Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous Article

Food Safety Focus (120th Issue, July 2016) – Food Incident Highlight

When It Comes to Salt, Not All Soups are Created Equal

Consuming too much salt increases the risk of high blood pressure, heart attack and stroke. The World Health Organization has recommended adults limit their salt intake to 5g (sodium 2 000mg) a day. “Soups” is the second major contributor next to “sauces and condiments” to the dietary salt intake of the local adult population.

The Centre for Food Safety and the Consumer Council jointly studied 130 samples (13 types) of popular soups available in local market. Asian-style-(e.g. Tom Yum Goong soup and miso soup), Western-style- (e.g. Borsch), and Chinese-style thick soup (e.g. Hot and sour soup) had higher salt contents than Chinese-style thin soup (e.g. Kudzu root soup and Chicken with conch soup). Consuming a bowl (240g) of Tom Yum Goong soup with highest salt content (>5g) alone exceeded the recommended daily salt intake.

There is certainly room for the trade to reduce salt in soups. Consumers can ask for “less salt” and be aware of the portion size when having soups in restaurants. When making soups at home, add less salt and other condiments, or even better, do not add any.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-07-2016

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
上一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一六年七月第一百二十期)- 食物事故点滴

汤水盐含量大不同

吃盐太多会增加患高血压、心脏病和中风的风险。世界卫生组织建议成人每天摄入不多于5克盐(2000毫克钠)。汤水是本地成年人从食物摄取钠的第二大主要来源,仅次于酱料及调味品。

食物安全中心与消费者委员会合作,在市面上抽取了130个本港较常见的汤水样本(共13款)进行钠含量测试。结果显示,亚洲汤水(如冬荫功和面豉汤)、西式汤水(如罗宋汤)和中式汤羹(如酸辣汤)的盐含量高于中式清汤(如粉葛汤和响螺煲鸡汤)。喝一碗盐含量最高(多于5克)的冬荫公汤(240克)已超过每日建议摄取的盐分限量。

业界在烹调这些汤水时应尽量调低用盐的分量。市民在外出饮汤时应反映想尽量少盐,并留意汤水的分量;在家自制汤水时则应少加盐及其他调味料,最好是一点都不加。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 20-07-2016