Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (10th Issue, May 2007) – Food Incident Highlight

E. coli O157:H7 in Meat Products

There have been product recalls overseas from time to time regarding meat products (in particular minced beef and beef hamburgers) contaminated with the harmful bacterium E. coli O157:H7.

E. coli O157:H7 is found naturally in the intestines of cattle and other animals like pigs and sheep. Affected people may develop symptoms like severe watery diarrhoea, bloody diarrhoea, fever, abdominal cramps or vomiting. Severe cases may develop haemolytic uraemic syndrome (HUS) characterised by acute kidney failure, some may even die.

Meat may be contaminated with E. coli O157:H7 on the surface from the slaughter process or subsequent handling. When meat is minced and then formed into hamburgers, or is mechanically tenderised, these surface bacteria will be brought into the inner part of the meat. Locally, ground beef served in hot congee which may not be cooked thoroughly is our concern.

Vulnerable groups (i.e. young children, elderly people, pregnant women and persons with weakened immune systems) should avoid eating raw or undercooked meat, especially minced meat and the products thereof. All meat, in particular hamburgers, should be thoroughly cooked to reach a centre temperature of at least 75°C.

Illustration: Minced beef


 

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :08-04-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零七年五月第十期)-食物事故点滴

肉类制品中的0157:H7型大肠杆菌

肉类制品(尤其是碎牛肉和汉堡牛扒)受O157:H7型大肠杆菌这种有害细菌污染而须回收产品的事件在外国时有发生。

O157:H7型大肠杆菌自然存在于牛只和猪及羊等其他动物的肠道内。患者可能出现严重水状腹泻、带血腹泻、发烧、腹绞痛或呕吐等症状,病情严重者可能引致溶血尿毒症,病征是急性肾衰竭,当中有些患者甚至会死亡。

肉类表面可能会透过屠宰或其后处理过程受O157:H7型大肠杆菌污染。当肉类绞碎再制成汉堡扒,又或经捶打变软时,这些原本沾在肉类表面的细菌便会被带进肉类的内部。以本港的情况而言,我们的关注是放进热粥的碎牛肉可能没有彻底煮熟。

高危人士(即幼童、长者、孕妇和免疫力较弱的人)应避免吃生或未经彻底煮熟的肉类,尤其是碎肉和含碎肉的制品。所有肉类(特别是汉堡扒)应彻底煮熟至中心温度达摄氏75度或以上。

插图:碎牛肉



上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 08-04-2008