Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (129th Issue, April 2017) – Incident in Focus

Review of Foodborne Disease Outbreaks Related to Food Premises and Food Business in 2016

Reported by Dr. Stella YAU, Medical & Health Officer,
Food Incidents Response & Management Unit,
Centre for Food Safety

This article reviews the food poisoning outbreaks related to local food premises and food business reported to the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) in 2016.

Foodborne Disease Outbreaks Related to Local Food Premises and Food Business

In collaboration with the Department of Health (DH), the CFS is responsible for the investigation and control of foodborne disease outbreaks related to local food premises and food business that are referred from the Centre for Health Protection (CHP) of DH. The annual number of referrals decreased generally from 2006 to 2010 and has since remained relatively stable (see Figure). In 2016, the CFS received 201 such referrals from CHP, a record low. These 201 cases affected 1011 persons.

Number of foodborne disease outbreaks related to food premises and food business and the corresponding number of persons affected from 2006 to 2016.

Number of foodborne disease outbreaks related to food premises and food business and the corresponding number of persons affected from 2006 to 2016.

Causative Agents and Contributing Factors

For the cases with the suspected microbiological causative agents being identified, bacterial foodborne agents remained the leading causes (73%) of all foodborne disease outbreaks investigated by the CFS in 2016, with Salmonella, Vibrio parahaemolyticus and Bacillus cereus being the top three incriminated bacterial pathogens. For the viral causes, norovirus, associated with the consumption of raw/undercooked bivalves, was found to be the only incriminated viral agent causing around 18% of all the outbreak referrals.

Of the 201 cases investigated last year, the most frequently identified contributing factors are consumption of raw food (e.g. oyster with norovirus), contamination by food handlers or utensils and inadequate cooking.

We discuss below are two major food poisoning outbreaks that occurred in 2016 to illustrate the importance of good hygiene and food safety practices in safeguarding food safety.

12 Clusters of Food Poisoning Outbreaks Related to the Sauces

In April 2016, 12 clusters of food poisoning outbreaks in relation to a restaurant affecting a total of 32 persons were reported to the CFS. Stool samples of four of the victims were tested positive for group D Salmonella. Epidemiological investigation of these clusters suggested that food poisoning was related to the consumption of four different incriminated food items, all of them contained sour cream sauce as ingredient. A food sample of this sauce was tested positive for group D Salmonella. In addition to sour cream sauce, samples of guacamole sauce collected during investigation were also tested positive for group D Salmonella. Further sample collected at the supplier evel were tested negative for Salmonella and other food poisoing ogranisms. Stool samples of two food handlers were tested positive for Salmonella group B and group C respectively, but they were regarded as incidental findings.

All the clusters happened within four consecutive days and before the visit of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD). Our field investigation revealed that during this period, one large bottle of sour cream sauce was re-packed into smaller bottles and multiple handling occurred during the re-packing procedure. The incriminated sour cream sauce was the probable vehicle for transmission of this food poisoning outbreak. Lapse of food hygienic practices by food handlers, cross contamination with other foods, re-packing and continual topping-up of sour cream sauces posed a risk of cross-contamination.

Health advice was given to the restaurant operators and their staff.

Sale of the incriminated food items and all related sauces including the sour cream sauce was suspended immediately to curb further cases. No further outbreaks were received afterwards.

Food Poisoning Outbreaks Related to Consumption of Buffet Meals

In June 2016, 22 clusters of food poisoning outbreaks related to consumption of buffet meals in a restaurant were reported to the CFS, a total of 108 persons reported to be affected. Six victims had submitted stool specimens for testing and all were tested positive for Vibrio parahaemolyticus (VP). VP is a common food poisoning organism and often found in the marine environment and seafood.

Epidemiological assessment and field investigation indicated that some cold served seafood provided at the buffets were possible illness sources. On-site investigation revealed that the ready-to-eat frozen cooked lobster was defrosted in a basin next to another basin for washing raw seafood. Cross-contamination by raw seafood might have contributed to the outbreak. However, the cold served RTE seafood samples, including lobsters, cold shrimps and cold crabs collected at the restaurants and supplier level showed negative results

Health advice on food, environmental and personal hygiene was given to the restaurant operators and their staff. Follow up visits were also conducted to ensure proper implementation of food safety measures. No additional cases have been reported after the control measures were implemented.

Both food poisoning outbreaks discussed above demonstrated that cross-contamination posed high risk to food safety. Cross-contamination and the resulting food poisoning could, however, be prevented by improving the training to food handlers, one of the key elements of good food hygiene practice.

Conclusion

Although the number of food poisoning outbreaks remains at a relatively low level over the past few years, there is no room for complacency. While the government will continue to be vigilant in safeguarding food safety, the trade and the public are advised to adopt and adhere to the “Five Keys to Food Safety” in order to prevent the occurrence of future outbreaks. Moreover, the management of food premises is encouraged to provide more training and monitoring to staff to enhance food safety.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-04-2017

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一七年四月第一百二十九期) - 焦点个案

二零一六年有关食肆及食物业的食源性疾病个案回顾

食物安全中心
食物事故应变及管理小组
丘瀞慈医生报告

本文就食物安全中心(中心)在二零一六年接获有关本地食肆及食物业的食物中毒个案作出回顾。

与本地食肆及食物业相关的食源性疾病个案

中心的职责之一是与卫生署合作调查及监控有关本地食肆及食物业的食源性疾病个案。这些个案均是由卫生署卫生防护中心转介。在二零零六至二零一零年,该类转介个案逐年下降,之后有关数字保持平稳(见图)。在二零一六年,中心接获201宗由卫生防护中心转介的该类个案,为记录最低。在该201宗个案中,共有1011人受影响。

2006至2016年有关食肆 / 食物业的食源性疾病个案数目及受影响人数。

2006至2016年有关食肆 / 食物业的食源性疾病个案数目及受影响人数。

病原体及成因

就微生物病原体的怀疑个案,中心在二零一六年进行调查的所有食源性疾病个案中,由细菌引起的仍然占大多数(73%),排在头三位的是沙门氏菌、副溶血性弧菌及蜡样芽孢杆菌。至于病毒所引起的食源性疾病个案,因进食生的或未彻底煮熟的双壳贝类而受感染的个案,诺如病毒是唯一的病毒性病原体,占转介个案总数约18%。

在去年调查的201宗食源性疾病个案中,最常见的成因分别是进食生吃的食物(例如受诺如病毒污染的蚝)、食物处理人员或用具造成污染,以及食物未经彻底煮熟。

我们会于下文讨论二零一六年发生的两宗大型食物中毒事故,说明具有良好卫生和食物安全守则对保障食物安全的重要性。

12宗酱料引致集体食物中毒的个案

二零一六年四月,中心接获涉及一间食肆的12宗集体食物中毒报告,共32人受影响。四名患者的粪便样本检出对D组沙门氏菌呈阳性反应。根据这些个案的流行病学调查显示,有关的食物中毒个案涉及进食以酸忌廉作配料的四款不同食品。其中一个酸忌廉样本的检测结果显示对D组沙门氏菌呈阳性反应。除了酸忌廉外,有关人员在调查期间还收集了牛油果酱进行检测,结果显示对D组沙门氏菌呈阳性反应。在供应层面进一步收集的样本,检测结果对沙门氏菌及其他导致食物中毒的有机体均呈阴性反应。两名食物处理人员的粪便样本分别检出对B及C组沙门氏菌呈阳性反应,但均被视为与事故无关。

所有食物中毒个案均是在食物及环境卫生署进行巡查前的连续四天内发生。我们在现场调查时发现,食肆在期间曾把一大瓶酸忌廉重新分装为小瓶,并在重新分装过程中经多重处理。涉事的酸忌廉可能是导致是次食物中毒事故的传播媒介。食物处理人员没有遵行食物卫生守则,与其他食物交叉污染,以及重新分装和不断添加酸忌廉,均对食物构成交叉污染风险。

中心已向食肆东主及其雇员作出卫生建议。涉事食品及所有有关酱汁(包括酸忌廉)即时暂停出售,以防止再发生食物中毒事故。其后,中心再无接获食物中毒个案报告。

进食自助餐引致食物中毒的个案

二零一六年六月,中心接获22宗涉及在一间食肆进食自助餐的集体食物中毒报告,共108人受影响。六名患者提供了粪便样本,以供检测,全部样本均检出对副溶血性弧菌呈阳性反应。副溶血性弧菌是一种常见,可导引致食物中毒的有机体,常见于海洋环境及海产。

流行病学评估及现场调查显示,自助餐所提供的一些冷食类海产可能是致病源头。现场调查发现,即食冷藏熟食龙虾放在一个洗涤盆解冻,旁边的洗涤盆则用作清洗生海产。食物被生海产交叉污染,可能是导致发生食物中毒事故的原因。然而,在食肆及供应层面收集的即食冷食类海产样本,包括龙虾、冻虾及冻蟹,检测结果显示对副溶血性弧菌呈阴性反应。

中心已向食肆东主及其雇员就食物、环境及个人卫生作出卫生建议,并进行跟进巡查,以确保该食肆已采取适当的食物安全措施。在采取监控措施后,中心并没有接获新的个案。

上文所述的两宗食物中毒事故显示交叉污染对食物安全构成很大风险。不过,只要加强对食物处理人员提供培训,便可避免食物交叉污染,继而导致食物中毒。培训是员工得以遵行食物安全守则的其中一个重要元素。

结语

虽然食物中毒个案数目在过去数年一直维持在相对较低的水平,但不容掉以轻心。政府仍会一如既往努力保障食物安全,而业界及市民亦应实践及遵守“食物安全五要点”,以预防日后发生食物中毒个案。此外,食肆管理人员应向员工提供更多培训和监察员工,以加强食物安全。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 19-04-2017