokers may double their daily cadmium exposure as compared with non-smokers.

What are the Effects of Cadmium on Health?

While acute toxicity of cadmium due to dietary exposure is very unlikely, chronic exposure to cadmium would affect the kidney function. The International Agency for Research on Cancer of the World Health Organization considered that there was sufficient evidence of carcinogenicity of cadmium and cadmium compounds in humans upon occupational exposure. The Joint Food and Agriculture Organization / World Health Organization Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) has evaluated the safety of cadmium, and considered that cadmium did not appear to have significant carcinogenic potential via the oral route. JECFA has established a provisional tolerable weekly intake (PTWI) of 7μg per kg body weight for cadmium.

A study conducted earlier revealed that dietary exposures to cadmium among local secondary school students were below the PTWI, meaning that their dietary exposure to cadmium was unlikely to cause harmful effects. It further suggested that the food group "seafood other than fish" (i.e. shellfish) was the main contributor (33%) of dietary exposure to cadmium, followed by the food groups "cereal and cereal products" (27%) and "vegetables" (17%).

Advice to Consumers

  1. To obtain food supplies from reliable sources.
  2. To maintain a balanced diet and consume food items that may have high cadmium contents (e.g. shellfish, kidney and liver) only in moderation.
  3. Soak and wash vegetables, particularly leafy vegetables, thoroughly in water before cooking.
  4. Do not smoke.

Advice to the Trade

To observe good agricultural practice to minimise cadmium contamination in food crops and animals.

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :29-11-2007

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零七年十一月第十六期)-食物安全平台

镉与食物安全

 食物安全中心风险传达组
科学主任郭丽仪女士报告

本文是《食物中的金属污染物》系列之三,将会集中探讨镉这种金属,包括人们摄取镉的途径和减少摄入镉的方法。

 

镉是什么?镉来自何处?

镉是天然存在于地壳表面的金属元素。纯镉是银白色的软金属,在环境中通常与氧气、氯气或硫磺等其他元素结合成矿物。镉不会在环境中分解,但会转化为不同形态混合于泥土或以不同程度溶于水中。

镉在工业上的用途很多,例如电镀、生产颜料,以及用于制造塑胶稳定剂及颜料、镍镉电池和电子产品等。由磷矿生产的肥料,以及采矿和矿物提炼等工业活动则是环境污染的主要来源。大气中的镉主要来自燃烧煤和石油等化石燃料,以及焚烧都市垃圾。 空气中的镉粒子可以飘至千里之外,然后才像尘埃般沉降 到地上 , 又或 随雨、雪落在地上。

人们如何摄入镉?

人们会从工作环境中吸入镉,例如在熔炼或提 纯 金属的过程中吸入含有镉的烟或尘,又或在镉制品工厂中吸入含有镉的空气。至于一般人,则主要从食物中摄取镉。农作物如生长在受镉污染的土壤中、以受镉污染的水浇灌或施用了含镉的肥料,其镉含量可能较高。同样,陆上动物如所吃的牧草或饲料含有镉,其内脏 ( 肾及肝 ) 的镉含量亦可能较高。鱼类和贝类如生活在受污染的水域,亦会摄取到镉。

插图: 镉含量可能偏高的食物例子 : 猪肝脏 ( 左 ) 和肾脏 ( 右 )

插图:镉含量可能偏高的食物例子 : 贝类

吸烟是摄取镉的另一来源。每天抽 20 支烟会摄取到 1 至 4 微克镉,因此吸烟者每天摄取的镉分量可能较非吸烟者高出一倍。

镉对健康有何影响?

虽然从食物摄取镉导致急性中毒的机会微乎其微,但长期摄取镉会损害肾功能。 世界卫生组织辖下国际癌症研究机构认为有足够证据证明因工作关系而摄取到镉和镉化合物,会令人患癌。联合国粮食及农业组织/世界卫生组织联合食物添加剂专家委员会曾评估镉的安全,认为从饮食中摄取镉,似乎不大可能令人患癌。此外,该委员会又订定镉的暂定每周可容忍摄入量,按每公斤体重计算是 7 微克。

较 早前进行的一项 研究 显示,本港中学生从食物摄取镉的分量低于暂定每周可容忍摄入量,换言之,他们从食物中摄取镉而导致健康受损的机会不大。该研究又进一步指出,“鱼类以外的海产” ( 即贝类 ) 是中学生摄取镉的主要食物类别 (33%) ,其次依序为“谷类和谷类食品” (27%) 和“蔬菜” (17%) 。

给消费者的建议

  1. 向可靠的供应商购买食物。
  2. 保持均衡饮食,有节制地进食镉含量可能偏高的食品,例如贝类、肾脏和肝脏。
  3. 在烹煮前,用清水浸透和彻底洗净蔬菜,特别是叶菜。
  4. 不要吸烟。

给业界的建议

奉行优良务农规范以减少食用农作物和动物受到镉污染。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 21-11-2007