Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (11th Issue, June 2007) – Incident in Focus

Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning

Reported by Ms. Joey KWOK, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

Background

On 27 April 2007, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) announced that Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning (PSP) toxins were detected at a high level in a scallop sample taken from a local market. Having considered the high health risk associated with the level of PSP toxins, the CFS advised members of the public to stop consuming scallops (Sin Pui) for the time being. Meanwhile, the CFS stepped up surveillance and initiated source-tracing of the affected shellfish. Subsequent sampling and testing revealed the presence of PSP toxins in the range of 1 120 to 2 560 micrograms per 100 grams in another seven scallop (Sin Pui) samples, all belonging to the same species, Patinopecten yessoensis. Another four samples of scallop (Sin Pui) belonging to a different species and five samples of a different type of scallop (Dai Tsi) were all found to be satisfactory. At around the same period, the Centre for Health Protection (CHP) received reports of suspected PSP cases in association with the consumption of scallops.

Illustration: Scallops found to contain high levels of PSP toxins

PSP Toxins in Shellfish and Other Seafood

PSP toxins are a group of some 20 closely related tetrahydropurines with varying toxicities amongst which saxitoxin being the most toxic. PSP toxins are produced by certain species of microscopic algae. Under favourable environmental conditions, microscopic algae may multiply rapidly and result in algal blooms (commonly known as “red tide” because seawater can become discoloured from the dense accumulation of algae). In the event that the species of algae concerned are toxin-producing, filter-feeding bivalve shellfish such as scallops, mussels, oysters, clams and cockles which feed on these algae in the affected seawaters can become contaminated.

Bivalve shellfish can accumulate PSP toxins in their tissues, although they are relatively resistant to the toxic effects. The rate of toxin taken up by the shellfish, the period of toxin retention and the distribution of toxins within the shellfish tissues are highly dependent on the particular species of shellfish, as well as prevailing environmental conditions. Some shellfish species can remain toxic for extended period of time from weeks up to several months. The concentration of PSP toxins is generally higher in the viscera of contaminated shellfish.

Currently, there are no known methods available for detoxifying live contaminated shellfish in a way that is safe, fast and economically feasible, nor reliable quick test to determine the presence of PSP in shellfish flesh. As such, algal toxin monitoring programmes which monitor for the presence of toxin producing algae in shellfish harvesting or culture zones and for toxins in shellfish flesh are widely practised preventive measures against shellfish poisoning across the world. With reference to the routine surveillance programme conducted by the CFS in 2004-06, some 1300 molluscan shellfish samples were tested for PSP toxins, five samples were found unsatisfactory.

Besides bivalve shellfish, PSP toxins can accumulate through the marine food web and be found in gastropods like whelks and abalones, crustaceans like crabs and lobsters as well as fishes such as mackerels and puffers. Such contaminations, however, are reported less frequently than those related to their bivalve shellfish counterparts.

Health Significance of PSP Toxins

The levels of PSP toxins at which intoxications occur vary considerably in humans, mainly due to individual difference in sensitivity. According to literature, the doses causing symptoms of PSP in humans can be as low as 120 micrograms per person. Some reported a dose of over 1 000 micrograms to cause mild symptoms.

The symptoms of PSP are predominantly neurological and the onset is usually within minutes to hours after ingestion of the shellfish. Initial symptoms may include tingling, numbness of the mouth and extremities, headache, dizziness and gastrointestinal discomfort. In the majority of cases, symptoms resolve completely within a few days. In severe cases, difficulty in swallowing and speech, paralysis with respiratory arrest and even death may occur. There is no antidote for PSP toxins, clinical management for affected individuals is therefore supportive.

In Hong Kong , sporadic cases of PSP occur from time to time. According to the CHP, there were 42, 3 and 5 cases of PSP in 2005, 2006 and 2007 (as of 6 Jun 2007 ), affecting 70, 5 and 9 people, respectively.

Risk Reduction Measures in Relation to Shellfish Poisoning

Poisonous shellfish neither looks, smells nor tastes different from uncontaminated shellfish. PSP toxins are heat-stable and cannot be destroyed through normal home cooking or steaming. Furthermore, the toxins are water-soluble and may dissolve in the cooking liquid, rendering the cooking liquid highly toxic.

Members of the public are advised to remove the viscera and gonads of shellfish before cooking (please refer to illustration). They should eat a smaller amount of shellfish in any one meal, and avoid consuming the cooking liquid. They should seek medical advice immediately if symptoms occur after consuming shellfish.

Illustration: The anatomy of a scallop

Members of the trade are advised to source shellfish from reliable suppliers, and maintain a good recording system to facilitate source-tracing if necessary.

Further Information

Readers may obtain further information from the following websites:

 

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :08-04-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零七年六月第十一期)-焦点个案

麻痹性贝类中毒

食物安全中心风险传达组
科学主任郭丽仪女士报告

背景

二零零七年四月二十七日,食物安全中心(中心)宣布,从某街市抽取的一个扇贝样本验出高水平的麻痹性贝类毒素。中心认为有关毒素水平对健康造成影响的风险偏高,遂建议市民暂时停吃扇贝,并立即加强监察工作,追查问题扇贝的来源。随后的抽查和化验工作显示,再有七个扇贝样本验出含麻痹性贝类毒素,全部属于同一品种(虾夷扇贝),毒素含量由每100克1 120至2 560微克。另外有四个属于不同品种的扇贝样本及五个带子样本均取得满意的化验结果。其间,卫生防护中心亦接获与进食扇贝有关的怀疑麻痹性贝类中毒个案。

插图:验出含高水平麻痹性贝类毒素的扇贝

贝类及其他海产中的麻痹性贝类毒素

麻痹性贝类毒素属于四氢嘌呤类,约有20多个不同毒性的相关种类,当中以石房蛤毒素的毒性最强。麻痹性贝类毒素由某些品种的微藻类所产生。在有利的环境条件下,微藻类可迅速生长,造成藻类暴发性地大量繁殖(海水因满布藻类而变色,故俗称“红潮”)。如有关品种的藻类会产生毒素,以滤食为生的双贝类(例如扇贝、带子、青口、蚝、蚬和蛤)吃下这些在受影响海水中的藻类便会受污染。

双贝类虽然较能抵受麻痹性贝类毒素的毒性影响,但会把毒素积聚在组织内。贝类积聚毒素的速度、毒素留在贝类体内的时间长短及毒素在贝类组织内的分布,主要取决于贝类的品种及当时的环境条件。部分贝类品种可在长达数周至数月后仍然有毒。麻痹性贝类毒素在受污染贝类的内脏含量一般较高。

现时既无已知是安全、快捷及符合经济原则的方法消除活的受污染贝类海产中的毒素,亦无可靠的快速测试确定贝肉是否含麻痹性贝类毒素。因此,各类藻类毒素监察计划在世界各地广泛推行,作为贝类中毒预防措施。这些计划监察贝类捞捕区或养殖区内有否出现可产生毒素的藻类及贝肉中的毒素。中心在二零零四至零六年间进行的恒常监察计划,已就1 300多个软体贝类动物样本进行麻痹性贝类毒素化验,其中有5个属于不满意样本。

除了双贝类之外,麻痹性贝类毒素会透过海洋食物网积聚,并可存在于腹足类动物(例如蛾螺和鲍鱼)、甲壳类动物(例如蟹和龙虾)及鱼类(例如鲭鱼和河豚)内,但这些海产受污染的报告较双贝类为少。

麻痹性贝类毒素对健康的影响

可引致中毒的麻痹性贝类毒素水平因人而异,差别甚大,这主要因为每个人的敏感程度有别。根据文献记载,令人出现麻痹性贝类中毒症状的毒素分量可低至120微克,此外,亦有指毒素分量超过1 000微克才会令人出现这些轻微中毒症状。

麻痹性贝类中毒症状主要与神经系统相关,通常在进食贝类后数分钟至数小时内出现。初期症状包括刺痛、口部及四肢麻痹、头痛、晕眩及肠胃不适。在大多数的病例中,症状会在数日内完全消退。严重者可能会出现吞咽及发音困难、瘫痪、呼吸停顿,甚至死亡。由于现时并无解毒剂可消解麻痹性贝类毒素,因此,向病者提供的临牀疗法均属支持性质。

本港不时发生零星的麻痹性贝类中毒个案。根据卫生防护中心的资料,在二零零五、零六及零七年(截至零七年六月六日),分别有42宗、3宗及5宗麻痹性贝类中毒个案,受影响人数分别为70人、5人及9人。

减低贝类中毒风险的措施

有毒贝类在外貌、气味及味道上与没有受污染贝类并无分别。麻痹性贝类毒素非常耐热,不能透过一般家居烹调或蒸煮消除。此外,这种毒素可溶于水,可能会溶于烹调的汁液内,令汁液毒性甚高。

市民应在烹煮前先除去贝类的内脏及生殖腺(请参考插图),每次进食较少分量,并避免食用烹调汁液。如进食贝类后出现中毒症状,应立即求医。

插图 :扇贝 的内部构造

业界应向可靠的供应商采购贝类,并保存良好的记录制度,以便在有需要时有助追查来源。

更多资料

读者可透过下列网页取得更多资料:

 

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 08-04-2008