Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (10th Issue, May 2007) – Incident in Focus

Arsenic in Food

Reported by Ms. Melva Chen, Research Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

Summary of Incident

Last month, the Consumer Council reported that some 20 samples of dried squid snacks under testing contained arsenic. The level of arsenic was particularly high in one shredded squid sample. Excessive intake, like constantly consuming three or more packs of the dried squid concerned every week for a prolonged period of time, may pose possible health risk. The findings aroused much public concern on the risk of arsenic in food. High levels of arsenic may also be found in other food products. Not long ago, there were nation-wide recalls of some bottled mineral water in the United States and Canada due to the presence of high levels of arsenic. This article provides you with more information on food safety in relation to arsenic.

Illustration: Dried squid snacks

What is Arsenic?

Arsenic is a metalloid present naturally in the earth's crust and is found in trace amounts in rock, soil, water and air. Primary route of human exposure to arsenic is mainly through ingestion of foods, especially aquatic foods containing relatively high levels of arsenic. Other routes of exposure such as through inhalation of air and via dermal absorption only play a minor or negligible role.

How Does Arsenic Go Into Our Foods and Affect Our Health?

Arsenic is widely distributed in nature and most arsenic compounds can dissolve in water and result in entering our food chain. Therefore, low levels of arsenic may be found in a wide range of foods. Arsenic exists in both organic and inorganic forms in foods, with the latter being more toxic. Fish and seafood can accumulate considerable amounts of organic arsenic from their environment, while the arsenic content of plants is usually determined by the arsenic content of soil, water, air, fertilisers, etc. In general, arsenic in food exists largely in its organic form and high levels of inorganic arsenic are not commonly found.

Chronic toxicity due to arsenic may lead to skin lesions, nerve damage, skin cancer and diseases of the blood vessels. The International Agency for Research on Cancer under the World Health Organization has classified arsenic in drinking water as carcinogenic to humans.

What Kinds of Food Contribute Most to Our Arsenic Intake?

As a means to assess the intake of metallic contaminants including arsenic in Hong Kong people, the CFS has conducted a risk assessment study on “Dietary Exposure to Heavy Metals of Secondary School Students” in 2002. According to the study, seafood other than fish made the greatest contribution (51%) to dietary exposure to inorganic arsenic, which was followed by fish (26%), cereals and cereal products (10%), vegetables (6%), meat, poultry and their products (4%), and milk and dairy products (3%). These findings were consistent with data in dietary exposure studies conducted in overseas countries including Australia, the USA and the UK which reported seafood accounted for the majority of dietary exposure to arsenic.

Is There Any Safety Reference Value on How Much Arsenic Can be Safely Consumed?

The Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) has evaluated arsenic and established a provisional tolerable weekly intake (PTWI) of 15 μg/kg bw/week to inorganic arsenic. PTWI is an estimated amount of a contaminant that can be ingested over a lifetime without appreciable risk. An intake above the PTWI does not automatically mean that health is at risk. Transient excursion above the PTWI would have no health consequences provided that the average intake does not continuously exceed the PTWI which emphasises on a lifetime exposure.

How is Arsenic in Food Monitored in Hong Kong?

The CFS has been monitoring metallic contaminants, including arsenic, in foods under its food surveillance programme. The level of arsenic allowed in food is governed by the Food Adulteration (Metallic Contamination) Regulations, Cap. 132V. As for foods that have undergone a process of drying such as dried seafood, contaminants would have been concentrated during the drying process, therefore “processing factors” need to be applied to see whether the levels of metallic contaminant(s) detected in the samples have exceeded the legal limits. The processing factor for each dried food item is derived based on the change in water content of the food item before and after drying. This approach has been recommended by the Codex Alimentarius Commission and is being adopted by countries including members of the European Union and Australia. Legal limits stipulated in law are often confused with the respective safety reference values. The law states the amounts of chemicals allowed in different foods for monitoring and maintaining the standard of the food. Consuming food products with chemicals exceeding the legal standards does not automatically imply that the consumer’s health is at risk. The consumption of the food product concerned also needs to be taken into the account to see whether the safety reference value has been exceeded. Therefore, while indulgence of a food with modest level of arsenic may be a health concern, occasional intake of a food with a high level of such chemical may not be of any health significance.

How Likely is Our Exposure to Arsenic Exceeds the PTWI?

The local study mentioned above shows that dietary exposure to inorganic arsenic for secondary school students of average consumers is 2.52 μg/kg bw/week and that for the high consumers is 6.77 μg/kg bw/week, which accounted for only about 17% and 45% of the PTWI respectively. Besides, the exposure to inorganic arsenic from drinking water for an average secondary school student was less than 0.13 μg/kg bw/week, an additional contribution of less than 0.9% of the PTWI. The results indicate that adverse health effects due to exposure to inorganic arsenic upon normal consumption of foods in Hong Kong are unlikely.

Advice to the Trade and Consumers

The trade should ensure the foods they sell or import are fit for human consumption and comply with legal standards. Consumers are advised to take a balanced diet so as to avoid excessive exposure to certain chemicals or contaminants from a small range of food items.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :08-04-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零七年五月第十期)-焦点个案

食物中的砷

食物安全中心风险评估组
研究主任陈蓉蓉女士报告

事故摘要

消费者委员会在上月报告,二十多个测试的鱿鱼干零食样本含有砷,当中一个鱿鱼丝样本砷含量尤高,过量摄入(例如长期持续每周吃三包或以上有关鱿鱼丝)可能对健康造成潜在影响。有关结果引起市民广泛关注食物中砷的风险。此外,其他食品亦可能出现砷含量偏高的情况。较早前,美国及加拿大有部分樽装矿泉水因砷含量偏高而须在全国进行回收。本文将会详述与砷有关的食物安全问题。

插图:鱿鱼干零食

什么是砷?

砷是蕴藏于地壳的天然准金属,石头、土壤、水和空气都含有微量的砷。人们主要从食物(尤其是砷含量较高的水产)摄入砷。至于透过吸入空气和皮肤吸收等其他途径摄入砷,则只占较小甚或微不足道的比重。

砷如何进入食物中并影响我们的健康?

由于砷在大自然中普遍存在,加上大部分砷化合物可溶于水中,从而进入我们的食物链内,因此许多种类的食物都可能含有小量砷。砷会以有机和无机两种形态存在于食物中,以后者毒性较强。鱼类及海产会在体内大量囤积从环境中摄取的砷。至于植物的砷含量,则通常取决于土壤、水、空气和肥料等的砷含量。一般而言,食品中的砷主要以有机形态存在,而无机砷含量偏高的情况则较少见。

慢性砷中毒会引致皮肤损伤、神经受损、皮肤癌及血管病变。世界卫生组织属下国际癌症研究机构已把饮用水中的砷列为会令人患癌症的物质。

我们主要会从哪类食物中摄取到砷?

为评估本港市民的重金属(包括砷)摄取量,食物安全中心(中心)在二零零二年进行了有关《中学生从食物摄取到重金属的情况》的风险评估研究。根据该项研究,鱼类以外的海产是我们摄取无机砷的最主要来源(51%),其次依序为鱼类(26%);谷类及其制品(10%);蔬菜(6%);肉类、禽类及其制品(4%)和奶类及奶制品(3%)。上述结果与澳洲、美国及英国等外国进行有关从食物中摄取砷的研究所得数据一致,即海产是人们摄取砷的最主要食物来源。

现时有没有就砷的安全食用水平制定安全参考值?

联合国粮食及农业组织/世界卫生组织联合食物添加剂专家委员会已对砷进行评估,并就无机砷的暂定每周可容忍摄入量定为每公斤人体体重每周可摄入15微克。暂定每周可容忍摄入量,指人一生中可摄入某一污染物而不致带来可见风险的估计分量。摄入量超出暂定每周可容忍摄入量并不一定表示健康会受损。由于暂定每周可容忍摄入量着眼于人一生的摄入量,只要平均摄入量并非长期超出这一数值,偶然高于暂定每周可容忍摄入量也不会影响健康。

如何监察在本港食物中的砷?

中心一向根据食物监察计划监察食物中的重金属(包括砷)。食物中准许的砷含量受《食物搀杂(金属杂质含量)规例》(第132V章)所规管。至于海味等经过干制过程的食物,污染物浓度会在干制过程中增加,因此需以“加工系数”确定样本中验出的重金属水平有否超出法定上限。每类干制食品的加工系数是根据该食品在干制之前及之后的水分含量变化而厘定。这一做法是由食品法典委员会所建议,现正为欧盟成员国及澳洲等多个国家采用。人们经常会混淆了法例规定的法定上限与上述的安全参考值。法例订明了不同食物中准许的化学物含量,以便监察及确保食物的标准。进食化学物含量超出法例标准的食物并不表示消费者的健康必定会受损。我们还须考虑有关食物的进食量,以确定有否超出安全参考值。因此,长期过量进食砷含量不高的食物可能损害健康,但偶尔进食高砷含量的食物亦未必会对健康造成影响。

砷摄入量超出暂定每周可容忍摄入量的机会高吗?

上述本港研究发现,摄取量一般的中学生每周从食物摄取的无机砷,按每公斤体重计算为2.52微克,而摄取量高的中学生则为6.77微克,两者仅为每周可容忍摄入量约17%和45%。此外,摄取量一般的中学生每周从饮用水摄取的无机砷,按每公斤体重计算少于0.13微克,即额外摄入少于0.9%的每周可容忍摄入量。有关结果显示,在香港从正常饮食中摄入无机砷以致对健康造成不良影响的机会不大。

给业界和消费者的建议

业界应确保所出售或进口的食物适宜供人食用,并遵从有关法例标准。至于消费者,则应保持均衡饮食,以免因偏食少种类食物而过量摄入某些化学物或污染物。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 08-04-2008