Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (126th Issue, January 2017) – Incident in Focus

Red Fermented Rice and Food Safety

Reported by Ms. Shuk-man CHOW, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety

Last month, a rumour about the prohibited sale of “red rice” in the US went viral on local social media. It was alleged that “red rice” contained a cholesterol-lowering chemical which could affect the liver and muscle. In response to the incident, the Centre for Food Safety debunked the allegation on its Facebook about the muddling of “red rice” and “red fermented rice”. This article discusses the food safety of “red rice” and “red fermented rice”.

Red Rice versus Red Fermented Rice

Red Rice

Red rice is a type of whole grain rice which has red coloured bran covering the rice kernel. According to the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, red rice is rich in fibre, B vitamins as well as minerals (e.g. iron, zinc) and is generally more nutritious than white rice. The World Health Organization and many other health authorities recommend including whole grains (e.g. red rice, oatmeal) as part of a balanced diet. Red rice is mixed with white rice to increase dietary fibre intake and is gaining popularity.

Red Fermented Rice

Red fermented rice is produced by fermenting rice with the fungus of the genus Monascus, most commonly Monascus purpures (see Fig). Different from red rice, red fermented rice (also known as red yeast rice, monascus, hong qu and angkak) is not consumed as a staple. It has been used as food colourant, flavour enhancer, for meat preservation and wine brewing in Asia for centuries. Traditionally, red fermented rice is used in furu, rice wine, and some Chinese cuisines.

Red fermented rice is made by fermenting steamed rice with fungi of the Monascus species.
Red fermented rice is made by fermenting steamed rice with fungi of the Monascus species.

Depending on the Monascus strains used and the fermentation conditions, various products of Monascus spp. may be formed. These include various pigments, which give the distinct colour to red fermented rice, and some pharmacologically active substances (e.g. monacolin K).

Safety of Red Fermented Rice

Red Fermented Rice and Monascus Pigments

Red fermented rice has a long history of use as food ingredients and medicine. It is described as a non-poisonous product in Bencao Gangmu (《本草綱目》). However, the toxicity of red fermented rice and monascus pigments has not been evaluated by relevant international food safety authorities. Toxicological information on red fermented rice and its pigments is limited.

Monacolin K

Monacolin K produced during Monascus fermentation is chemically identical to the active ingredient in the cholesterol-lowering drug lovastatin. Consumption of products containing monacolin K may affect blood cholesterol levels and causes the same types of side effects (e.g. liver toxicity and muscle problems) and drug interaction as lovastatin. While consumers have no way of knowing how much monacolin K is present in red fermented rice and its products, tests performed by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) indicate that red fermented rice sold as a food product contains no or only traces of monacolin K.

In the US, lovastatin is an active ingredient in FDA-approved drugs used to treat patients with high blood cholesterol. In 1998, the US FDA determined that a red fermented rice product, intended to be sold as dietary supplement, contained a substantial amount of monacolin K was an unapproved new drug, not a dietary supplement. On several occasions since then, the US FDA has taken action against companies selling red fermented rice products that contain more than trace amounts of monacolin K.

In the EU, the European Food Safety Authority considered that the health claim “Monacolin K from red fermented rice contributes to the maintenance of normal blood cholesterol concentrations” was substantiated at daily intakes of 10mg monacolin K from any red fermented rice preparation for adults in the general population.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Red rice should not be confused with red fermented rice.
  2. Red rice can form part of a balanced diet and is safe for human consumption.
  3. Red fermented rice has a long history of use as food ingredient in the Mainland, Japan and Taiwan.

Advice to Trade

  • Ensure claims on food labels are truthful and not misleading.
  • Use of red fermented rice or monascus pigments as food colourants are not permitted in Hong Kong (Cap 132H).

Advice to Public

  • Include whole grains, such as red rice, as part of a balanced diet.
  • Consult medical professionals if one intends to consume red fermented rice products for its cholesterol-lowering effects.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 18-01-2017

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一七年一月第一百二十六期) - 焦点个案

红麴米与食物安全

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任周淑敏女士报告

上月,本地社交媒体疯传有关美国禁售“红米”的谣言,指称“红米”含有一种降胆固醇化学物,会影响肝脏及肌肉。因应有关事件,食物安全中心在其脸书(Facebook)作出回应,指有关指称是把“红米”与“红麴米”混为一谈。本文会讨论有关“红米”与“红麴米”的食物安全问题。

红米与红麴米

红米

红米是一种全谷米,米粒外包着一层红色的麸皮。根据联合国粮食及农业组织,红米含有丰富的纤维、维他命B及矿物质(例如铁、锌),一般较白米更有营养。世界卫生组织及其他多个卫生机构均建议人们在膳食中加入全谷食物(例如红米、燕麦),作为均衡饮食的一部分。红米与白米混合食用,可增加摄入膳食纤维,并渐受欢迎。

红麴米

红麴米是以红麴菌属真菌(通常为红麴菌)发酵的米制成(见图)。与红米不一样,红麴米不会作为主食。多个世纪以来,红麴米在亚洲一直用作食用色素、增味剂、肉类防腐剂及酿酒原料。传统上,红麴米用于腐乳、米酒及部分中国菜肴。

红麴米是以蒸熟的米经红麴菌种发酵而制成。
红麴米是以蒸熟的米经红麴菌种发酵而制成。

视乎所使用的红麴菌株及发酵情况,红麴菌可产生多种物质,包括不同的色素(让红麴米有独特的颜色)及一些药理学活性物质(例如莫那可林K)。

红麴米的安全问题

红麴米及红麴色素

红麴米用作食物配料及药物已有长远历史。在《本草纲目》中,红麴米称为不含毒性的产品。不过,相关的国际食物安全机构并无就红麴米及红麴色素的毒性进行评估。有关红麴米及其色素的毒性资料亦相当有限。

莫那可林K

在红麴发酵期间所产生的莫那可林K与降胆固醇药物洛伐他汀中的有效成分的化学性质相同。食用含莫那可林K的产品或会影响血液内胆固醇的水平,同时可能引起与服用洛伐他汀一样的副作用(例如肝中毒及肌肉问题)和药物相互作用。虽然消费者无法得知红麴米及其产品中莫那可林K的含量,但美国食品及药物管理局所进行的检测显示,作为食品出售的红麴米完全不含或只含微量莫那可林K。

在美国,洛伐他汀是获食品及药物管理局批准的药物的有效成分,用作治疗血胆固醇过高的病人。一九九八年,美国食品及药物管理局判定,一款拟作食品补充剂出售的红麴米产品因含有较大分量的莫那可林K,故属未经批准的新药,而非食品补充剂。自此之后,食品及药物管理局曾数度针对出售含有超过微量莫那可林K的红麴米产品的公司采取行动。

在欧盟,欧洲食物安全局认为,在一般成年人每天可从红麴米制品摄入10毫克莫那可林K的情况下,“红麴米产生的莫那可林K有助维持血胆固醇浓度正常”的健康声称便可获确立。

注意要点:

  1. 不应把红米与红麴米混为一谈。
  2. 红米可作为均衡饮食的一部分,并可供人安全食用。
  3. 在内地、日本及台湾,红麴米用作食物配料已有长远历史。

给业界的建议

  • 确保食物标签上的声称属实及无误导成分。
  • 在本港,红麴米或红麴色素不可用作食用色素(第132H章)。

给市民的建议

  • 在膳食中加入全谷食物(例如红米),以作为均衡饮食的一部分。
  • 任何人如有意食用红麴米产品以降低胆固醇,应谘询医护人员的专业意见。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 18-01-2017