Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (113th Issue, December 2015) – Food Safety Platform

Overview of Food Safety Risks of Oysters

Ms. Janny MA, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Christmas is just around the corner; plan to have some raw oysters in this festive season? Before you really go for it, it is important to understand the food safety risks associated with oysters and don’t let them ruin your holiday celebration.

Hazards Associated with Oysters
Oysters are inherently riskier than other seafood because of their filter feeding activity that concentrates pathogens, including viruses (e.g. norovirus and Hepatitis A virus) and bacteria (e.g. Vibrio parahaemolyticus and Vibrio vulnificus) that may be present in their surrounding environment. Even though oysters specifically intended for raw consumption are harvested from waters that are monitored for faecal contamination, they are not completely free from microbiological risk. Therefore consuming raw or partially cooked oysters is of relatively high risk for infection by pathogens.

In addition to pathogens, oysters contaminated with heavy metals cannot be ignored. Thorough cooking can indeed destroy pathogens of concern, but it cannot remove heavy metals (e.g. cadmium and lead) as well as marine biotoxins (e.g. paralytic shellfish poisoning (PSP) toxins) that may have accumulated in the oysters.

Pathogens
The major route of norovirus and hepatitis A virus contamination in oysters is via human faecal contamination in growing or harvesting areas. While norovirus causes inflammation of the stomach and/or intestines, hepatitis A virus results in inflammation of the liver cells. These viruses can persist in contaminated live oysters for weeks and can be detected in their guts. Even though longterm relay of oysters to clean environmental waters can be effective for eliminating the risk of illness from viruses, this is often not practical due to added costs and lack of clean areas near the contaminated harvest sites. In addition, depuration alone is often not adequate to eliminate these viruses. Besides, heat treatment usually recommended (i.e. cooking to an internal temperature of 75°C for 30 seconds) for food safety may not be adequate to eliminate viruses in oysters (cooking to an internal temperature of 90°C for 90 seconds is needed).

Apart from viruses, oysters are also well-documented vehicles for transmission of illnesses caused by Vibrio spp., especially V. parahaemolyticus and V. vulnificus . These species of Vibrio are naturally found in warm seawaters and estuaries but can readily be inactivated by cooking. V. parahaemolyticus infection is usually mild to moderate with food poisoning symptoms like abdominal pain, diarrhoea, vomiting and sometimes mild fever. For V. vulnificus, it occasionally causes mild gastroenteritis in healthy people but can result in a serious, often fatal, health threat to those with underlying chronic diseases, particularly liver disease or alcoholism, diabetes, haemochromatosis and HIV/AIDS.

Pathogens
Pathogens ( a. norovirus , b. hepatitis A virus , c. V. parahaemolyticus , d. V. vulnificus ) that may be associated in raw oysters (Photos a and d courtesy of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; Photo b courtesy of the U.S. Public Health Image Library; and Photo c courtesy of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)

Heavy Metals
High levels of heavy metals like cadmium and lead may also accumulate in oysters harvested from contaminated waters. Although acute toxicity resulting from consumption of contaminated oysters is uncommon, prolonged excessive intake of cadmium and lead may have adverse effects on the kidneys and neurodevelopment respectively.

Marine Biotoxins
PSP toxins are a group of related naturally occurring toxins produced by certain microscopic algae. It is normal when these algae are present at very low concentrations in the sea and poses no problems. However, when these algae “bloom”, they will become a great food source for oysters and the toxins will be concentrated in oysters, particularly in the internal organs. PSP toxins are powerful nerve poisons with no known antidote and death can occur in severe cases.

Advice to the Public

  • Regardless of the season or the region the oysters are harvested, consuming oysters, particularly raw or partially cooked ones, carries an inherent food safety risk.
  • Susceptible populations (elderly, young children, pregnant women and people with weakened immune systems) should avoid eating raw oysters.
  • To reduce risk, raw oysters should only be consumed in or obtained from reliable licensed premises.
  • Never eat oysters raw that are intended for consumption after cooking.
  • Some tips of cooking oysters: boil for 3-5 minutes, fry for at least 3 minutes; or steam for 4-9 minutes.

Advice to the Trade

  • Obtain oysters from reliable sources with health certificates issued by the relevant authority of the exporting country.
  • Get permission in writing / endorsement from the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene prior to selling raw oysters.
Source oysters that are grown in and harvested from areas of clean water.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 16-12-2015

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一五年十二月第一百一十三期)- 食物安全平台

浅谈蚝的食物安全风险

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任马嘉明女士报告

圣诞节快要到了,打算吃生蚝庆祝一番?在你付诸行动之前,一定要了解清楚吃蚝的食物安全风险,以免在佳节当前发生大煞风景的插曲。

与蚝有关的危害
蚝在本质上比其他海产高危,原因是蚝以过滤方式进食,周围环境中可能存在的病原体,包括病毒(例如诺如病毒和甲型肝炎病毒)和细菌(副溶血性弧菌和创伤弧菌)会在其体内积聚。即使专供生吃的蚝只是来自实施粪便污染控制的水域,也不代表完全没有微生物风险。因此,进食生蚝或半生不熟的蚝较易受病原体感染。

除了病原体外,蚝只受到重金属污染的问题亦不容忽视。彻底煮熟蚝只固然可消灭病原体,但却不能去除蚝只体内可能积聚的重金属(例如镉和铅)和海洋生物毒素(例如淋痹性贝类毒素)。

病原体
蚝受诺如病毒甲型肝炎病毒污染的途径,主要是通过生长区或捕捞区人类粪便的污染。诺如病毒会令患者的胃及/或肠发炎,甲型肝炎病毒则会造成肝脏细胞发炎。这些病毒可以在受污染的活蚝体内存活数星期并可在其肠道中检测到。虽然把蚝长期转移到水质洁净的水域中可以有效地消除病毒致病的风险,但此举会产生额外成本。况且,受污染捕捞区附近可能缺少洁净水域,故实际上往往并不可行。单靠净化处理往往不足以消除这些病毒。一般的食物安全建议是把食物加热至中心温度达75°C并维持30秒,但对蚝来说,这个温度未必能消除蚝体内的病毒。烹煮蚝时,应把蚝加热至中心温度达90°C并维持90秒。

除了病毒外,有大量记载显示蚝也是传播弧菌类疾病的元凶,特别是副溶血性弧菌创伤弧菌。这些弧菌天然栖息于和暖的海水和河口,烹煮过程可轻易将之杀死。副溶血性弧菌可引致食物中毒症状,如腹痛、腹泻和呕吐,有时会出现发烧,病情通常为轻微至一般。健康人士感染创伤弧菌,偶尔会引致肠胃炎症状;但如感染的是长期病患者,尤其是肝病或酗酒人士、糖尿病、血色素沉着病和爱滋病患者,后果十分严重而且往往致命。

病原体

生蚝可能含有的病原体(a.诺如病毒;b.甲型肝炎病毒;c.副溶血性弧菌 ;d.创伤弧菌)(照片a和d来自美国疾病控制及预防中心;照片b来自美国公共卫生图像库;照片c来自美国卫生与公众服务部)

重金属
捕捞自受污染水域的蚝可能积聚高含量的镉和铅等重金属。虽然因进食受重金属污染的蚝而引致急性中毒的情况并不多见,但长期大量摄取镉和铅可能分别会对肾脏健康和神经系统的发育带来不良的影响。

海洋生物毒素
麻痹性贝类毒素由某些微藻类产生,是一组相关的天然毒素。在正常情况下,产毒藻类在海水中的数量是很低的,不足为患。但当这些藻类暴发性地大量繁殖,便会成为蚝的主要食粮,毒素会积聚在蚝的体内,特别是在内脏部分。麻痹性贝类毒素属于神经毒素,毒性甚烈,严重者甚至会致命。现时并没有已知的解毒剂。

给市民的建议

  • 无论蚝是在哪个季节或水域捕捞,吃蚝(尤其是生蚝或未彻底煮熟的蚝)在本质上存在食物安全风险。
  • 高风险人士(长者、幼童、孕妇和免疫力较弱的人)应避免进食生蚝。
  • 为减低风险,无论是进食还是购买生蚝,都应光顾可靠的持牌店铺。
  • 切勿生吃只供熟食(即须烹煮)的蚝只。
  • 以下是一些烹煮蚝只的贴士:煮3至5分钟;炒至少3分钟;或蒸4至9分钟。

给业界的建议

  • 蚝应购自可靠的供应商,并须附有原产地有关当局签发的卫生证书。
  • 出售生蚝须获得食物环境卫生署署长的书面许可/批准。

采购在洁净水域生长和捕捞的蚝。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 16-12-2015