Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (119th Issue, June 2016) – Food Safety Platform

Raw Oysters, Stay or Out?

Reported by Ms. Janny MA, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Despite the Centre for Food Safety (CFS)’s ongoing publicity regarding eating raw oysters carries inherent risk, every now and then food poisoning outbreaks linked to raw oysters are reported in Hong Kong. Recently, there are discussions on simply banning the sale of raw oysters. Should we do this?

Microbiological Hazards Associated with Raw Oysters

Oysters feed by filtering the surrounding waters and may concentrate harmful microorganisms, including viruses (e.g. norovirus and Hepatitis A virus) and bacteria (e.g. Vibrio parahaemolyticus and Vibrio vulnificus) in their tissues. During 2013-2015, there were 18 confirmed norovirus food poisoning cases and two confirmed Vibrio parahaemolyticus food poisoning cases, affecting a total of 140 people, related to the consumption of raw oysters reported to the Centre for Health Protection of the Department of Health. Whilst illnesses caused by the consumption of contaminated raw oysters are usually mild and self-limiting, they can also be deadly, especially for the susceptible populations (e.g. elderly, young children, pregnant women and people with weakened immune systems or liver diseases).

Should I ban myself from eating raw oysters??!
Should I ban myself from eating raw oysters??!

Risk Management Options

To control the hazards associated with raw oysters, national authorities are taking various control measures to protect public health. Knowing the main hazard for the production of oysters is microbiological contamination of waters in which they grow, one of the most widely used management options is the regular microbiological monitoring of oyster harvesting areas or oyster tissues and classifying the areas. For instance, in the EU, oyster production areas are classified into three classes according to the level of faecal contamination. Only oysters harvested from Class A areas (with least faecal contamination) can be used for direct human consumption, whereas oysters collected from areas of other classes are to be used only after depuration, relaying or heat processing. Other management options include ensuring appropriate temperature control to prevent out-growth of bacteria after harvesting.

Depuration VS Relaying

Depuration is a process of holding oysters in tanks of clean seawater for a relatively short period of time (e.g. two days) to allow contaminants to be purged. Relaying refers to the removal of oysters from a microbiologically contaminated growing area to an acceptable area for a longer period of time (e.g. two months) to reduce the level of contamination.

In Hong Kong, importers are encouraged to obtain health certificates issued by relevant authority of the exporting countries to accompany their imports, certifying that the raw oysters concerned are fit for human consumption. Food businesses should also obtain a restricted food permit before selling oysters to be eaten in raw state. Like other jurisdictions, the CFS has made reference to Codex to set microbiological limits for oysters intended for direct consumption.

Even though effective measures are in place, there is no guarantee that raw oysters are completely free from microbiological risks, e.g. raw oysters harvested from areas monitored for faecal contamination may still contain norovirus. It is not always possible to detect problems before food poisoning cases due to limitations of the current knowledge and technology including laboratory testing. From June 2013 to May 2016, the CFS put up 10 import and sale bans (more stringent measures) towards raw oysters harvested from various harvesting sites due to possible link to local food poisoning cases/ outbreaks or tested positive for norovirus by overseas authorities.

Why Not Simply Ban All Raw Oysters?

Superficially, banning the import and sale of oysters intended for raw consumption can solve the problems for good. It is, however, a drastic (also not proportionate to the risk posed to public health) measure to avoid such risk. And oyster lovers may eventually have greater temptation to consume oysters not destined for direct consumption raw, i.e. even riskier! In addition, banning all imported raw oysters without sufficient scientific substantiation would result in unnecessary barriers to international trade, which would be subject to the World Trade Organization challenge.

In fact, there is no such thing as “zero risk” for food. Take leafy vegetables which play an important role in a healthy diet as an example, they accounted for more foodborne illnesses (~2.2 million per year; 22%) than any other commodities including molluscs (~0.28 million per year; 3%) in the US in 1998-2008. Consumers should make informed food choice based on their capacity for risk.

Shared Responsibility for Food Safety

With proper risk management and communication by the government as well as efforts made by the trade, the general public can choose and enjoy a wide range of food in our gourmet paradise while susceptible populations should always avoid eating high risk food including raw oysters.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 15-06-2016

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一六年六月第一百一十九期)- 食物安全平台

生蚝去或留?

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任马嘉明女士报告

虽然食物安全中心(中心)一直致力向公众宣传进食生蚝的固有风险,但本港仍不时发生与进食生蚝有关的食物中毒事故。最近,有评论指应禁售所有生蚝。我们应该这样做吗?

生蚝的微生物危害

以过滤周遭的水来进食,其体内组织因而有机会积聚有害微生物,包括病毒(例如诺如病毒和甲型肝炎病毒)和细菌(副溶血性弧菌和创伤弧菌)。在二零一三至二零一五年期间,卫生署卫生防护中心共录得18宗与进食生蚝有关的确诊诺如病毒食物中毒个案及两宗与进食生蚝有关的确诊副溶血性弧菌食物中毒个案,共影响140人。虽然进食受污染的生蚝而引起的疾病一般病征较轻微,但亦可致命,尤其是高危一族(例如长者、幼儿、孕妇和免疫系统较弱的人士及肝病患者)。

我应该对生蚝避之则吉吗??!
我应该对生蚝避之则吉吗??!

风险管理措施

为控制与生蚝有关的危害,各国政府采取了不同的控制措施以保障公众健康。由于产蚝的主要危害来自生长水域中的微生物污染,其中一项最常用的管理措施是定期监控采蚝水域或蚝只的微生物含量,并按结果把地区分级。例如欧盟按蚝只受粪便污染的程度把产蚝区分为三级。只有采自A级产区的蚝(粪便污染程度最低)才能供人直接食用,而采自其他级别产区的蚝必须经过净化、暂养或加热处理后才能使用。其他的管理措施包括在捕捞后确保有适当的温度控制以防止细菌大量滋生。

净化与暂养的分别

净化是把蚝放置在干净海水箱中一段短时间(如两天),以去除蚝体内的污染物。暂养则是把蚝从受微生物污染的生长区域移至水质可接受的区域放养一段较长的时间(如两个月),以减低污染水平。

净化是把蚝放置在干净海水箱中一段短时间(如两天),以去除蚝体内的污染物。暂养则是把蚝从受微生物污染的生长区域移至水质可接受的区域放养一段较长的时间(如两个月),以减低污染水平。

在香港,进口商在进口生蚝时应附上来源地有关当局签发的卫生证明书,以证明进口的生蚝适宜供人食用。食物业处所必须申领限制食物售卖许可证,方可售卖供人直接食用的生蚝。就像其他司法管辖区般,中心已参考食品法典委员会的标准为拟供直接食用的蚝制定微生物限量。

但是,即使已采取有效措施,仍不能保证生蚝完全没有微生物风险,例如采自粪便污染程度受监控区域的蚝仍有可能含有诺如病毒。目前的知识和科技(包括化验)仍有不足之处,未必能在发生食物中毒个案前发现问题。由二零一三年六月至二零一六年五月,中心发出了十个禁令,禁止不同捕捞区的生蚝进口及在港销售(较严厉措施),原因是涉嫌与本地食物中毒个案/事故有关或被海外当局验出含诺如病毒。

何不索性禁售所有生蚝?

全面禁止拟供直接食用的生蚝进口及出售表面上看来可以一劳永逸地解决问题,但与食用生蚝的风险比较,此举未免过激,与问题的严重性亦不相称。更有可能驱使爱蚝人士在没有选择的情况下,连非供直接食用的蚝也照样生吃不误,这样岂不是更加危险!此外,在没有充分科学佐证的情况下禁止所有生蚝进口,会对国际贸易造成不必要的障碍,有可能面对世界贸易组织的诘问。

事实上,“零风险”的食物是不存在的。就拿健康饮食必备的叶菜类蔬菜为例,美国在一九九八至二零零八年间,每年约有220万宗因进食叶菜类蔬菜引起的疾病,占食源性疾病总数的22%,比软体动物为多(因进食软体动物而引起的疾病约为每年28万宗,占总数的3%),亦是所有食物之冠。因此,消费者应根据自己能够接受的风险程度,作出有依据的食物选择。

食物安全 人人有责

在政府适当的风险管理和沟通,以及业界的努力下,市民得以在香港这个美食天堂选择并享用各款美食,但高危一族应时刻注意避免进食生蚝等高风险食物。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 15-06-2016