Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (132nd Issue, July 2017) – Food Safety Platform

Metallic Contaminants of Major Public Health Concern

Reported by Ms. Janny MA, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Metals are ubiquitous in the environment and may contaminate our food. Among the metallic contaminants which may be found in our food, four of them, namely arsenic , cadmium , lead and mercury are identified as of major public health concern by the World Health Organization. In this article, we are going to explore ways to reduce their exposures from the respective major food contributors of the population as revealed from the local Total Diet Study.

Arsenic in Rice

Arsenic is a metalloid that occurs in inorganic and organic forms. The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) has concluded that arsenic and inorganic arsenic compounds are carcinogenic to humans (Group 1).

Arsenic may be present, due to absorption through soil and water, in various foods. Rice in particular can take up more arsenic than other grains while inorganic arsenic is considered the significant toxic form of arsenic in rice. Polished (white) rice contains less inorganic arsenic than husked (brown) rice as polishing can remove bran layer which contains most of the inorganic arsenic. However, there are also benefits associated with the consumption of brown rice e.g. high content of dietary fibre.

Examples of some adverse health effects (may not be the toxicological end-point of concern and not limited to any specific route or duration of exposure) which may be caused by different metallic contaminants in humans and/or laboratory animals.
Figure 2. Average level of inorganic arsenic in various cereals and their products as revealed in the local Total Diet Study .

As a staple food, rice is a major contributor of the dietary exposure to inorganic arsenic, in which cooked white rice alone accounted for about 45% of total exposure in the local population. Studies have indicated that cooking rice with large amounts of water (from six to 10 parts of water to one part of rice) followed by discarding excess water can reduce inorganic arsenic in rice. There are also studies showing that washing rice before cooking, even though it may also wash off some nutrients like iron, niacin, thiamine and folate, can also reduce inorganic arsenic in white rice. To reduce inorganic arsenic exposure from diet, consumers may also consider choosing more other cereals and their products e.g. noodles, oatmeal and bread, which generally contain lower levels of inorganic arsenic than rice (Figure 2).

Mercury in Fish

Mercury exists in several forms i.e. metallic, inorganic and organic. Methylmercury, an organic form of mercury, is more toxic than inorganic mercury. The primary health effect of methylmercury is impaired neurological development in foetuses, infants, and children. Methylmercury exposure in the womb, which can result from a mother’s diet, can adversely affect a baby’s growing brain and nervous system.

Fish is the major dietary source of methylmercury. Predatory fish are more likely to accumulate higher amount of methylmercury than non-predatory fish species. Women planning pregnancy, pregnant women and young children should therefore avoid eating certain types of fish which may contain high levels of methylmercury such as shark, swordfish, marlin, alfonsino and tuna.

However, consuming a variety of fish and maintaining a balanced diet are important as fish contains many essential nutrients for growth and development such as omega-3 fatty acids and high quality proteins. Women and young children in particular should include fish in their diets.

Lead in Vegetables

Lead contamination of food arises from various sources, including air and soil. Chronic exposure of lead may lead to reduction of intelligence quotient (IQ) in children and increase in blood pressure in adults respectively.

“Vegetables and their products” is the main dietary source of lead (30% of the total exposure) in the local population. Leafy vegetables are more vulnerable than non-leafy vegetables or root vegetables to deposition from airborne lead e.g. from industrial pollution.

Adequate amount of vegetable intake (daily intake of at least 3 servings; about 80g per serving) is an essential component of healthy eating. Wash vegetables, particularly leafy vegetables, thoroughly in water before cooking can remove a significant portion of lead-contaminated dust and soil that are deposited on the surfaces of the vegetables. In addition, maintaining a balanced diet with a variety of vegetables, not limited to leafy vegetables, can also avoid excessive exposure to lead from a small range of food items.

In the next issue…

We will continue with the remaining metallic contaminant – cadmium, which is also of major public health concern.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-07-2017

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一七年七月第一百三十二期)- 食物安全平台

引起重大公共卫生关注的金属污染物

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任马嘉明女士报告

金属在环境中无处不在,并可能污染食物。在食物中可能存在的金属污染物中,是世界卫生组织识别为引起重大公共卫生关注的四种金属。本文将探讨减少市民从本地总膳食研究所载的主要食物来源中摄入该等金属污染物的方法。

米中的砷

砷是一种准金属,以无机及有机形态存在。国际癌症研究机构总结认为砷及无机砷化合物会令人类患癌(第1组)。

由于通过泥土及水的吸收,砷可能存在于不同的食物。与其他谷物相比,米尤其吸收较多的砷,而无机砷是米中砷的重要毒性形态。由于碾磨过程能把含有大部分无机砷的谷皮去掉,故精米(白米)的无机砷含量较糙米为低。不过,进食糙米亦有益处,例如高含量的膳食纤维。

不同金属污染物可能对人类及╱或实验动物造成一些不良健康影响 (未必是毒理学的最终关注重点,且不限于任何特定摄入途径或摄入期长短)的例子。
图二 : 香港总膳食研究 显示各种谷类及谷类制品的无机砷平均含量。

作为主要食粮,米是本地市民从膳食中摄入无机砷的主要来源,单是白米饭已占总摄入量约45%。有研究显示,以大量水煮饭(一份米对六至十份水),然后弃掉过量的水,可减低米饭的无机砷含量。此外,另有研究显示,在烹煮前洗米,即使可能失去一些营养素,例如铁、烟酸、硫胺素及叶酸,亦可减低白饭的无机砷含量。要减少从膳食中摄入无机砷,消费者亦可考虑选择多食用其他谷类及谷类制品,例如面条、麦皮/燕麦片及面包,其无机砷含量一般较米为低(图二 )。

鱼类中的汞

汞以多种形态存在,即金属汞、无机汞和有机汞。甲基汞是有机形态的汞,毒性较无机汞强。以胎儿、婴儿及儿童来说,甲基汞对健康的主要影响是导致神经发育受损。孕妇从膳食中摄入甲基汞,腹中胎儿便会摄入甲基汞,对胎儿发育中的脑部及神经系统造成不良影响。

鱼类是甲基汞的主要膳食来源。捕猎鱼类比非捕猎鱼类更可能累积较高含量的甲基汞。因此,计划怀孕的妇女、孕妇及幼童应避免进食某些甲基汞含量可能较高 的鱼类,例如鲨鱼、剑鱼、旗鱼、金目鲷及吞拿鱼。

然而,鱼类含有人体成长和发育所需的多种营养素,例如奥米加-3脂肪酸及优质蛋白质,因此进食多种鱼类和保持均衡饮食十分重要。妇女和幼童的膳食尤应加入鱼类。

蔬菜中的铅

食物中的铅污染源自各种来源,包括空气及泥土。长期摄入铅,可引致儿童智力受损和成人血压上升。

“蔬菜及蔬菜制品”是本地市民摄入铅的主要膳食来源(占总摄入量的30%)。叶菜类蔬菜较非叶菜类蔬菜或根菜类蔬菜更易积聚空气中(例如来自工业污染)的铅。

进食足够分量的蔬菜(每日最少三份蔬菜,每份约80克)是健康饮食的重要一环。在烹煮前先用水彻底清洗蔬菜(特别是叶菜类蔬菜),可清除蔬菜表面积聚的大部分受铅污染的尘埃及泥土。此外,保持均衡饮食,进食多种蔬菜(不限于叶菜类蔬菜),可避免因偏食几类食品而摄入过量铅。

下期内容 …

我们将会继续探讨余下引起重大公共卫生关注的金属污染物–镉。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 19-07-2017