Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous Article

Food Safety Focus (121st Issue, August 2016) – Food Incident Highlight

Microplastics in Seafood

Recently, the media reported that non-degradable microplastics are polluting the oceans. An environmental group has shown concerns that these microplastics may enter the food chain via fish and other seafood, thus posing a threat to food safety.

Microplastics are small plastic particles originate from various sources, e.g. fragmentation of larger plastic debris, microbeads in cosmetic formulation. According to the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA), their size ranges from 0.1 to 5 000 micrometres (i.e. from about the size of some bacteria to the size of a soybean respectively).

The EFSA has noted that microplastics may be present in fish and seafood (e.g. mussels). For fish, the EFSA opines that the quantity of microplastics in the edible portion of fish is likely to be negligible for consumer exposure. As most of the microplastics will be found in the gastrointestinal tract, gutting will decrease the exposure compared to eating whole fish. Also, the EFSA considered that consuming one portion of mussels (about 225g) would have a small effect on the exposure of additives or contaminants in the microplastics.

To reduce exposure to microplastics, the Centre for Food Safety advises the public to clean fish and seafood thoroughly, especially to remove its digestive tract, where possible, before cooking.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 17-08-2016

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
上一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一六年八月第一百二十一期)- 食物事故点滴

海产中的微塑胶

近日有媒体报道,海洋正受到不能分解的微塑胶污染。有环保团体对此表示关注,指这些微塑胶可能已通过鱼类和其他海产进入食物链,对食物安全构成危胁。

微塑胶是细小的塑胶微粒,来源是多方面的,包括由较大型塑胶垃圾分解而成的碎片和化妆品中的微胶珠等。据欧洲食物安全局的资料,这些微塑胶的大小由0.1微米(与某些细菌相若)至5毫米(一粒黄豆大小)不等。

欧洲食物安全局留意到鱼类和其他海产(如青口)体内可能存在微塑胶。该局认为鱼类食用部分的微塑胶含量微不足道;而且由于微塑胶主要残留在鱼类的肠胃道,相对于食用整条鱼,把内脏清除能减少摄入量。此外,该局认为食用一份重约225克的青口只会摄入小量附于微塑胶上的添加剂或污染物。

为减少摄入微塑胶,食物安全中心建议市民在烹煮前把鱼类和海产彻底清洗干净,特别是要把可去除的内脏除掉。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 17-08-2016