Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (125th Issue, December 2016) – Food Safety Platform

What is One Health?

Dr. Cherrie NG, Veterinary Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

The One Health concept was introduced at the beginning of the 2000s. The World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE) has summarised it as an idea that human health and animal health are interdependent and bound to the health of the ecosystem in which they exist. The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations, the OIE and the World Health Organization (WHO) recognise that addressing health risks at the human-animal-ecosystems interfaces requires partnerships among players with different perspectives on some issues and different levels of resources. It is the integrative effort of different disciplines working in the community, as a nation and globally to aim for optimal health for humans, animals and the ecosystem. The concept of One Health has been formally endorsed by the FAO-OIE-WHO Tripartite and was presented in the Tripartite Concept Note in April, 2010.

The Interconnection of Human, Animals and Ecosystem

As the human population and their movement across countries continue to increase, the interconnection of human, animals and the ecosystem becomes more significant. The demand for food rises resulting in increase in animal production to provide food. Apart from animals providing food, the human-animal bond, the dynamic relationship between people and animals in that each influences the psychological and physiological state of the other, has also continued to grow. All of the above may contribute to increase in the contact between human and wild animals and their habitat leading to more chances of exposure to new viruses, bacteria and other disease-causing pathogens.

Ecosystem health involves the health of the living and non-living components of the land and marine world. With the increase in human population and animal production, the Earth has experienced changes in climate and land use including deforestation and intensive farming practices. Contamination of the ecosystem by personal care products and pharmaceuticals has also been detected. Such changes and contamination may cause environmental degradation, pollution and ecological stress leading to potential negative impact on both human and animal health.

One Health: Human-Animal-Ecosystem Interconnection and Key Issues Related to Food Safety
One Health: Human-Animal-Ecosystem Interconnection and Key Issues Related to Food Safety

Key Issues Related to One Health

The One Health approach can enhance the collaboration between human, animal and ecosystem health sectors in order to address related issues, including but not limited to disease diagnosis, surveillance and control, combating existing and emerging diseases and zoonoses, antimicrobial resistance, food safety and food security and environmental health and environmental preservation. Some key issues related to food safety (see Fig) are highlighted below:

Zoonoses

Zoonoses are diseases and infections that are naturally transmitted between vertebrate animals and humans, examples are rabies, avian influenza H5N1 and SARS. According to the WHO, at least 61% of all human pathogens are zoonotic and have represented 75% of all emerging pathogens during the past decade.

Antimicrobial Resistance

Antimicrobial resistance (AMR) is a growing public health threat of broad concern to countries and multiple sectors. It involves various resistance mechanisms affecting a wide range of bacteria, most of which are capable of causing diseases in humans and animals. AMR, especially multidrug resistance, has resulted in higher costs in health care, failure of treatments and deaths.

Food Safety

As mentioned above, the increase in food demand results in expansion of livestock population and worldwide transport of millions of tonnes of animal and agricultural products. Some food-borne diseases can also be of zoonotic in nature, which are caused by consumption of food contaminated by pathogenic microorganisms. Common food-borne zoonoses are Salmonellosis, Campylobacteriosis and infection by E. coli where if AMR presents, can become severe food-borne infections.

In the next issue, we will further illustrate One Health with more focus on food safety.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21-12-2016

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一六年十二月第一百二十五期)- 食物安全平台

什么是“健康一体”?

食物安全中心
风险评估组
吴雪儿兽医报告

“健康一体”的概念是在二零零零年代初提出。世界动物卫生组织(动物卫生组织)概述这个理念是指人类与动物的健康彼此依存,并与所生存的生态系统的健康息息相关。联合国粮食及农业组织(粮农组织)、动物卫生组织及世界卫生组织(世卫)认为,应对人类-动物-生态系统介面的健康风险,有赖在多个问题上持不同观点及持有不同资源的各界人士携手合作。这是在社会、国家以至全球层面上从事不同专业的人士同心协力,旨在令人类、动物及生态体系达致最理想的健康状况。粮农组织、动物卫生组织及世卫三方机构已正式支持“健康一体”的概念,并于二零一零年四月的《三方概念文件》(Tripartite Concept Note)提出。

人类、动物与生态系统的互连关系

由于人口持续增长,人类跨境活动日益频繁,人类、动物与生态系统之间的互连关系更显重要。由于食物需求上升,畜牧业亦随之增长以提供食物。除了食用动物外,人类与动物的紧密关系(即人畜之间能影响彼此的心理及生理状况的互动关系)亦日趋密切。上述种种情况可能会令人类与野生动物及其栖息地增加接触,导致接触新的病毒、细菌及其他致病的病源体的机会增加。

生态系统的健康包括海陆世界的活生及非活生成分的健康。随着人口及畜牧养殖量的增长,地球的气候及土地用途(包括林木砍伐及集约化农业)有所转变。此外,生态系统亦被个人护理产品及药品玷污。有关转变及玷污可能造成环境恶化、污染及生态压力,对人畜健康造成潜在不良影响。

“健康一体” :人类 -动物 -生态系统的互连关系及与食物安全有关的主要问题
“健康一体”:人类-动物-生态系统的互连关系及与食物安全有关的主要问题

与“健康一体”有关的主要问题

采用“健康一体”方式可加强人类、动物与生态系统的卫生界别之间的协作,以应付相关问题,包括但不限于疾病的诊断、监察及控制、抵抗现有及新出现的疾病及人畜共患病、抗微生物药物耐药性、食物安全及粮食安全和环境卫生及保护。以下为一些与食物安全有关的主要问题(见图):

人畜共患病

人畜共患病是指脊椎动物与人类之间自然传播的疾病及感染,例如狂犬病、H5N1禽流感及严重急性呼吸系统综合症。根据世卫表示,过去十年,在所有人类病原体中,最少61%属人畜共患,占所有新出现的疾病病原体的75%。

抗微生物药物耐药性

抗微生物药物耐药性问题对公共卫生的威胁愈来愈大,备受各国及多个界别的广泛关注。抗微生物药物耐药性涉及不同的耐药机制,影响多种细菌,当中大部分可令人畜致病。抗微生物药物耐药性(特别是多重耐药性)问题可导致医护成本上升、治疗失效,甚至死亡。

食物安全

如上文所述,食物需求上升令活生牲畜量增加,全球需运输数以百万吨计的牲畜及农产品。一些食源性疾病属人畜共患性质,因食用受病源微生物污染的食物所引致。常见的食源性人畜共患病有沙门氏菌、弯曲菌及大肠杆菌感染,如同时出现抗微生物药物耐药性,均可成为严重的食源性感染。

我们将会在下期进一步说明“健康一体”,并集中探讨这个概念与食物安全有关的问题。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 21-12-2016