Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (10th Issue, May 2007) – Food Incident Highlight

Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning Toxins in Scallops

The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) recently found Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning (PSP) toxins in the range of 1 120 to 2 560 micrograms/100 grams in some samples of scallops (Sin Pui) of the species Patinopecten yessoensis. The CFS considered the health risk associated with these levels of PSP toxins high, and advised members of the public to stop consuming scallops (Sin Pui) for the time being.

PSP toxins are a group of natural toxins which can be found in bi-valve shellfish such as scallops, oysters, mussels and clams. The toxins are produced by certain species of micro-algae and can be concentrated within the shellfish, especially during algal blooms. The symptoms of PSP are predominantly neurological and the onset is rapid. PSP can be life-threatening.

The concentration of PSP toxins is generally higher in the viscera of contaminated shellfish. The toxins are heat-stable and cannot be destroyed through normal cooking, although a certain proportion may dissolve into the cooking liquid. Members of the public, when consuming any shellfish, are advised to remove the viscera, gonads and roe before cooking, eat a smaller amount and discard the cooking liquid so as to reduce the risk of shellfish poisoning.

Illustration: Scallops found to contain high levels of PSP toxins


 


Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :08-04-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零七年五月第十期)-食物事故点滴

扇贝中的麻痹性贝类毒素

食物安全中心(中心)近日发现,数个虾夷扇贝样本含麻痹性贝类毒素,含量为每100克1 120~2 560微克。中心认为有关毒素水平对健康造成影响的风险偏高,故此建议市民暂时停吃扇贝。

麻痹性贝类毒素是可能存在于扇贝、带子、蚝、青口和蚬等双贝类体内的天然毒素,由某些品种微藻类所产生,并可积聚在贝类体内,尤其是在藻类大量繁殖的时候。麻痹性贝类中毒症状通常很快出现,主要与神经系统相关。麻痹性贝类中毒可以致命。

麻痹性贝类毒素在受污染贝类的内脏含量一般较高。烹煮时部分毒素可溶于烹调汁液,而一般烹煮并不能消除这种耐热的毒素。市民如进食贝类,应在烹煮前先除去其内脏、生殖器及卵子,每次进食较少分量,并弃掉烹煮的汁液,以减低贝类中毒的风险。

插图:验出含高水平麻痹性贝类毒素的扇贝


上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 08-04-2008