Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (118th Issue, May 2016) – Incident in Focus

Raw Aquatic Food Products – A Source of Pathogens and Parasites

Reported by Mr. Johnny CHU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Last week, media reported that some local restaurants prepared and sold ready-to-eat raw drunken/marinated crabs, shrimps, cockles and the like, albeit without a restricted food permit from the Food Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) for selling sushi and sashimi (see Figure). In Hong Kong, consumption of raw aquatic food products has been considered one of the causes of food poisoning.

Dietary exposure risk assessment will be conducted to ensure that any pesticide residues remaining in the crop will not be harmful to consumers before an MRL is adopted.
FEHD licence with special endorsement for sale of sushi and sashimi

Hazards Associated with Raw Aquatic Food Products

Parasites

According to the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, parasites are more likely to be present in wild caught aquatic animals and certain aquaculture fish if the fish is not fed exclusively on a diet free of parasites. The parasites that are of most concern include flukes (liver flukes and lung flukes), roundworms (e.g. Angiostrongylus cantonensis) and tapeworms (e.g. Diphyllobothrium spp.). Some freshwater crabs and snails are known to be infected with lung flukes and roundworms respectively while fish may be infected with liver flukes and tapeworms.

Bacteria and Viruses

The harmful microorganisms of concern include both bacteria (e.g. Vibrio parahaemolyticus (VP) and Vibrio cholerae (VC)) and viruses (e.g. norovirus). VP occurs naturally in seawater (estuaries and coastal areas). Hence, some seafood is inevitably contaminated with VP. On the other hand, VC can live in both saltwater and freshwater such as rivers. In Hong Kong, norovirus is a prevalent foodborne virus that is commonly found in polluted seawater and shellfish living in polluted areas is easily contaminated.

Public Health Significance

Roundworms may embed in the intestinal wall and cause nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea, and severe abdominal pain and sometimes may penetrate the intestine. Tapeworms, which may grow to many feet in length, can cause abdominal swelling and abdominal cramps and may lead to weight loss and vitamin B12 deficiency anaemia. Heavy aggregates of parasitic worms can also cause intestinal blockage, particularly in small children. Besides causing abdominal discomfort and diarrhoea, liver flukes and lung flukes may migrate to the liver and lung respectively and sometimes lead to serious complications in other vital organs such as hearts and brains.

VP is amongst the top food poisoning agents in Hong Kong. Symptoms include abdominal pain, diarrhoea, vomiting and sometimes mild fever. Cholera, an acute diarrhoeal disease, is caused by the bacterium VC. Although not commonly reported nowadays in Hong Kong, cholera can cause profuse diarrhoea and, without prompt treatment, may lead to dehydration and death. Worldwide, norovirus is recognised as the most important cause of non-bacterial outbreaks of gastroenteritis. Consumption of contaminated raw oysters is an important cause of norovirus infection locally. Symptoms may include nausea, vomiting, non-bloody diarrhoea and abdominal cramps. Secondary person to person spread may occur.

Preventive Measures

1. Avoid consuming raw marinated aquatic food products

Raw fish and crabs may contain harmful bacteria and parasites while shellfish are more commonly contaminated with harmful bacteria and viruses. Using ingredients such as wine, vinegar, soy sauce, garlic, chilli to marinate fish and crabs cannot effectively kill harmful microorganisms and parasites. Hence, marinated raw crabs (e.g. drunken crabs), raw fish (e.g. ceviche), raw shrimps (e.g. Thai-style shrimp sashimi) and raw cockles (e.g. drunken cockles) have been reported to cause food poisoning.

2. Avoid consuming undercooked aquatic food products

In some regions, light-cooking (or quick-boiling) of shellfish such as cockles is claimed to be able to keep the fine flavour of the shellfish. However, consumption of undercooked shellfish is also a cause of food poisoning because light-cooking cannot effectively destroy harmful microorganisms and parasites.

Some facts you should know

  • In South Korea, nationwide survey data showed that infection caused by the lung fluke had been common in 1960s, becoming less prevalent in the 1990s, but has re-emerged since 2000s.
  • In the summer of 2006, over 130 people in Beijing were infected with parasitic roundworms (i.e. Angiostrongylus cantonensis) after eating undercooked snails.
  • In 1988, over 290 000 cases of Hepatitis A were reported in Shanghai due to the consumption of raw or partially cooked cockles.

Cooking aquatic products thoroughly is the only way to prevent diseases caused by harmful microorganisms and parasites.

Regulatory Control

In Hong Kong, food premises holding a general restaurant or food factory licence have to obtain relevant permission from FEHD in the form of endorsement onto the licence for manufacturing and sale of sushi and sashimi. Others who want to sell but not manufacture sushi and sashimi also need to obtain a restricted food permit. No matter selling of restricted food online or by traditional means, operators should, with regard to their mode of operation and the types of restricted food offered for sale, obtain relevant licences/permits as required by the law.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Marinating raw aquatic food products with wine, vinegar, etc. cannot effectively kill bacteria and parasites.
  2. Cooking aquatic food products thoroughly is the only way to prevent diseases caused by harmful microorganisms and parasites.
  3. Food premises holding a general restaurant or food factory licence have to obtain special endorsement for manufacturing and sale of sushi and sashimi.

Advice to the Trade

  • Ensure that the products are fit for consumption and in compliance with relevant legislative requirements.
  • Obtain relevant licence/permit from FEHD for manufacturing and/or sale of sushi and sashimi.
  • Avoid serving raw or partially cooked crabs, snails, cockles and the like.

Advice to the Public

  • Avoid eating raw or partially cooked crabs, snails, cockles and the like.
  • Check whether the premises have a FEHD licence or permit for sale of sashimi and sushi before patronising or ordering.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 18-05-2016

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一六年五月第一百一十八期)-焦点个案

未煮熟的水产──病原体和寄生虫的温牀

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任朱源强先生报告

上星期有传媒报道指本港有食肆售卖以酒或其他酱料腌制的即食生蟹、生虾和生蛳蚶等,而这些食肆未持有食物环境卫生署(食环署)发出的售卖寿司及刺身特别批签(见图)。在本港,进食未煮熟的水产一直被指是食物中毒的成因之一。

最高残余限量在正式采用前会进行膳食摄入量风险评估,以确保残留在农作物的除害剂不会危害消费者健康。
附有获准售卖寿司和刺身特别批签的食环署牌照

未煮熟的水产的危害

寄生虫

联合国粮食及农业组织指出,野外捕获的水产较可能带有寄生虫;人工养殖的鱼类如投喂的饲料含有寄生虫,亦有可能受寄生虫感染。在众多寄生虫中,最令人关注的是吸虫(肝吸虫和肺吸虫)、蛔虫(如广州管圆线虫)和縧虫(如裂头縧虫属)。一些淡水蟹和淡水螺已知分别有肺吸虫和蛔虫寄生,而鱼类则可能带有肝吸虫和縧虫。

细菌和病毒

有害的微生物包括细菌(例如副溶血性弧菌和霍乱弧菌)和病毒(例如诺如病毒)两种。副溶血性弧菌天然存在于海水(河口和近岸水域)中,难免会有海产受到弧菌的污染。另一方面,咸水和淡水(例如河流)均有霍乱弧菌的踪影。诺如病毒则是本港最常见的食源性病毒之一,普遍存在于受污染的海水中。介贝类海产若生长于被污染的水域,受污染的机会就会大大提高。

对公众健康的影响

蛔虫寄生在肠壁内,可造成恶心、呕吐、腹泻和剧烈腹痛,有时甚至会穿透肠壁。縧虫的成虫可长达数呎,患者会出现腹涨、腹部绞痛、体重下降和因缺乏维他命B12而引致贫血。縧虫量多时,可使肠道堵塞,这种情形在幼童身上特别容易发生。肝吸虫和肺吸虫除了引致腹部不适和腹泻外,还有可能分别进入肝脏和肺部,有时更会导致重要器官(如心脏和脑部)出现严重并发症。

副溶血性弧菌是本港最常见的食物中毒病原体之一,症状包括腹痛、腹泻和呕吐,有时会出现轻微发烧。霍乱是一种由霍乱弧菌所引起的急性肠道传染病。虽然现时在本港已经不常见,但霍乱可引致严重腹泻,若患者未能及时接受适当治疗,有可能出现严重脱水甚至死亡。诺如病毒被认为是世界各地非细菌性肠胃炎爆发的主要致病原。在本港,进食受污染的生蚝是人们感染诺如病毒的主要成因,病征包括恶心、呕吐、不带血的腹泻和腹痛。诺如病毒可以人传人的方式传播。

预防措施

1. 避免进食生腌水产

未经煮熟的鱼和螃蟹或含致病菌和寄生虫,而介贝类则较常受致病菌和病毒污染。以酒、醋、豉油、蒜头、辣椒等腌制鱼和螃蟹并不能杀死这些有害的微生物和寄生虫。因此,生腌螃蟹(例如醉蟹)、生腌鱼(例如南美鱼生 ceviche)、生虾(例如泰式生虾刺身)和生腌蛳蚶(例如醉蛳蚶)都曾成为人们食物中毒的元凶。

2. 避免进食未煮熟的水产

在某些地区,人们习惯把蛳蚶等介贝类水产只煮到半熟(或轻焯),认为这样能保持食物的鲜味。但进食未经煮熟的介贝类也是食物中毒的常见成因之一,因为食物只是煮到半熟,里面的有害微生物和寄生虫还未被杀死。

一些不可不知的事实 :

  • 南韩的全国调查数据显示,肺吸虫病在上世纪六十年代一度非常普遍,到九十年代有所下降,但在本世纪初又再次上升。
  • 2006年夏天,北京逾130人在吃了未熟透的福寿螺后感染蛔虫(广州管圆线虫)。
  • 1988年,上海超过29万人感染甲型肝炎,起因是食用了生的或未经彻底煮熟的蛳蚶。

把水产彻底煮熟才是预防有害微生物和寄生虫致病的唯一方法。

规管情况

在本港,持有普通食肆牌照或食物制造厂牌照的食物业处所必须获食环署在牌照上特别批签,才可制造及售卖寿司和刺身。其他食物业处所如欲售卖而非制造寿司和刺身,亦须申领受限制食物售卖许可证。无论是在互联网上还是在实体店铺销售受限制食物,经营者均须按经营方式及所销售的受限制食物种类,依法申领所需的牌照/许可证

注意要点:

  1. 以酒、醋等腌制生的水产并不能杀死细菌和寄生虫。
  2. 把水产彻底煮熟才是预防有害微生物和寄生虫致病的唯一方法。
  3. 持有普通食肆牌照或食物制造厂牌照的食物业处所必须申领特别批签,才可制造及售卖寿司和刺身。

给业界的建议

  • 确保所出售的食品适宜供人食用,并符合本港法例标准。
  • 如欲配制及/或售卖寿司和刺身,必须向食环署领取相关的牌照/许可证。
  • 避免供应生的或未经彻底煮熟的螃蟹、螺及蛳蚶之类的水产。

给市民的建议

  • 避免进食生的或未经彻底煮熟的螃蟹、螺及蛳蚶之类的水产。
  • 光顾食肆或点菜前,应留意该食肆是否有食环署发出之牌照及售卖刺身和寿司的批签。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 18-05-2016