Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (108th Issue, July 2015) – Food Safety Platform

Monosodium Glutamate (MSG): Use it or Loathe it? (Part I)

Reported by Ms. Joey KWOK, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

 

People may have opposing views on monosodium glutamate (MSG), a flavour enhancer that often receives public attention. Some chefs and food manufacturers may see MSG as an ally as it imparts the “meaty” taste and enhances flavour of the dishes and food products. Nevertheless, some consumers may loathe MSG and try to avoid it as much as they can because they believe that MSG is bad for them. In the first article of a series of two on MSG, let us look into the nature, uses and food safety issues in relation to MSG in food.

Nature and Sources of Glutamate and MSG

MSG is the sodium salt of glutamic acid. Glutamic acid is one of the most abundant amino acids found in nature and an important component of proteins. Various salts of glutamic acid including MSG, as well as the ionic form of glutamic acid, are known as “glutamates”.

Indeed glutamate is not foreign to us. It is produced inside our body and is found in breast milk. Glutamate occurs naturally in almost all foods, including milk, meat, poultry, fish, vegetables, mushrooms, etc. In addition, certain food ingredients such as hydrolysed protein, autolysed yeast, yeast extract, soy extract, etc. also contain high levels of glutamate naturally.

In the early 1900’s, a Japanese chemistry professor discovered that glutamate extracted from seaweed was the key to the distinctive taste of seaweed broth, which was different from the four basic tastes (i.e. sweet, sour, bitter and salty). He named this fifth taste “umami”, meaning “meaty” or “savoury” in English terms and “xianwei” in Chinese term. Glutamate exists either in “bound” form (i.e. bound to other amino acids as part of proteins) or in “free” form (i.e. not bound to other amino acids as part of proteins). It is the free form of glutamate that has been shown to impart the “umami” taste in food and has a flavour enhancing effect (see Table 2).

Table 2: Glutamate content in some foods and food ingredients

Glutamate in MSG is chemically indistinguishable from glutamate present in food naturally. Our body metabolises glutamate from these sources exactly the same way.

Uses of MSG

People in different parts of the world have been incorporating glutamate-rich foods or food ingredients in their culinary tradition for a long time. Cheeses (e.g. Parmesan cheese), ripened tomatoes, dried mushrooms, fermented fish sauce and fermented soy sauce containing high levels of free glutamate are frequently used in our daily cooking, owing to their flavour-enhancing effect.

Glutamate-rich food
Glutamate-rich food

Besides MSG, glutamic acid itself and a variety of its salts can be deliberately added to food for use as flavour enhancers. These can be identified in food labels as the food additives glutamic acid (620), monosodium glutamate (621), monopotassium glutamate (622), calcium glutamate (623), monoammonium glutamate (624) and magnesium glutamate (625).

MSG and other flavour enhancers are more frequently used in soups, stews, stocks, meat-based sauces, seasoning mixes and snack foods. Nevertheless, the use of MSG in foods is self-limiting, in which an optimum taste can be achieved by adding a small amount of MSG and any excessive amount will contribute little or no improvement in taste.

Food Safety of MSG

Some people may consider themselves as sensitive to MSG and, over the years, there have been reports on cases of occurrence of mild and short-term symptoms (the symptom complex of headache, numbness/tingling in back of neck, flushing, muscle tightness and generalised weakness) after the consumption of MSG. Nevertheless, a number of international and national food safety authorities have evaluated the safety of MSG on multiple occasions and concluded that available evidence has failed to demonstrate a causal relationship between the consumption of MSG and the development of this symptom complex. MSG is considered safe for the general population at the level typically used in foods and having taking into consideration the usual dietary intake of glutamate from ingested protein.

In the next article, we will look into the role of MSG in sodium intake and labelling issues around MSG.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 15-07-2015

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一五年七月第一百零八期) - 食物安全平台

味精:使用它还是厌恶它?(上篇)

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任郭丽仪女士报告

 

谷氨酸一钠(俗称味精)经常受人关注,人们对这种增味剂的看法两极。一些厨师和食物生产商把味精视为好帮手,因为味精能产生“肉香”味,能令菜肴和食品更为美味可口。然而,有些消费者却对味精非常抗拒,避之唯恐不及,认为味精对身体有害。我们将一连两期介绍味精,今期先介绍其特性、在食物中的使用和安全问题。

 

谷氨酸和味精的特性和来源

味精是谷氨酸(glutamic acid)的钠盐。谷氨酸是大自然中最丰富的氨基酸之一,是组成蛋白质的重要成分。包括味精在内的各种谷氨酸盐和谷氨酸的离子形态都称为谷氨酸(glumates)。

其实谷氨酸对我们并不陌生。我们的身体也会自行制造谷氨酸,母乳中也有这种成分。事实上,几乎所有食物都天然含有谷氨酸,包括奶类、肉类、家禽、鱼类、蔬菜、菇类等。此外,水解蛋白、自溶酵母、酵母萃取物、大豆萃取物等食物配料亦天然含有大量谷氨酸。

二十世纪初,一名日本化学教授发现,海带汤的滋味与别不同,秘密在于海带中的谷氨酸。他注意到这种味道与甜、酸、苦、咸这四种基本味道截然不同,因此命名为第五种味道—“umami”,英文意思是“meaty ”(肉香味) 或“savoury”(美味),中文则称之为 "鲜味"。谷氨酸以结合态(与其他氨基酸结合成蛋白质)或游离态不与其他氨基酸结合成蛋白质)存在,只有游离态的谷氨酸才能提高食物的鲜味及有增味的作用(见表二)。

表二 部分食物和食物配料中的谷氨酸含量

味精中的谷氨酸与食物中天然存在的谷氨酸并无化学上的区别。这些谷氨酸在我们身体内的代谢过程都是一样的。

 

味精的使用

世界各地的人们自古已在烹调时使用谷氨酸含量丰富的食物或食物配料调味。芝士(例如巴马臣芝士)、成熟的蕃茄、干冬菇、发酵而成的鱼露和豉油等含有大量谷氨酸,能增加食物的鲜味,我们日常烹调常常都会用到。

含丰富谷氨酸的食物
含丰富谷氨酸的食物

除了味精外,谷氨酸本身和多种谷氨酸盐都可用作食物增味剂。这些食物添加剂在食物标签上的名称分别是谷氨酸(620)、谷氨酸一钠(621)、谷氨酸一钾(622)、谷氨酸钙(623)、谷氨酸一铵(624)和谷氨酸镁(625)。

味精和其他增味剂多用于制作汤羹、炆炖类食物、高汤、肉类酱汁、混合调味料和小食。不过,味精不是放得越多越好的,只要小量味精,便能达到最理想的味道,放得过多反而收效甚微甚至起不到作用。

 

味精的安全性

有些人可能自觉对味精敏感,多年来,亦偶有报道指有人在食用含有味精的食物后出现轻微和短暂症状(头痛、颈后麻木/刺痛、面色潮红、肌肉紧张及全身乏力等综合症状)。但是,多个国际和国家食物安全机构曾多次评估味精的安全性,结论是目前的证据不足以支持食用味精和这些综合症状之间存在任何因果联系。以我们平时在食物中加入的味精分量,加上我们从膳食中的蛋白质摄入的谷氨酸分量,食用味精是安全的。

下篇我们会探讨味精在摄取钠方面的角色和味精的标签事宜。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 15-07-2015