Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (109th Issue, August 2015) – Incident in Focus

Frozen Foods - Are They Safe?

Reported by Dr. Anna TANG and Dr. John LUM, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Recently, there have been concerns as to whether frozen foods kept for long durations are safe for consumption. This article looks into various issues of freezing and food safety.

Freezing as a Means of Food Preservation
Freezing is a common way to preserve raw meat or cooked food for later consumption. The freezing temperature (-18°C or below) inhibits the growth of microbes (e.g. bacteria, yeasts and moulds, including pathogens) which may otherwise cause the food to spoil or be unsafe for consumption. As such, food stored at a stably maintained freezing temperature could be kept safe for a prolonged period of time. The US Department of Agriculture opines that food safety of properly stored frozen food could last almost indefinitely! Although freezing keeps the food safe for consumption, the organoleptic quality of the food may deteriorate upon long-term freezing. There may be changes in meat texture, fat can crumble and meat colour may also change because freezing slows down but does not totally stop the actions of certain enzymes naturally present in animals and vegetables which would cause food components to degrade or oxidise.

Freezer Storage Duration
Although freezing can keep food safe for a very long period, the food industry will not label the storage time of frozen food as indefinite. The quality of food also needs to be considered when determining the storage duration. The storage duration for frozen food (usually in terms of months or years) is usually set out as a quality indicator. The duration may be reduced if the freezer temperature cannot reach -18°C or fluctuates to above -18°C.

Ensure that frozen food is kept at -18°C
Ensure that frozen food is kept at -18°C or below by checking the temperature with a thermometer placed inside the freezer.

Proper Thawing to Ensure Food Safety
Frozen food should be thawed properly to ensure food safety. Although the growth of microorganisms is inhibited when frozen, they may not be killed and may become active again when food is thawed. Therefore, food should not be thawed at room temperature because the process will take a long time and microorganisms, including pathogens, can multiply before the food is entirely defrosted. This may render frozen cooked food or frozen ready-to-eat food unsafe and increase the risk of cross-contamination by frozen raw food. Frozen food should be thawed in a refrigerator (0°C - 4°C), under cold running water, or in a microwave oven. Frozen food thawed under cold running water or in a microwave oven has to be cooked immediately after thawing. Refreezing of thawed food is generally not recommended, unless the warmest temperature of the thawed food is still kept below 4°C. Once thawed, the food becomes perishable again and should be prepared as intended and consumed as soon as possible.

Best Practices in the Cold Chain
For traders, good temperature control is essential along the cold chain (include receiving, processing, storage, transport, distribution and retailing) for maintaining the safety and quality of frozen food. Temperature should be monitored along the cold chain in order to ensure that a freezing temperature is maintained, within permitted tolerances which do not affect safety and quality. The Codex Code of Practice for the Processing and Handling of Quick Frozen Foods (CAC/RCP 8-1976) provides guidance on the processing and handling of frozen food to help ensure product safety. The trade is also reminded to observe good hygienic and good manufacturing practices and to develop a Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) programme for each operation in the cold chain.

The import of meat and poultry (including frozen products) requires an import licence under the Import and Export Ordinance (Cap. 60). Trade members are reminded to ensure that there are relevant health certificates for all meat and poultry imported under the Imported Game, Meat and Poultry Regulations of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132) and that the record keeping requirement is met under the Food Safety Ordinance (Cap. 612).

Key Points to Note:

•   
Frozen food can be kept safe for extended periods if handled properly and stored constantly at -18°C or below.
•   
The quality of frozen food may diminish with increasing storage time as deterioration continues to take place at a slow rate.
•   
Frozen food should not be thawed at room temperature because the process will take a long time and pathogens can multiply before the food is entirely defrosted.

Advice to the Trade

1.   
Ensure good temperature control along the cold chain to maintain the safety and quality of frozen food.
2.   
Display frozen food for sale inside freezer cabinets with proper temperature control at -18°C or below.
3.  
Follow first-in-first-out rule for sale and for food preparation.

Advice to Consumers     

1.   
Purchase frozen food offered for sale in freezer cabinets.
2.   
Use thermometers to monitor the temperature of the home freezer compartment to ensure that frozen food is kept at -18°C or below.
3.  
Thaw frozen food in a refrigerator (0° - 4°C). For faster thawing, food can be thawed under cold running water or in a microwave oven, but the food   has to be cooked immediately after thawing.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-08-2015

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一五年八月第一百零九期) - 焦点个案

冷藏食物安全吗?

食物安全中心
风险传达组
邓绍平博士及林汉基博士联合报告

最近,经过长时间冷藏的食物的安全问题引起关注。本文将探讨有关冷藏食物的各种安全问题。

冷藏—保存食物的方法

冷藏是延长生肉或熟食食用期限的常见方法。冷藏温度(摄氏-18度或以下)能抑制微生物(如细菌、酵母、霉菌等,包括病原体)生长,否则食物可能会变坏或出现安全问题。因此,把食物一直保持在冷藏温度可在较长一段时间内保证其食用安全。美国农业部指冷藏食物只要贮存得当,可以永久保存,不会影响其食用安全。虽然冷藏可保持食物的食用安全,但食物经过长时间冷藏,品质有机会大打折扣。肉类经过冷藏,肉质或会起变化,脂肪可以被分解,色泽也可能会转变,原因是动植物天然存在一些令食物成分分解或氧化的酵素,冷藏只能减缓但不能完全抑制这些酵素的活动。

冰格食物的保质期

虽然冷藏能长期保持食物安全,但食物业界一般并不会选择为冷藏食物标示无限的的保质期。在决定保质期限时,食物的品质是一个重要的考虑因素。冷藏食物的保质期限(通常以月或年计)一般是作为品质指标之用。此外,如冰格的温度长期或有时高于摄氏-18度,食物的保质期或会缩短。

确保冷藏食物贮存于摄氏-18度或以下
在冰格放置温度计,以确保冷藏食物贮存于摄氏-18度或以下。

正确解冻以保食物安全

冷藏食物应用正确方法解冻,以保食物安全。冷藏虽然能抑制微生物的繁殖速度,却不一定会杀死微生物。食物在解冻的过程中,微生物可以再次活跃起来。因此,食物不宜在室温下解冻,因为此举需时较长,会让包括病原体在内的微生物有机会在食物完全解冻前生长。这样可能会令冷藏的熟食或即食食物变得不安全,亦可能会增加被生的冷藏食物交叉污染的风险。冷藏食物应放进雪柜解冻(摄氏零度至4度);或用流动的冷水解冻;亦可用微波炉解冻。用流动的冷水或用微波炉解冻的食物在解冻后应立即烹煮。解冻后的食物一般不宜再次冷藏,除非整件食物的温度在解冻后仍然保持在摄氏4度以下。食物解冻后就会变得易坏,必须尽快烹制和进食。

冷链的最佳管理方法

对食物商而言,冷链(包括收货、加工、贮存、运输、分销及零售)的温度控制对保证冷藏食物的安全和品质极其重要。冷链的各个环节必须全程进行温度监控,以确保食物一直贮存于冷藏温度,只可在容许的范围内有偏差而不会影响安全和品质。食品法典委员会的《速冻食品加工和处理操作规范》(CAC/RCP 8-1976)为冷藏食物的加工和处理提供指导原则,以保障冷藏食物安全。此外,业界还须遵守良好的卫生和制造规范,并在冷链各环节建立“食物安全重点控制”(HACCP)系统。

根据《进出口条例》(第60章)的规定,凡进口肉类和禽肉(包括冷藏产品),均须领有进口许可证。《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章)之《进口野味、肉类及家禽规例》规定,所有进口的肉类和禽肉必须附有卫生证书。此外,进口商须遵守《食物安全条例》(第612章)中有关备存食物进出纪录的规定。

注意要点:

  • 冷藏食物如以正确方式处理并一直贮存于摄氏-18度或以下,可长期安全保存。
  • 冷藏食物存放的时间越久,品质有机会越差,因为食物一直在以缓慢的速度变质。
  • 食物不宜在室温下解冻,因为此举需时较长,会让包括病原体在内的微生物有机会在食物完全解冻前生长。

给业界的建议

  1. 为保持冷藏食物的安全和品质,控制好冷链各环节的温度。
  2. 把以供出售的冷藏食物放在摄氏-18度或以下的冷藏柜内。
  3. 售卖或配制食物时应采用先入先出的原则。

给消费者的建议

  1. 应选购存放在冷藏柜里的冷藏食物。
  2. 用温度计监测雪柜冰格的温度,以确保冷藏食物贮存于摄氏-18度或以下。
  3. 冷藏食物应放进雪柜解冻(摄氏零度至4度);如要快速解冻,可用流动的冷水或用微波炉解冻,但食物在解冻后须立即烹制。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 19-08-2015