Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous Article

Food Safety Focus (123rd Issue, October 2016) – Food Incident Highlight

Toxins in Crayfish Causing Rhabdomyolysis

Recently, the Centre for Health Protection of the Department of Health reported two cases of rhabdomyolysis after consuming cooked crayfish in Shenzhen. Rhabdomyolysis (breakdown of skeletal muscle fibres) may result in kidney damage and other complications.

Rhabdomyolysis linked to consumption of red swamp crayfish (Procambarus clarkii) has been reported in Mainland China and the United States. The possible cause is an unknown heat-stable toxin that accumulated in the crayfish.

Traders are advised to: 1) buy live crayfish from aquaculture farms that are regulated by the relevant authorities and reputable exporters; 2) purchase crayfish products from processing plants that have adopted HACCP (or equivalent food safety management systems); and 3) ensure the food sold/ imported are fit for human consumption. Consumers are advised to: 1) clean crayfish before cooking and cook thoroughly; 2) purchase fresh crayfish from reputable and reliable suppliers; and 3) not overindulge in crayfish and not consume its head and internal organs.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-10-2016

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
上一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一六年十月第一百二十三期)- 食物事故点滴

小龙虾含可致横纹肌溶解症的毒素

最近,卫生署卫生防护中心报告两宗在深圳进食煮熟的小龙虾后出现横纹肌溶解症的个案。横纹肌溶解症(骨骼肌纤维溶解)可引致肾脏受损和其他并发症。

中国内地和美国均曾录得进食小龙虾(中文学名“克氏原螯虾”,拉丁学名“Procambarus clarkii”)引致横纹肌溶解症的病例,估计是积聚在小龙虾体内某种未知的耐热毒素所致。

业界应:1)向受有关当局监管的养殖场及信誉良好的出口商采购鲜活小龙虾;2)向已采用“食物安全重点控制(HACCP)”系统(或相若的食物安全管理系统)的加工企业采购小龙虾制品;以及3)确保所出售或进口的食品适宜供人食用。消费者则应:1)把小龙虾清洗干净,并彻底煮熟;2)向信誉良好和可靠的供应商购买新鲜的小龙虾;以及3)避免过量进食小龙虾,而且不要吃小龙虾的头和内脏。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 19-10-2016