Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (117th Issue, April 2016) – Food Safety Platform

HACCP – An Effective System to Improve Food Safety

Reported by Dr. Anna S.P. TANG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In Hong Kong, irregularities and sub-standard practices in foods manufactured locally have caused food incidents from time to time over the past years. Bacteria implicated in food incidents include Listeria monocytogenes in sushi, Bacillus cereus in prepackaged Chinese-style soup, and Clostridium perfringens and Bacillus cereus as suspected organisms in lunch box causing food poisoning, just to name a few. Could these food incidents be prevented at all? Can implementation of HACCP system in these food businesses lower their occurrence? In this article, let us look at how HACCP positively impacts food safety.

What is HACCP?

HACCP stands for Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point. It is a safe food production system originated and developed for U.S. Space Programme in 1960s when the idea of Critical Control Point (CCP) was first introduced to produce safe and uncontaminated foods for astronauts. Since the 1970s, HACCP was adopted by a number of large food manufacturers to produce foods for the general public. In the 1990s, HACCP system has been recognised by international bodies including the World Health Organization and the Codex Alimentarius Commission as an effective way to prevent physical, chemical and microbiological hazards in foods. Over the past decades, HACCP has become mandatory in the production of certain food products in some developed countries. HACCP is now mandatory by law for manufacturers of meat and poultry, seafood, and juice products in the United States, and for federally-registered meat and poultry establishments in Canada. In Australia, certain high risk food businesses are required to have HACCP-based food safety programmes.

Timeline of HACCP
Timeline of HACCP

HACCP System – A Cost-effectiveApproach

The HACCP system is a scientific and systematic approach to identify, assess and control hazards in the food production process, from purchasing, receiving, transportation, storage, preparation, handling, cooking to serving. Food safety control is integrated into the design of the process focusing on active prevention rather than relying mainly on end-product testing. It is therefore a cost-effective approach to food safety with considerable long term savings. To circumvent economic constraints which may be a practical barrier to implementing HACCP system for the industry, the cost of implementation can be reduced by spreading the costs over time so that businesses can deal with manageable incremental steps, targeting sectors producing high-risk foods first.

The HACCP Approach - How Does It Work?

The HACCP system identifies specific hazards and measures for their control to ensure food safety and can be applied throughout the food chain from primary production to final consumption. A HACCP system follows seven principles that are universally accepted:-

  1. Conduct Hazard Analysis to identify all possible biological, chemical or physical hazards so as to devise control measures;
  2. Determine Critical Control Points (CCP)s in the production process where an action can be taken to prevent, eliminate, or reduce a food safety hazard to an acceptable level;
  3. Establish limits for each CCP at which a hazard is acceptable without compromising food safety;
  4. Establish monitoring procedures for CCPs by observations, measurements and keeping accurate records to assess whether a CCP is under control;
  5. Establish corrective actions to bring the production process back into control when monitoring picks up deviations from critical limits or detects a loss of control;
  6. Establish verification procedures by applying methods, procedures, tests, sampling and other evaluations to ensure that the HACCP system is working effectively;
  7. Establish a record system to demonstrate the effective application of the HACCP and to document the monitoring and verification results and corrective actions taken when deviations occur.

Benefits of Implementing HACCP System in Food Businesses

Implementing HACCP system brings benefits for consumers, food industry and government. It improves public health by reducing the risks of foodborne diseases. The improved product consistency increases consumer confidence in the product. Business returns are enhanced by lowered production costs with reduced recall and wastage of food and the increased market access. With the decreased business risk, the legal and insurance costs are also lowered. To apply HACCP in food businesses, the food operation should ensure that the appropriate product specific knowledge and expertise is available for the development of an effective HACCP plan, either from within the establishment or from other sources such as HACCP certification bodies. In the next issue, we will talk more on how to implement the HACCP system.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-04-2016

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一六年四月第一百一十七期)- 食物安全平台

食物安全重点控制(HACCP) – 行之有效的食物安全系统

食物安全中心
风险传达组
科学主任邓绍平博士报告

香港近年因本地制造的食物品质欠佳或处理不当而发生的食物事故屡见不鲜例如寿司被检出李斯特菌;预先包装中式汤品含蜡样芽胞杆菌;午餐饭盒怀疑受产气荚膜梭状芽孢杆菌和蜡样芽胞杆菌污染而引致食物中毒等事件不胜枚举。这些食物事故能够避免吗?实施"食物安全重点控制"(HACCP) 系统能够减少这些事故发生吗?本文将介绍HACCP如何为食物安全把关。

什么是HACCP?

“食物安全重点控制”是一套针对食物制造过程的安全管理系统,英文简称为HACCP。HACCP的起源可追溯至1960年代,最初是为了美国太空发展计划而研发的,控制重点的概念在当时首次被提出并应用于生产安全和零污染的太空食品。自1970年代起,多个规模较大的食物制造商相继把HACCP应用于生产普罗大众的食物。1990年代,世界卫生组织和食品法典委员会等国际机构一致认为HACCP系统是预防食物中出现物理、化学和微生物危害的最有效系统。过去数十年,某些已发展国家已强制要求一些食品的生产过程实施HACCP。目前美国法例规定肉类和家禽、水产和果汁产品制造商须强制实施HACCP,加拿大也规定联邦注册的肉类和家禽加工厂须实施HACCP,而澳洲则要求一些高风险食物业者执行以HACCP为基础的食物安全计划。

HACCP的发展历程
HACCP的发展历程

HACCP系统–符合成本效益的方法

HACCP系统通过科学和有系统的方法,识别、评估及控制食物制造过程中(由选购、收货、运输、贮存、配制、处理、烹煮以至食用)各种可能产生的危害。HACCP系统把食物安全管制融合在食物制造过程的每个环节中,着重积极预防,而不是单靠对制成品的检测来保证食物安全。因此,HACCP系统在保证食物安全方面极具成本效益,长远可节省不少成本。业界可能因推行HACCP系统的资金问题而却步,其实只要优先在高风险食物的生产过程实施,其余则逐步分段量力施行,便可分摊成本,循序渐进地完善系统。

HACCP系统的原理

HACCP系统的原理是找出可能产生的具体危害,并订立相应的控制方法,从而确保食物达至安全标准。由生产以至消费者食用整个食物链中,各个环节都可应用HACCP系统。HACCP公认有七项原则

  1. 分析危害:找出所有潜在的生物、化学或物理危害,以便拟定控制措施;
  2. 确定控制重点:确定食物制造过程中可以控制的关键环节,以便采取有效的纠正措施,预防、消除危害或把危害降低到可接受的水平;
  3. 订定每个控制重点的监控标准:以危害的程度为可接受而不至于影响食物安全为标准;
  4. 设立控制重点的监察程序:通过观察及量度工作,以及存备准确的纪录来评估控制重点是否受到控制;
  5. 制定矫正程序:当控制重点的监控结果显示未能达标或失控时,便须立刻采取矫正行动;
  6. 制定确认程序:采用各种方法、程序、测试、采样及其他评估方式,以确定HACCP系统运作良好;
  7. 设立纪录系统:作为有效执行HACCP系统的证明。纪录应包括监察及确认工作的结果,以及控制重点出问题时的矫正行动等。

推行HACCP系统对食物业的好处

推行HACCP系统对消费者、食物业和政府三方均有好处。患食源性疾病的风险减低,公众的健康更有保障。食品的品质稳定可增强消费者对产品的信心。HACCP系统可以减少回收和浪费食物,亦可提高进入市场的机会,故省却不少成本,利润得以提高。由于营运风险降低,法律和保险费用亦随之减少。食物业要推行HACCP系统,推行的人员(厂方人员或借助HACCP认证机构等外界人员)必须对产品有深入的认识和具备有关的专业知识,才能建立一套行之有效的HACCP系统。下期我们会再深入探讨如何推行HACCP系统。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 20-04-2016