Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (11th Issue, June 2007) – Food Safety Platform

An Overview of Natural Toxins in Food

Reported by Dr. Anna S.P. TANG, Research Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

What are Natural Toxins in Food?

As opposed to man-made chemicals such as pesticides, veterinary drugs or environmental pollutants that get into our food supply, toxins can be present due to their natural occurrence in food. Natural toxins found inherently in foods of plant and animal origins can be harmful when consumed in sufficient quantities.

Where do They Come From?

Toxic compounds are produced by a variety of plants and animals. Natural toxins may be present serving specific function in the plant and animal or evolved as chemical defense against predators, insects or microorganisms. These chemicals have diverse chemical structures and are vastly different in nature and toxicity.

Natural Toxins Present in Food of Plant Origin

Of over 300 000 different plant species in the world, at least 2 000 species are considered to be poisonous. Cases of poisoning are often reported when wild species of mushrooms, berries or other plants are ingested. Globally, only hundreds of plant species are commonly eaten, yet many of them can become toxic to the body if they are taken in excess or if they are not properly treated before consumption. Depending on the species, the edible parts of plants vary, which may include foliage, buds, stems, roots, fruits and tubers, and so are their poisonous parts.

Plants from the same genera may exhibit similar or vastly different toxicities. The amount and the distribution of the toxins present in a plant vary according to the species as well as the geographical conditions where it is grown.

In general, plant organs that are important for survival and reproduction, such as flowers and seeds, will concentrate defense compounds. These compounds may be more rapidly synthesised or stored at certain stages of critical growth, i.e. in buds, young tissue or seedlings as in the case of potato sprouts.

Common examples of natural toxins in food plants include glycoalkaloids in potatoes, cyanide-generating compounds in bitter apricot seeds and bamboo shoots, enzyme inhibitors and lectins in soya beans, green beans and other legumes.

Illustration: Sprouted potatoes

Illustration: Ginkgo seeds

Illustration: Bamboo shoots

 

Natural Toxins Present in Food of Animal Origin

Natural toxin of animal origin may be a product of metabolism or a chemical that is passed along the food chain. While poisoning after eating terrestrial animals is relatively uncommon, poisoning due to marine toxins occurs in many parts of the world. Marine toxins produced by toxic microalgae are accumulated in shellfish, crustacean and finfish following their consumption. Tetrodotoxin, a potent marine neurotoxin, is thought to be produced by certain bacteria. It is found in over 90 species of puffer fish and may cause lethality after ingested even a small amount. Seafood poisoning commonly reported in coral reef fish is due to the presence of ciguatoxin that may be found in more than 300 species of fish. Histamine produced by bacterial spoilage of scombroid fish causes another kind of seafood poisoning.

There are approximately 1 200 species of poisonous and venomous animals in the world. While most of them are not used as food, care must be taken to avoid the poisonous glands or tissue containing the toxins when these animals are used as food. Glands of some animals that are not considered poisonous or venomous when ingested can also cause food poisoning such as gall-bladder of grass carp which contains the cyprinol related chemicals.

Illustration: Lyretail

Illustration: Leopard coral grouper


Illustration: Potato grouper

Illustration: Hump head wrasse

Toxic Effects and Food Poisoning

Natural toxins in food can cause both acute and chronic health effects with a range of clinical symptoms. Acute symptoms range from mild gastrointestinal upset, neurological symptoms, respiratory paralysis to fatality. This is more likely among the susceptible groups of the population such as children and the elderly. Within hours if not shorter, acute symptoms are seen following ingestion of various marine toxins in shellfish and other seafood. Acute poisoning is also seen in the consumption of wild mushrooms or inadequately treated plants such as ginkgo seeds and bitter apricot seeds. Chronic toxicity is seen more often in poisoning caused by plants toxins such as many alkaloids. Pyrrolizidine alkaloids that are present in weeds in crops and in certain plants may cause toxicity to the liver over prolonged consumption. The amount of food that would cause toxic effects depends on the toxin level present as well as individual susceptibility.

Risk Reduction Measures

In some cases, appropriate methods of food processing and thorough cooking can be employed to destroy or reduce the level of toxin. In other cases where the toxin cannot be reduced or removed, intake should be limited. Thorough cooking destroys enzyme inhibitors and lectins of beans. Soaking in water, and boiling also remove some cyanide-generating compounds in the foods concerned. Removal of gonads, skin, and parts of certain fish eliminates toxins concentrated in these tissues. In general, whether a substance poses harm depends on its concentration, amount of intake and the health status of individual since the body can detoxify low levels of many potentially dangerous substances. As a rule of thumb, the public should follow the conventional ways of food processing that are known to be safe, and maintain a balanced and varied diet so that exposures to certain types of natural toxins can be kept to a safe level.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :08-04-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零七年六月第十一期)-食物安全平台

浅谈食物中的天然毒素

食物安全中心风险评估组
研究主任邓绍平博士报告

什么是食物中的天然毒素?

除害剂、兽医药物或环境污染物等人造化学物是食物供应中由外而至的东西,但天然毒素则不同,是食物内的已有东西。天然毒素已存在于一些植物及动物源性食物内,人们若吃下足够的分量可以造成不良影响。

天然毒素来自何处?

有毒化合物来自各类植物和动物。天然毒素可能为发挥特定作用而存在于食物及动物,又或是抵御捕食者、昆虫或微生物的化学防卫。这些化学物有形形色色的化学结构,其性质和毒性亦大有分别。

植物源性食物中的天然毒素

在全球超过300 000个已知的植物品种中,有至少2 000个属于有毒。人们吃下野生的菇类、酱果或其他植物以致中毒的个案屡见不鲜。世界上只有几百种植物为人们经常食用,但当中不少如过量进食或未经妥善处理便进食,亦会对人体有害。视乎植物的品种,可供食用部分会有不同,可以是叶子、叶芽、茎部、根部、果实或块茎,而有毒部分亦一样。

同一属的植物可有相若或截然不同的毒性。不同品种或地理环境的植物,其毒素含量及分布会有不同。

一般而言,对生存及繁殖有重要作用的植物器官(例如花朵及种子)会含有大量防卫化合物。在某些重要的生长阶段(例如马铃薯发芽时),这些化合物可能会在叶芽、幼嫩组织或幼苗中更快速地合成或贮存。

食用植物中的天然毒素常见例子有马铃薯中的甙生物碱,北杏及竹笋中可产生氰化物的化合物,黄豆、四季豆及其他豆类中的酶抑制 剂及植物血球凝集素。

插图:已发芽的马铃薯

插图:白果

 

插图:竹笋

 

 

动物源性食物中的天然毒素

动物源性天然毒素可能是新陈代谢过程中的产物或食物链中的化学物。虽然进食陆生动物后出现中毒的情况较少见,但由海洋生物毒素引致的中毒情况则在世界上不少地方发生。贝类、甲壳类动物和鱼类吃下由有毒微藻类产生的海洋毒素后会在体内积聚。河豚毒素是一种毒性强烈的海洋生物神经毒素,相信是由某些细菌所产生。超过90种河豚含有这种毒素,人们即使吃下小量毒素亦可致命。由于雪卡毒素可存在于超过300种珊瑚鱼,故此海产食物中毒报告常涉及这类鱼。鲭鱼因细菌性腐坏而产生的组胺亦会导致另一种海产食物中毒。

目前全球约有1 200种有毒及有毒腺的动物。虽然大多数不会作食用,但如用作食物时,必须小心避免毒腺或含毒素的组织。吃下一般不被认为是有毒动物的某些腺状组织,例如含有与鲤醇相关化学物的鲩鱼胆,也可引致食物中毒。

插图:燕尾星斑

 

 

插图:东星斑

 

插图:金钱龙趸

 

插图:苏眉

毒性影响与食物中毒

食物中的天然毒素可对健康造成急性及慢性影响,有关临牀症状各有不同。急性症状由轻微的肠胃不适、神经症状、呼吸系统停顿以至死亡。儿童和长者等组别尤其易受毒素影响。有关症状会在吃下贝类及其他海产中的海洋生物毒素后数小时甚或更短的时间出现。此外,涉及食用野菇或未经恰当处理植物(例如白果和北杏)的中毒个案亦会出现急性中毒。至于慢性中毒,则较常见于由植物毒素(例如多种生物碱)引起的中毒个案。长时间吃下谷物杂草及某些植物中的吡咯联啶生物碱可对肝脏有害。可造成毒性影响的食物分量视乎毒性水平及个人敏感程度而定。

减低风险措施

在一些情况下,适当的处理食物方法和彻底煮熟食物均可去除毒素或减低其水平。在不能减低或消除毒素的其他情况下,则应限制摄取量。彻底烹煮可消除豆类当中的酶抑制剂和植物血球凝集素。此外,浸泡于水中和以沸水烹煮亦可消除有关食物中部分可产生氰化物的化合物。摘去某些品种鱼类的生殖腺、皮及器官可除去集中在这些组织内的毒素。一般而言,某物质是否有害视乎其浓度、摄取量及个人健康状况,因为人体能够消解许多低水平的潜在危险物质。根据经验所得,市民应遵从传统已知的安全处理食物方法,并保持均衡饮食,进食不同种类的食物,以求把某些天然毒素摄取量维持在安全水平。

 

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 28-01-2015