Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous Article

Food Safety Focus (109th Issue, August 2015) – Food Incident Highlight

Microbiological Quality of Sushi and Sashimi

Last month, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) released the report on the microbiological quality of sushi and sashimi. Whilst none of the 197samples had any food safety problems, four were found unsatisfactory regarding the hygienic indicators.

Proper acidification of cooked rice to pH4.6 or below is known to inhibit the growth of pathogenic bacteria, particularly Bacillus cereus. The sushi rice of all but two samples was at pH 4.6 or below.

The CFS advises people with weakened immunity, the elderly, pregnant women and young children who are at higher risk for foodborne illnesses to avoid eating sashimi or sushi with raw or undercooked ingredients. The CFS also urges the trade to observe the Microbiological Guidelines for Food and to keep sushi and sashimi at 4°C or below, and to discard the sushi displayed at above 4°C for over four hours. Food handlers are advised to check the pH value of acidified rice with the aim to achieve a pH value of 4.6 or below.

Some tools for measuring pH of sushi rice
Some tools for measuring pH of sushi rice

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-08-2015

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页
上一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一五年八月第一百零九期) - 食物事故点滴

寿司和刺身的微生物质素

食物安全中心(中心)上月公布寿司和刺身的微生物质素报告。报告指全部197个样本均没有食物安全问题,但有四个样本的卫生指标测试结果未如人意。

米饭经适度加酸至酸碱值4.6或以下,已知可抑制致病细菌(尤其是蜡样芽孢杆菌)滋生。除了两个样本外,其余寿司样本的米饭酸碱值均在4.6或以下。

中心指出,免疫力较低的人、长者、孕妇及幼童患食源性疾病的风险较高,不应进食以生或未经彻底煮熟的配料制成的刺身或寿司。中心亦呼吁业界遵守《食物微生物含量指引》,把寿司和刺身存放在摄氏4度或以下;如寿司在摄氏4度以上的环境中陈列超过四小时,即须予以丢弃。此外,食物处理人员亦应检测并确保寿司饭的酸碱值在4.6或以下。

一些测量寿司饭酸碱度的工具
一些测量寿司饭酸碱度的工具

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 19-08-2015